Wintersalen Sale
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Tour our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    Original Essays | October 23, 2014

    Kathryn Harrison: IMG On Joan of Arc: A Life Transfigured



    I'm always sorry to finish a book, to let go of characters I love, people I've struggled to understand for years, people who evolve before me.... Continue »

    spacer

This item may be
out of stock.

Click on the button below to search for this title in other formats.


Check for Availability
Add to Wishlist

Windchill Summer: A Novel

by

Windchill Summer: A Novel Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

“A CAPTIVATING READ . . . WINDCHILL SUMMER HAS ALL THE ELEMENTS. . . . A LITTLE MYSTERY, SOME HUMOR,

[AND] A DASH OF CHARM.”

–The Denver Post

“WONDERFULLY SATISFYING AND APPEALING . . . It’s the summer of 1969 in a place called Sweet Valley, Arkansas. Cherry and Baby [are] soon to be college seniors at the dinky university just a few miles away. . . . It all looks like a pleasant, predictable American life, but a long second look reveals that things aren’t exactly what they seem to be. . . . [Mailer] loves her characters, and we fall in love with them, too.”

–The Washington Post Book World

“IN GENTLY ROLLING SOUTHERN CADENCES, MAILER CAPTURES THE HORMONAL UPS AND DOWNS OF YOUNG WOMEN TEETERING ON THE VERGE OF ADULTHOOD.”

–Entertainment Weekly

“THIS WINSOME COMING-OF-AGE NOVEL OFFERS MUCH TO MANY. Cherry, the narrator, is my kind of woman: good-looking, straight-talking, and able to describe what it’s like to get amorous when you’re wearing ten thousand petticoats. Most important, she’s willing to decide for herself what’s true.”

–ELIZABETH BERG

“SMOOTHLY WRITTEN, SWEETLY SENTIMENTAL.”

–The New York Times Book Review

From the Trade Paperback edition.

Synopsis:

Absorbing summer reading for fans of Bailey White and Lee Smith: A fresh and funny debut novel that brings to life a host of unforgettable characters coming of age in a small town in Arkansas during the summer of 1969.

About the Author

Norris Church Mailer was raised in Arkansas, and now lives on Cape Cod with her husband of twenty-five years, Norman Mailer. She is the mother of two sons, and the stepmother of five daughters and two sons. This is her first book.

From the Hardcover edition.

Product Details

ISBN:
9780375505720
Publisher:
Random House Publishing Group
Subject:
General
Author:
Mailer, Norris Church
Subject:
Fiction
Subject:
Young women
Subject:
Vietnamese Conflict, 1961-1975
Subject:
General
Subject:
Fiction-General
Subject:
Fiction : General
Publication Date:
August 2000
Binding:
eBooks
Language:
English

Related Subjects

Fiction and Poetry » Literature » A to Z

Windchill Summer: A Novel
0 stars - 0 reviews
$ In Stock
Product details pages Random House Publishing Group - English 9780375505720 Reviews:
"Synopsis" by , Absorbing summer reading for fans of Bailey White and Lee Smith: A fresh and funny debut novel that brings to life a host of unforgettable characters coming of age in a small town in Arkansas during the summer of 1969.
spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.