Murakami Sale
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Original Essays | August 18, 2014

Ian Leslie: IMG Empathic Curiosity



Today, we wonder anxiously if digital media is changing our brains. But if there's any time in history when our mental operations changed... Continue »
  1. $18.89 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$10.50
List price: $15.00
Used Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
2 Beaverton Erotica- General
2 Burnside Erotica- General

More copies of this ISBN

This title in other editions

A Million Dirty Secrets: Million Dollar Duet

by

A Million Dirty Secrets: Million Dollar Duet Cover

ISBN13: 9780345548764
ISBN10: 0345548760
Condition: Standard
All Product Details

 

Synopses & Reviews

Review:

"Beautiful, naïve Lanie Talbot is so devoted to caring for her ailing mother and unemployed father that she puts herself up for auction, selling her virginity and two years of constant sexual availability to the highest bidder. Noah Calhoun, a driven but philanthropic business tycoon, turns to the underground sex trade in hopes of satisfying his physical needs while protecting his shattered heart. He and Lanie — who trade off narrating their intertwined tale — butt heads constantly, but their passion for each other is undeniable. Readers may be troubled by the depictions of the present-day sex industry, both positive (Lanie is breathlessly attracted to her 'buyer' and he's kind and generous to her) and negative (Lanie's best friend assures her that she is 'way too good for this sort of thing,' unlike the other women in the room), as well as the shame Lanie feels and sometimes projects onto others for having desires. Even so, smoldering sex scenes and a cliffhanger ending will leave erotica fans panting for more. Agent: Alexandra Machinest, Janklow & Nesbit Associates. (Sept.)" Publishers Weekly Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.

About the Author

C. L. Parker is the author of the paranormal romance Supernova Saga, which includes Supernova, Cataclysm, and Nexus. She lives in a small town in Kentucky with her two sons and daughter, and in addition to her writing, works a “regular” job as a retirement counselor.

What Our Readers Are Saying

Add a comment for a chance to win!
Average customer rating based on 1 comment:

Michelle Olson, August 25, 2013 (view all comments by Michelle Olson)
*Our Review, by LITERAL ADDICTION's Pack Alpha - Michelle L. Olson:
*eARC received from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review

Since the blurb markets the book for fans of Fifty Shades of Gray and Bared to You, I feel like I need to start my review with a confession... I absolutely hated Fifty Shades, and I didn't finish Bared to You because I just couldn't get into it. Being a fan of horror, urban fantasy, paranormal romance, paranormal erotica, & some romantic suspense, I simply figured that straight erotic romance just wasn't my thing. With that all said, I'm not sure how useful my input will be, but I'll tell you what I thought and let you go from there...

Some of you may know from reading other reviews and things that this started out several years ago as Twilight FanFic. What I want to say first off is to forget that you ever heard that. This is simply a steamy erotic romance that happens to be on the same highway as Fifty Shades and the others who have followed in its wake, but it's its own beautiful creature and should be viewed and judged as such.

The concept is a familiar one - twenty-something virgin hooks up with hot billionaire business tycoon for hot sex. What it has in addition, however, is a moving baseline story for our heroine which makes her decision to enter into the contract entirely selfless and moving, and a catalyst for our hero that makes you want nothing more than for him to find his zen and mend is previously shattered heart. What really set the book apart were the characters and they're growth, both individually and toward one another - Noah starts out as a class A Alpha-hole (albeit a super sexy one), and independent, determined Lanie goes a little bit crazy mid book, but despite it all, their chemistry is page melting, and their dialogue is laugh-out-loud funny at times.

Having read & loved C.L's Paranormal series, hosted her several times on the website, and talked with her for years online, I know her personality, and it shines through like a beacon in this book in the best of ways! Her wit, snark, and absolute abandonment, compiled with her evident lust for life (and lust in general. Hee hee) make for some fabulous reading material, and a lightness in a book that could easily get much too heavy with the amount of sex and drama. And the nicknames... Yeah, gotta love it! :) Life's too short to be so damn serious, right!?

Now here's where I'm not much help... The eroticism was smokin' and there was plenty of it, but because I don't read these kind of books I'm not sure if it was enough, just right, or over the top. I felt it fit (from what I know of what fans of the genre look for) and even though I personally skimmed some parts (yeah, I get a little shy...), it was wicked sexy and fun at the same time.

This is book #1 of a Duet, so it does end on a pretty big cliff hanger, but the next book will be out before we know it. :)

In short, would I recommend A Million Dirty Secrets to erotic romance lovers who started out as fans of Fifty Shades, Bared to You, Wallbanger, etc? Absolutely!




Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No

Product Details

ISBN:
9780345548764
Author:
Parker, C L
Publisher:
Bantam Books
Author:
Parker, CL
Subject:
Romance - Adult
Subject:
Erotica - General
Edition Description:
Trade paper
Publication Date:
20130831
Binding:
TRADE PAPER
Language:
English
Pages:
368
Dimensions:
7.99 x 5.15 x 0.73 in 0.6 lb

Other books you might like

  1. The Sexual Life of Catherine M.
    Used Trade Paper $5.95
  2. Open for Business Open for Business:... New Trade Paper $14.50
  3. Breathless Trilogy #03: Burn Used Trade Paper $9.95
  4. Fifty Shades Trilogy: Fifty Shades...
    Used Trade Paper $32.00
  5. Diary of a Submissive: A Modern True... Sale Trade Paper $7.98
  6. Wallbanger Used Trade Paper $7.95

Related Subjects

Fiction and Poetry » Erotica » General
Fiction and Poetry » Literature » Contemporary Women
Fiction and Poetry » Romance » Adult

A Million Dirty Secrets: Million Dollar Duet Used Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$10.50 In Stock
Product details 368 pages Bantam - English 9780345548764 Reviews:
"Publishers Weekly Review" by , "Beautiful, naïve Lanie Talbot is so devoted to caring for her ailing mother and unemployed father that she puts herself up for auction, selling her virginity and two years of constant sexual availability to the highest bidder. Noah Calhoun, a driven but philanthropic business tycoon, turns to the underground sex trade in hopes of satisfying his physical needs while protecting his shattered heart. He and Lanie — who trade off narrating their intertwined tale — butt heads constantly, but their passion for each other is undeniable. Readers may be troubled by the depictions of the present-day sex industry, both positive (Lanie is breathlessly attracted to her 'buyer' and he's kind and generous to her) and negative (Lanie's best friend assures her that she is 'way too good for this sort of thing,' unlike the other women in the room), as well as the shame Lanie feels and sometimes projects onto others for having desires. Even so, smoldering sex scenes and a cliffhanger ending will leave erotica fans panting for more. Agent: Alexandra Machinest, Janklow & Nesbit Associates. (Sept.)" Publishers Weekly Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.
spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.