Poetry Madness
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Visit our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    Lists | March 2, 2015

    Anna Lyndsey: IMG My Top 10 Talking Books



    I have always been a reader, but eight years ago, strange circumstances conspired to make me totally book-dependent. I was stuck within four walls,... Continue »

    spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$3.50
List price: $8.25
Used Mass Market
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Local Warehouse Mystery- A to Z

This title in other editions

The First Cut

by

The First Cut Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

For two minutes she was dead.

The assailant was vicious, the attack brutal-and it left her lifeless . . . until her pulse fluttered and she jolted awake. Now, a year later, detective Nan Vining is still questioning her strength, her safety, even her sanity: Can she ever again be the cop-and mother-she was before? And will her attacker someday return to finish the job, before she can track him down herself?

Shaky but determined, Vining rejoins the Pasadena PD, only to confront a murder case that strikes close to home: A slain policewoman has been discovered beneath the Colorado Street Bridge, her body bruised, her throat slit. Even as Vining struggles to recover her standing within the department, she cant help but feel profoundly drawn to the murdered officer, Frankie Lynde-and she is deeply troubled by the baffling otherworldly visions that haunt her waking hours. Are these mere fever dreams? Or could they be, as Vinings daughter insists, messages from beyond the grave?

Digging deeper into Lyndes past, Vining discovers clues that set her on the twisted trail of a killer as ruthless as he is depraved-a predator whose methods and madness recall those of her own attacker. Amid a rising tide of danger, she pushes herself to bold new limits, desperate to avenge the murder of a fellow police officer . . . and to reclaim the life she lost a year ago.

Packed with suspense and action, this pulse-pounding novel will hold you breathless from the first cut to the last.

From the Hardcover edition.

Synopsis:

In the tradition of Tess Gerritsen, Karin Slaughter, and Kathy Reichs, Emley's pulse-pounding novel of suspense delivers unforgettable shocks and thrills from its first page to its last.

Synopsis:

Emleys pulse-pounding novel features homicide detective Nan Vining, who just a year after surviving a brutal attack must confront a case that hits too close to home: the grisly murder of a fellow police woman.

About the Author

Dianne Emley was born in Los Angeles, California. Except for her junior year in college when she studied at the Université de Bordeaux, France, she has always lived in and around Los Angeles. She has a BA in philosophy and an MBA in marketing, both from UCLA. She has held jobs as varied as drill press operator, polling place recruiter, California Department of Consumer Affairs complaint handler, clothing boutique buyer, egg and poultry industry marketer, software company sales manager, and technical writer. While having traveled the world, she lives five miles from where she grew up with her husband Charlie and two cats and is gleefully happy with her favorite and last profession: crime writer. Visit the authors website at www.DianneEmley.com.

From the Hardcover edition.

Product Details

ISBN:
9780345486189
Author:
Emley, Dianne
Publisher:
Ballantine Books
Subject:
Mystery & Detective - Police Procedural
Subject:
Mystery & Detective - Women Sleuths
Subject:
Suspense
Subject:
Policewomen
Subject:
Los angeles (calif.)
Subject:
Mystery fiction
Subject:
General Fiction
Subject:
Thrillers
Subject:
Mystery-A to Z
Copyright:
Edition Description:
Mass market paperback
Publication Date:
20081231
Binding:
MASS MARKET
Grade Level:
General/trade
Language:
English
Pages:
416
Dimensions:
6.70x4.10x1.40 in. .45 lbs.

Other books you might like

  1. The Grave Tattoo
    Used Hardcover $4.95
  2. Three Dirty Women and the Garden of... Used Mass Market $2.95
  3. Witch Way To Murder
    Used Mass Market $4.50
  4. A Place of Execution Used Mass Market $4.50
  5. Cold Company: An Alaska Mystery... Used Mass Market $3.95
  6. Eggs in Purgatory (Cackleberry Club... Used Mass Market $4.95

Related Subjects


Fiction and Poetry » Mystery » A to Z
Fiction and Poetry » Mystery » Sale Books

The First Cut Used Mass Market
0 stars - 0 reviews
$3.50 In Stock
Product details 416 pages Ballantine Books - English 9780345486189 Reviews:
"Synopsis" by , In the tradition of Tess Gerritsen, Karin Slaughter, and Kathy Reichs, Emley's pulse-pounding novel of suspense delivers unforgettable shocks and thrills from its first page to its last.
"Synopsis" by , Emleys pulse-pounding novel features homicide detective Nan Vining, who just a year after surviving a brutal attack must confront a case that hits too close to home: the grisly murder of a fellow police woman.
spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.