The Fictioning Horror Sale
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Original Essays | September 4, 2014

Edward E. Baptist: IMG The Two Bodies of The Half Has Never Been Told: Slavery and the Making of American Capitalism



My new book, The Half Has Never Been Told: Slavery and the Making of American Capitalism, is the story of two bodies. The first body was the new... Continue »
  1. $24.50 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$16.95
List price: $26.00
Used Hardcover
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Burnside ADV- THRILLERS

More copies of this ISBN

Frozen Solid: A Novel

by

Frozen Solid: A Novel Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

The most dangerous place on Earth

A devious and deadly plan to save humanity from itself

A lone scientist battling the clock and ruthless enemies to avert global catastrophe

 

The Deep Zone was hailed as “an absolutely phenomenal read by the new Michael Crichton” (Brad Thor), a book that “should come shrink-wrapped with a seat belt” (Steve Berry). Now, bestselling author James M. Tabor ups the ante and the action in his second extreme thriller, as brilliant and battle-tested heroine Hallie Leland confronts intrigue and murder in the most unforgiving place on Earth.

 

The South Pole’s Amundsen Scott Research Station is like an outpost on Mars.  Winter temperatures average 100 degrees below zero; week-long hurricane-force storms rage; for eight months at a time the station is shrouded in darkness. Under the stress, bodies suffer and minds twist. Panic, paranoia, and hostility prevail. 

 

When a South Pole scientist dies mysteriously, CDC microbiologist Hallie Leland arrives to complete crucial research. Before she can begin, three more women inexplicably die. As failing communications and plunging temperatures cut the station off from the outside world, terror rises and tensions soar. Amidst it all, Hallie must crack the mystery of her predecessor’s death.

 

In Washington, D.C., government agency director Don Barnard and enigmatic operative Wil Bowman detect troubling signs of shadowy behavior at the South Pole and realize that Hallie is at the heart of it. Unless Barnard and Bowman can track down the mastermind, a horrifying act of global terror, launched from the station, will change the planet forever—and Hallie herself will be the unwitting instrument of destruction.

 

As the Antarctic winter sweeps in, severing contact with the outside world, Hallie must trust no one, fear everyone, and fight to keep the frigid prison from becoming her frozen grave.

 

“A taut page-turner . . . Tabor’s not the first genre writer to take advantage of the forbidding conditions at the South Pole, but few have done so to better effect.”—Publishers Weekly (starred review)

Review:

"Tabor follows his routine first Hallie Leland thriller, 2012's The Deep Zone, with a taut page-turner set in Antarctica. Toward the end of the Antarctic summer, Leland flies in to a South Pole research station, where she's to dive beneath the ice to recover an extremophile — a life-form that exists under conditions inimical to most life. The extremophile, code-named Vishnu, can metabolize carbon dioxide and thus potentially stop climate change. Leland has a short window to carry out the dangerous assignment, since flights out of the South Pole will soon be suspended for months. Meanwhile, members of the station's scientific team have begun spewing blood, sometimes fatally, for no apparent reason. With no one to trust and with evidence that foul play is afoot, Leland must battle on multiple fronts. Tabor's not the first genre writer to take advantage of the forbidding conditions at the South Pole, but few have done so to better effect. Agent: Ethan Ellenberg, Ethan Ellenberg Literary Agency." Publishers Weekly (Starred Review) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.

Synopsis:

US

Synopsis:

The nationally bestselling author of The Deep Zone returns with a heart-stopping new Hallie Leland adventure: a chilling tale of suspense set against the forbidding backdrop of the South Pole—perfect for fans of James Rollins and Brad Thor.

 

An international group of scientists known as Triage believes that overpopulation is dooming the planet, causing climate change, water scarcity, famine, pandemics, and more. For civilization to survive, the scientists conclude that the earth’s population must be reduced—drastically and without delay. But killing is not part of their agenda. Instead, they will genetically engineer and disseminate a common virus that is really a carrier for something much more sinister.

 

After the mysterious death of a colleague, microbiologist Hallie Leland is dispatched to the South Pole to continue her friend’s research. What she uncovers are alarming details of Triage’s plot, which pits her against forces more terrible than she could have imagined. Now, in one of earth’s loneliest and most treacherous places, where high altitude and extreme environmental conditions can play tricks on the mind, Hallie finds that she has only five days to stop the shocking plan from taking hold.

About the Author

James M. Tabor is the bestselling author of The Deep Zone, Blind Descent, and Forever on the Mountain and a winner of the O. Henry Award for short fiction. A former Washington, D.C., police officer and a lifelong adventure enthusiast, Tabor has written for Time, The Wall Street Journal, The Washington Post, and Outside magazine, where he was a contributing editor. He wrote and hosted the PBS series The Great Outdoors and was co-creator and executive producer of the History Channel’s Journey to the Center of the World. He lives in Vermont, where he is at work on his next novel.

Product Details

ISBN:
9780345530639
Author:
Tabor, James
Publisher:
Ballantine Books
Author:
Tabor, James
Subject:
Popular Fiction - Adventure
Subject:
Thrillers
Series:
Hallie Leland
Publication Date:
20130331
Binding:
HARDCOVER
Language:
English
Pages:
336
Dimensions:
9.57 x 6.45 x 1.25 in 1.18 lb

Related Subjects

Fiction and Poetry » Mystery » A to Z
Fiction and Poetry » Popular Fiction » Adventure
Fiction and Poetry » Popular Fiction » Contemporary Thrillers
Fiction and Poetry » Popular Fiction » Suspense
Sports and Outdoors » Sports and Fitness » Basketball » General

Frozen Solid: A Novel Used Hardcover
0 stars - 0 reviews
$16.95 In Stock
Product details 336 pages Ballantine Books - English 9780345530639 Reviews:
"Publishers Weekly Review" by , "Tabor follows his routine first Hallie Leland thriller, 2012's The Deep Zone, with a taut page-turner set in Antarctica. Toward the end of the Antarctic summer, Leland flies in to a South Pole research station, where she's to dive beneath the ice to recover an extremophile — a life-form that exists under conditions inimical to most life. The extremophile, code-named Vishnu, can metabolize carbon dioxide and thus potentially stop climate change. Leland has a short window to carry out the dangerous assignment, since flights out of the South Pole will soon be suspended for months. Meanwhile, members of the station's scientific team have begun spewing blood, sometimes fatally, for no apparent reason. With no one to trust and with evidence that foul play is afoot, Leland must battle on multiple fronts. Tabor's not the first genre writer to take advantage of the forbidding conditions at the South Pole, but few have done so to better effect. Agent: Ethan Ellenberg, Ethan Ellenberg Literary Agency." Publishers Weekly (Starred Review) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.
"Synopsis" by , US
"Synopsis" by , The nationally bestselling author of The Deep Zone returns with a heart-stopping new Hallie Leland adventure: a chilling tale of suspense set against the forbidding backdrop of the South Pole—perfect for fans of James Rollins and Brad Thor.

 

An international group of scientists known as Triage believes that overpopulation is dooming the planet, causing climate change, water scarcity, famine, pandemics, and more. For civilization to survive, the scientists conclude that the earth’s population must be reduced—drastically and without delay. But killing is not part of their agenda. Instead, they will genetically engineer and disseminate a common virus that is really a carrier for something much more sinister.

 

After the mysterious death of a colleague, microbiologist Hallie Leland is dispatched to the South Pole to continue her friend’s research. What she uncovers are alarming details of Triage’s plot, which pits her against forces more terrible than she could have imagined. Now, in one of earth’s loneliest and most treacherous places, where high altitude and extreme environmental conditions can play tricks on the mind, Hallie finds that she has only five days to stop the shocking plan from taking hold.

spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.