Master your Minecraft
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Tour our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    Interviews | October 28, 2014

    Jill Owens: IMG Miriam Toews: The Powells.com Interview



    Some people are compelled by a restlessness from within; others are shaped by the unwieldy forces around them. In Miriam Toews's poignant new novel... Continue »

    spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$1.95
Used Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Local Warehouse Literature- A to Z

More copies of this ISBN

The Exile of Sara Stevenson: A Historical Novel

by

The Exile of Sara Stevenson: A Historical Novel Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

In 1814, Sara Stevenson, the well-bred but high-spirited daughter of celebrated Scottish lighthouse designer Robert Stevenson, falls in love with a common sailor, Thomas Crichton. On the day of their clandestine elopement, Thomas mysteriously disappears, leaving Sara heartbroken, secretly pregnant, and at the mercy of her overbearing family. Refusing to relinquish her hopes that Thomas will someday return to her, Sara is banished to an eerie lighthouse on lonely and remote Cape Wrath. There she meets William Campbell, the reclusive yet dashing light-keeper who incites her ire—and interest. Soon Sara begins to accept her life on the cape and her growing attraction to William—until a mystifying package from an Oxford antiquarian arrives, giving intriguing clues to Thomas’s whereabouts. Through her correspondence with the antiquarian, Sara slowly uncovers the story of her beloved’s fate. But what she doesn’t immediately grasp is that these letters travel an even greater distance than she could have imagined—as the boundaries between time and space unravel to forge an incredible connection between a woman and a man many years apart.

 

Review:

"The remote Cape Wrath lighthouse in 19th-century northwest Scotland provides a perfect setting for Hannah's debut, an underwhelming historical romance in which correspondence, ghosts, and true love travel through time. Headstrong 19 year-old Sara Stevenson, fictional daughter of real-life lighthouse designer Robert Stevenson, is exiled to the lighthouse after her love, Thomas Crichton, gets her pregnant. As she stubbornly awaits the return of her lost sailor love and the birth of his baby, literature lover Sara corresponds with an Oxford antiquarian and receives reluctant assistance from Willy Campbell, a taciturn light keeper haunted by the past. When Sara learns her parents have arranged to take her baby, she asks the Oxford antiquarian to come to her rescue, but unbeknownst to her, there's a very large obstacle in his path. The slight gothic trappings lack foreboding menace, and what could be a delicious love story fizzles into a poorly conceived exercise in spiritual uplift. (Aug.)" Publishers Weekly (Copyright PWyxz LLC)

Synopsis:

For fans of "The Thirteenth Tale" and "The Time Traveler's Wife" comes a mesmerizing novel of historical adventure flavored with elements of romance, suspense, and time travel, from a debut author.

Product Details

ISBN:
9780345520548
Author:
Hannah, Darci
Publisher:
Ballantine Books
Subject:
Historical - General
Subject:
Historical
Subject:
Fantasy fiction
Subject:
Scotland
Subject:
Literature-A to Z
Edition Description:
Trade paper
Publication Date:
20100731
Binding:
TRADE PAPER
Grade Level:
General/trade
Language:
English
Pages:
400
Dimensions:
8.02x5.28x.89 in. .63 lbs.

Related Subjects


Fiction and Poetry » Literature » A to Z

The Exile of Sara Stevenson: A Historical Novel Used Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$1.95 In Stock
Product details 400 pages Ballantine Books - English 9780345520548 Reviews:
"Publishers Weekly Review" by , "The remote Cape Wrath lighthouse in 19th-century northwest Scotland provides a perfect setting for Hannah's debut, an underwhelming historical romance in which correspondence, ghosts, and true love travel through time. Headstrong 19 year-old Sara Stevenson, fictional daughter of real-life lighthouse designer Robert Stevenson, is exiled to the lighthouse after her love, Thomas Crichton, gets her pregnant. As she stubbornly awaits the return of her lost sailor love and the birth of his baby, literature lover Sara corresponds with an Oxford antiquarian and receives reluctant assistance from Willy Campbell, a taciturn light keeper haunted by the past. When Sara learns her parents have arranged to take her baby, she asks the Oxford antiquarian to come to her rescue, but unbeknownst to her, there's a very large obstacle in his path. The slight gothic trappings lack foreboding menace, and what could be a delicious love story fizzles into a poorly conceived exercise in spiritual uplift. (Aug.)" Publishers Weekly (Copyright PWyxz LLC)
"Synopsis" by , For fans of "The Thirteenth Tale" and "The Time Traveler's Wife" comes a mesmerizing novel of historical adventure flavored with elements of romance, suspense, and time travel, from a debut author.
spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.