We Need Diverse Ya Sale
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Visit our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    Lists | June 22, 2015

    Stephen Jarvis: IMG Robert Seymour — 13 Pictures



    1. Self-Portrait. My new novel, Death and Mr. Pickwick, tells the story of the origins of Charles Dickens's first novel, The Pickwick Papers. Its... Continue »
    1. $21.00 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

      Death and Mr. Pickwick

      Stephen Jarvis 9780374139667

    spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$10.50
List price: $15.00
Used Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
3 Beaverton Mystery- A to Z

More copies of this ISBN

Cover of Snow

by

Cover of Snow Cover

ISBN13: 9780345534224
ISBN10: 0345534220
Condition: Standard
All Product Details

Only 3 left in stock at $10.50!

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

WINNER OF THE MARY HIGGINS CLARK AWARD

Jenny Milchman’s Cover of Snow is a remarkable debut, a gripping tale of suspense in the tradition of Gillian Flynn, Chris Bohjalian, and Nancy Pickard.

Waking up one wintry morning in her old farmhouse nestled in the Adirondack Mountains of New York, Nora Hamilton instantly knows that something is wrong. When her fog of sleep clears, she finds her world is suddenly, irretrievably shattered: Her husband, Brendan, has committed suicide.

The first few hours following Nora’s devastating discovery pass for her in a blur of numbness and disbelief. Then, a disturbing awareness slowly settles in: Brendan left no note and gave no indication that he was contemplating taking his own life. Why would a rock-solid police officer with unwavering affection for his wife, job, and quaint hometown suddenly choose to end it all? Having spent a lifetime avoiding hard truths, Nora must now start facing them.

Unraveling her late husband’s final days, Nora searches for an explanation — but finds a bewildering resistance from Brendan’s best friend and partner, his fellow police officers, and his brittle mother. It quickly becomes clear to Nora that she is asking questions no one wants to answer. For beneath the soft cover of snow lies a powerful conspiracy that will stop at nothing to keep its presence unknown... and its darkest secrets hidden.

Review:

“Well-defined characters take us on an emotional roller-coaster ride through the darkest night, with blinding twists and occasionally fatal turns. This is a richly woven story that not only looks at the devastating effects of suicide but also examines life in a small town and explores the complexity of marriage. Fans of Nancy Pickard, Margaret Maron, and C. J. Box will be delighted to find this new author.” Booklist (starred review)

Review:

“Milchman reveals an intimate knowledge of the psychology of grief, along with a painterly gift for converting frozen feelings into scenes of a forbidding winter landscape.” The New York Times

Review:

“Milchman makes [readers] feel the chill right down to their bones and casts a particularly effective mood in this stylish thriller.” Kirkus Reviews

Review:

“Milchman tackles small-town angst where evil can simmer under the surface with a breathless energy and a feel for realistic characters.” The Seattle Times

Review:

“The plot unfolds at an excellent clip...ultimately rushing headlong to a series of startling revelations.” San Francisco Journal of Books

Review:

“Milchman expertly conveys Nora’s grief in a way that will warm hearts even in the dead of a Wedeskyull winter.” Publishers Weekly (starred review)

About the Author

Jenny Milchman lives in New Jersey with her family. Cover of Snow is her first novel.

What Our Readers Are Saying

Add a comment for a chance to win!
Average customer rating based on 1 comment:

techeditor, May 13, 2015 (view all comments by techeditor)
Nora's husband had been a policeman in the small town where they live. In her quest to learn why he committed suicide, she learns some disturbing secrets about the police department. She also finds out more about her husband's past and how both his secrets and those of the police department are linked.

Although it has some faults, this book really grabbed me. That is, it kept me reading instead of eating and late into the night. I didn't want to put it down.

That grab-me factor is the biggest test of a good book but not the only one. While it seemed to me that Jenny Milchman was careful not to overwrite, go on and on when a simple sentence or two will do, I sometimes wished for more description. For example, her emphasis on the cold and the small-town surroundings were excellent, but some of Nora's findings about her husband's past and the people from his past were a little confusing.

Also lacking are good transitions from present to past and vice versa, differentiation between the past of 25 years ago and more recently, and careful use of pronouns. But these are not overwhelming and just mean the reader sometimes had to read sentences more than once.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No

Product Details

ISBN:
9780345534224
Author:
Milchman, Jenny
Publisher:
Ballantine Books
Subject:
Suspense
Subject:
Popular Fiction-Suspense
Edition Description:
Trade paper
Publication Date:
20131231
Binding:
TRADE PAPER
Language:
English
Pages:
336
Dimensions:
8 x 5.15 x 0.67 in 0.5263 lb

Related Subjects

Fiction and Poetry » Literature » A to Z
Fiction and Poetry » Mystery » A to Z
Fiction and Poetry » Popular Fiction » Suspense
History and Social Science » World History » General
Travel » Travel Writing » General

Cover of Snow Used Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$10.50 In Stock
Product details 336 pages Ballantine Books - English 9780345534224 Reviews:
"Review" by , “Well-defined characters take us on an emotional roller-coaster ride through the darkest night, with blinding twists and occasionally fatal turns. This is a richly woven story that not only looks at the devastating effects of suicide but also examines life in a small town and explores the complexity of marriage. Fans of Nancy Pickard, Margaret Maron, and C. J. Box will be delighted to find this new author.”
"Review" by , “Milchman reveals an intimate knowledge of the psychology of grief, along with a painterly gift for converting frozen feelings into scenes of a forbidding winter landscape.”
"Review" by , “Milchman makes [readers] feel the chill right down to their bones and casts a particularly effective mood in this stylish thriller.”
"Review" by , “Milchman tackles small-town angst where evil can simmer under the surface with a breathless energy and a feel for realistic characters.”
"Review" by , “The plot unfolds at an excellent clip...ultimately rushing headlong to a series of startling revelations.”
"Review" by , “Milchman expertly conveys Nora’s grief in a way that will warm hearts even in the dead of a Wedeskyull winter.”
spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.