Murakami Sale
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Original Essays | August 18, 2014

Ian Leslie: IMG Empathic Curiosity



Today, we wonder anxiously if digital media is changing our brains. But if there's any time in history when our mental operations changed... Continue »
  1. $18.89 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$5.50
List price: $15.00
Used Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
2 Beaverton Literature- A to Z

What Happened to My Sister

by

What Happened to My Sister Cover

ISBN13: 9780345524430
ISBN10: 0345524438
Condition: Standard
All Product Details

Only 2 left in stock at $5.50!

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

From the author of Me & Emma comes a dazzling novel of two unforgettable families bound together by their deepest secrets and haunted pasts—perfect for fans of The Secret Life of CeeCee Wilkes and The Book of Bright Ideas.

Nine-year-old Carrie Parker and her mother, Libby, are making a fresh start in the small town of Hartsville, North Carolina, ready to put their turbulent past behind them. Violence has shattered their family and left Libby nearly unable to cope. And while Carrie once took comfort in her beloved sister, Emma, her mother has now forbidden even the mention of her name.

 

When Carrie meets Ruth, Honor, and Cricket Chaplin, these three generations of warmhearted women seem to have the loving home Carrie has always dreamed of. But as Carrie and Cricket become fast friends, neither can escape the pull of their families’ secrets—and uncovering the truth will transform the Chaplins and the Parkers forever.

 

Look for special features inside. Join the Circle for author chats and more.

Review:

"In this companion piece to Me and Emma, nine-year-old Carrie and her alcoholic mother flee their small town after Carrie shoots her abusive stepfather dead. At a motel, Carrie's mother gets drunk and entertains strangers, leaving Carrie to fend for herself. On one of her foraging trips, Carrie befriends a girl named Cricket, whose mother, Honor, sees in Carrie an eerie resemblance to her dead daughter and comes to wonder why she never meets Carrie's mother. Carrie herself is puzzled by memories of her younger sister, Emma; she believes that Emma disappeared, but her mother swears Emma is a figment of Carrie's imagination. As Honor and Cricket take more of an interest in Carrie's life, the precarious web of deception that has been built around her comes under threat. While Carrie's abuse is distressing, readers will be more troubled by choices Flock has made in telling her story. Carrie as narrator has the expected limited perspective of a child and a by-the-book colloquial voice; she petitions the reader's sympathy too soon and fails to ever come to life. Ham-fisted coincidences, broad caricatures, and awkward plot twists don't help. Agent: Larry Kirshbaum, LJK Literary Management. (July)" Publishers Weekly Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.

About the Author

New York Times bestselling author Elizabeth Flock is a former journalist who reported for Time and People magazines and worked as an on-air correspondent for CBS. She is the author of several acclaimed novels, including But Inside I’m Screaming and Me & Emma. She lives in New York City.

What Our Readers Are Saying

Add a comment for a chance to win!
Average customer rating based on 1 comment:

The Loopy Librarian, August 5, 2012 (view all comments by The Loopy Librarian)
It is difficult to read a story about child abuse and neglect, but the author does an amazing job of capturing the innocent voice of the main character, young Caroline. Two families suffer almost unbearable loss and grief and there is much tragedy and pain. However, there is also hope and healing and justice in the end. What Happened to My Sister is engrossing and well-written. I fell in love with little Caroline just as the Fords did. Her brave struggle to survive and her optimism in the face of despair and horrific circumstances was a beautiful thing beautifully told.

Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(1 of 1 readers found this comment helpful)

Product Details

ISBN:
9780345524430
Author:
Flock, Elizabeth
Publisher:
Ballantine Books
Subject:
Literary
Subject:
Literature-A to Z
Edition Description:
Trade paper
Publication Date:
20120831
Binding:
TRADE PAPER
Language:
English
Pages:
304
Dimensions:
8.01 x 5.18 x 0.64 in 0.5 lb

Other books you might like

  1. Gun Games: A Decker/Lazarus Novel Used Mass Market $1.95
  2. Victims: An Alex Delaware Novel Used Mass Market $1.95
  3. And When She Was Good
    Used Hardcover $4.50
  4. You Don't Want to Know Used Mass Market $3.50

Related Subjects

Featured Titles » Literature
Fiction and Poetry » Literature » A to Z
Sports and Outdoors » Sports and Fitness » Basketball » General

What Happened to My Sister Used Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$5.50 In Stock
Product details 304 pages Ballantine Books - English 9780345524430 Reviews:
"Publishers Weekly Review" by , "In this companion piece to Me and Emma, nine-year-old Carrie and her alcoholic mother flee their small town after Carrie shoots her abusive stepfather dead. At a motel, Carrie's mother gets drunk and entertains strangers, leaving Carrie to fend for herself. On one of her foraging trips, Carrie befriends a girl named Cricket, whose mother, Honor, sees in Carrie an eerie resemblance to her dead daughter and comes to wonder why she never meets Carrie's mother. Carrie herself is puzzled by memories of her younger sister, Emma; she believes that Emma disappeared, but her mother swears Emma is a figment of Carrie's imagination. As Honor and Cricket take more of an interest in Carrie's life, the precarious web of deception that has been built around her comes under threat. While Carrie's abuse is distressing, readers will be more troubled by choices Flock has made in telling her story. Carrie as narrator has the expected limited perspective of a child and a by-the-book colloquial voice; she petitions the reader's sympathy too soon and fails to ever come to life. Ham-fisted coincidences, broad caricatures, and awkward plot twists don't help. Agent: Larry Kirshbaum, LJK Literary Management. (July)" Publishers Weekly Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.
spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.