Summer Reading B2G1 Free
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Visit our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    Original Essays | July 14, 2015

    Joshua Mohr: IMG Your Imagination, Your Fingerprint



    When I was in grad school, a teacher told our workshop that if a published novel is 300 pages, the writer had to generate 1,200 along the way. I... Continue »
    1. $17.50 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

      All This Life

      Joshua Mohr 9781593766030

    spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$10.95
Used Hardcover
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Burnside Mystery- A to Z

Scandal on Rincon Hill: A Sarah Woolson Mystery (Sarah Woolson Mysteries)

by

Scandal on Rincon Hill: A Sarah Woolson Mystery (Sarah Woolson Mysteries) Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

“Bringing Victorian San Francisco to colorful life, Tallman offers an entertaining mystery…will appeal to fans of Anne Perry and Rhys Bowen.” —Library Journal

A body is found just blocks from attorney Sarah Woolsons home on Rincon Hill. Sarah is on the case, but 19th-century San Francisco is soon thrown into a state of panic as a gruesome crime spree begins to take hold of the city.

Review:

"The lack of a satisfying solution to the whodunit at the heart of Tallman's fourth historical set in 19th-century San Francisco (after 2007's The Cliff House Strangler) is the only real flaw in an otherwise solid read. Idealistic and iconoclastic attorney Sarah Woolson investigates the bludgeoning murder of botanist Nigel Logan, who was at a party with Woolson's judge father only the night before and whose body was found near the Woolson home. Several days later, a friend of Logan's, a church deacon, apparently falls victim to the same killer. When the police latch onto some Chinese immigrants as the culprits, despite the absence of any real evidence, Woolson bravely takes on their defense. Convincing period detail supports an engaging lead who's a more plausible character than, say, Rhys Bowen's Molly Murphy, a PI in early 20th-century New York City. The romantic subplots don't overwhelm the mystery, but the ending will surprise few." Publishers Weekly (Copyright Reed Business Information, Inc.)

Synopsis:

“Bringing Victorian San Francisco to colorful life, Tallman offers an entertaining mystery…will appeal to fans of Anne Perry and Rhys Bowen.” Library Journal

A body is found just blocks from attorney Sarah Woolsons home on Rincon Hill. Sarah is on the case, but 19th-century San Francisco is soon thrown into a state of panic as a gruesome crime spree begins to take hold of the city.

About the Author

SHIRLE Y TA LLMAN lives in Eugene, Oregon and Incline Village, Nevada.

Product Details

ISBN:
9780312386979
Subtitle:
A Sarah Woolson Mystery
Author:
Tallman, Shirley
Publisher:
Minotaur Books
Subject:
Mystery & Detective - Historical
Subject:
Mystery & Detective - Women Sleuths
Subject:
Mystery fiction
Subject:
Historical fiction
Subject:
Mystery
Subject:
Detective / Women Sleuths
Subject:
Mystery-A to Z
Subject:
Legal
Copyright:
Edition Description:
Trade Cloth
Series:
Sarah Woolson Mysteries
Series Volume:
No. 4
Publication Date:
20100330
Binding:
Electronic book text in proprietary or open standard format
Grade Level:
General/trade
Language:
English
Pages:
352
Dimensions:
8.55 x 6.46 x 1.46 in

Other books you might like

  1. Sebastian St. Cyr Mystery #5: What... Used Hardcover $9.50
  2. Death of a Wine Merchant Used Hardcover $9.95
  3. Strange Images of Death: A Joe... Used Hardcover $8.95
  4. The Drowned Ones (Thomas Potts) New Hardcover $28.95
  5. Random Violence (Jade de Jong... Used Trade Paper $6.95
  6. The Red Door
    Used Hardcover $7.95

Related Subjects

Fiction and Poetry » Mystery » A to Z

Scandal on Rincon Hill: A Sarah Woolson Mystery (Sarah Woolson Mysteries) Used Hardcover
0 stars - 0 reviews
$10.95 In Stock
Product details 352 pages Minotaur Books - English 9780312386979 Reviews:
"Publishers Weekly Review" by , "The lack of a satisfying solution to the whodunit at the heart of Tallman's fourth historical set in 19th-century San Francisco (after 2007's The Cliff House Strangler) is the only real flaw in an otherwise solid read. Idealistic and iconoclastic attorney Sarah Woolson investigates the bludgeoning murder of botanist Nigel Logan, who was at a party with Woolson's judge father only the night before and whose body was found near the Woolson home. Several days later, a friend of Logan's, a church deacon, apparently falls victim to the same killer. When the police latch onto some Chinese immigrants as the culprits, despite the absence of any real evidence, Woolson bravely takes on their defense. Convincing period detail supports an engaging lead who's a more plausible character than, say, Rhys Bowen's Molly Murphy, a PI in early 20th-century New York City. The romantic subplots don't overwhelm the mystery, but the ending will surprise few." Publishers Weekly (Copyright Reed Business Information, Inc.)
"Synopsis" by ,
“Bringing Victorian San Francisco to colorful life, Tallman offers an entertaining mystery…will appeal to fans of Anne Perry and Rhys Bowen.” Library Journal

A body is found just blocks from attorney Sarah Woolsons home on Rincon Hill. Sarah is on the case, but 19th-century San Francisco is soon thrown into a state of panic as a gruesome crime spree begins to take hold of the city.

spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.