Poetry Madness
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Q&A | February 27, 2014

Rene Denfeld: IMG Powell’s Q&A: Rene Denfeld



Describe your latest book. The Enchanted is a story narrated by a man on death row. The novel was inspired by my work as a death penalty... Continue »
  1. $18.19 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

    The Enchanted

    Rene Denfeld 9780062285508

spacer

This item may be
out of stock.

Click on the button below to search for this title in other formats.


Check for Availability
Add to Wishlist

Scandal on Rincon Hill: A Sarah Woolson Mystery (Sarah Woolson Mysteries)

Scandal on Rincon Hill: A Sarah Woolson Mystery (Sarah Woolson Mysteries) Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

“Bringing Victorian San Francisco to colorful life, Tallman offers an entertaining mystery…will appeal to fans of Anne Perry and Rhys Bowen.” —Library Journal

A body is found just blocks from attorney Sarah Woolsons home on Rincon Hill. Sarah is on the case, but 19th-century San Francisco is soon thrown into a state of panic as a gruesome crime spree begins to take hold of the city.

Review:

"The lack of a satisfying solution to the whodunit at the heart of Tallman's fourth historical set in 19th-century San Francisco (after 2007's The Cliff House Strangler) is the only real flaw in an otherwise solid read. Idealistic and iconoclastic attorney Sarah Woolson investigates the bludgeoning murder of botanist Nigel Logan, who was at a party with Woolson's judge father only the night before and whose body was found near the Woolson home. Several days later, a friend of Logan's, a church deacon, apparently falls victim to the same killer. When the police latch onto some Chinese immigrants as the culprits, despite the absence of any real evidence, Woolson bravely takes on their defense. Convincing period detail supports an engaging lead who's a more plausible character than, say, Rhys Bowen's Molly Murphy, a PI in early 20th-century New York City. The romantic subplots don't overwhelm the mystery, but the ending will surprise few." Publishers Weekly (Copyright Reed Business Information, Inc.)

Synopsis:

“Bringing Victorian San Francisco to colorful life, Tallman offers an entertaining mystery…will appeal to fans of Anne Perry and Rhys Bowen.” Library Journal

A body is found just blocks from attorney Sarah Woolsons home on Rincon Hill. Sarah is on the case, but 19th-century San Francisco is soon thrown into a state of panic as a gruesome crime spree begins to take hold of the city.

About the Author

SHIRLE Y TA LLMAN lives in Eugene, Oregon and Incline Village, Nevada.

Product Details

ISBN:
9780312386979
Subtitle:
A Sarah Woolson Mystery
Publisher:
Minotaur Books
Author:
Tallman, Shirley
Subject:
Mystery & Detective - Historical
Subject:
Mystery & Detective - Women Sleuths
Subject:
Mystery fiction
Subject:
Historical fiction
Subject:
Mystery
Subject:
Detective / Women Sleuths
Subject:
Mystery-A to Z
Subject:
Legal
Edition Description:
Trade Cloth
Series:
Sarah Woolson Mysteries
Series Volume:
No. 4
Publication Date:
20100330
Binding:
Electronic book text in proprietary or open standard format
Grade Level:
General/trade
Language:
English
Pages:
352
Dimensions:
8.55 x 6.46 x 1.46 in

Related Subjects

Fiction and Poetry » Mystery » A to Z

Scandal on Rincon Hill: A Sarah Woolson Mystery (Sarah Woolson Mysteries)
0 stars - 0 reviews
$ In Stock
Product details 352 pages Minotaur Books - English 9780312386979 Reviews:
"Publishers Weekly Review" by , "The lack of a satisfying solution to the whodunit at the heart of Tallman's fourth historical set in 19th-century San Francisco (after 2007's The Cliff House Strangler) is the only real flaw in an otherwise solid read. Idealistic and iconoclastic attorney Sarah Woolson investigates the bludgeoning murder of botanist Nigel Logan, who was at a party with Woolson's judge father only the night before and whose body was found near the Woolson home. Several days later, a friend of Logan's, a church deacon, apparently falls victim to the same killer. When the police latch onto some Chinese immigrants as the culprits, despite the absence of any real evidence, Woolson bravely takes on their defense. Convincing period detail supports an engaging lead who's a more plausible character than, say, Rhys Bowen's Molly Murphy, a PI in early 20th-century New York City. The romantic subplots don't overwhelm the mystery, but the ending will surprise few." Publishers Weekly (Copyright Reed Business Information, Inc.)
"Synopsis" by ,
“Bringing Victorian San Francisco to colorful life, Tallman offers an entertaining mystery…will appeal to fans of Anne Perry and Rhys Bowen.” Library Journal

A body is found just blocks from attorney Sarah Woolsons home on Rincon Hill. Sarah is on the case, but 19th-century San Francisco is soon thrown into a state of panic as a gruesome crime spree begins to take hold of the city.

spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.