Warriors B2G1 Free
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Visit our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    Q&A | May 12, 2015

    Aleksandar Hemon: IMG Powell’s Q&A: Aleksandar Hemon



    Describe your latest book. The Making of Zombie Wars is a roller-coaster ride of violence and sex. The main character, Joshua Levin, is a modestly... Continue »
    1. $18.20 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

      The Making of Zombie Wars

      Aleksandar Hemon 9780374203412

    spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$14.50
List price: $15.00
New Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
available for shipping or prepaid pickup only
Available for In-store Pickup
in 7 to 12 days
Qty Store Section
4 Remote Warehouse Literature- A to Z

Slapboxing with Jesus

by

Slapboxing with Jesus Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Synopsis:

Thirteen original and interconnected stories in the tradition of Junot Diaz and Sherman Alexie. Victor D. La Valle's astonishing, violent, and funny debut offers harrowing glimpses at the vulnerable lives of young people who struggle not only to come of age, but to survive the city streets.

In "ancient history, " two best friends graduating from high school fight to be the one to leave first for a better world; each one wants to be the fortunate son. In "pops, " an African American boy meets his father, a white cop from Connecticut, and tries not to care. And in "kids on colden street, " a boy is momentarily uplifted by the arrival of a younger sister only to discover that brutality leads only to brutality in the natural order of things.

Written with raw candor, grit, and a cautious heart, "Slapboxing with Jesus" introduces an exciting and bold new voice in contemporary fiction. La Valle's voices echo long after their stories are told.

About the Author

Victor D. LaValle was raised in Flushing and Rosedale, Queens. He graduated from Cornell University with a degree in English and received his M.F.A. in Fiction from Columbia University. He has been a fellow at the Fine Arts Work Center in Provincetown, Massachusetts. Currently he is at work on his first novel.

Table of Contents

Raw daddy — Ghost story — Getting ugly — Slave — Ancient history — Chuckie — Trinidad — Who we did worship — How I lost my inheritance — Pops — Kids on Colden Street — Class trip.

Product Details

ISBN:
9780375705908
Author:
La Valle, Victor D.
Publisher:
Vintage
Author:
La Valle, Victor D.
Author:
Lavalle, Victor
Location:
New York
Subject:
Christian Life
Subject:
Fiction
Subject:
City and town life
Subject:
Queens
Subject:
Short Stories (single author)
Subject:
Urban youth
Subject:
Urban youth -- New York (State) -- New York -- Fiction.
Subject:
City and town life - New York (State) -
Subject:
Queens (New York, N.Y.)
Subject:
Stories (single author)
Subject:
Literature-A to Z
Edition Number:
1st ed.
Edition Description:
Trade paper
Series:
Vintage Contemporaries Original
Publication Date:
19991031
Binding:
TRADE PAPER
Grade Level:
General/trade
Language:
English
Illustrations:
Yes
Pages:
224
Dimensions:
8 x 5.2 x .51 in .5 lb

Other books you might like

  1. The Ecstatic Used Trade Paper $5.95
  2. Bite Every Sorrow Used Hardcover $8.50
  3. Foul Matter Used Trade Paper $2.95
  4. Gerald McBoing Boing Used Hardcover $1.95
  5. Angels Go Naked Sale Hardcover $1.00
  6. Siddhartha Used Hardcover $2.50

Related Subjects

Fiction and Poetry » Literature » A to Z

Slapboxing with Jesus New Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$14.50 In Stock
Product details 224 pages Vintage Books USA - English 9780375705908 Reviews:
"Synopsis" by , Thirteen original and interconnected stories in the tradition of Junot Diaz and Sherman Alexie. Victor D. La Valle's astonishing, violent, and funny debut offers harrowing glimpses at the vulnerable lives of young people who struggle not only to come of age, but to survive the city streets.

In "ancient history, " two best friends graduating from high school fight to be the one to leave first for a better world; each one wants to be the fortunate son. In "pops, " an African American boy meets his father, a white cop from Connecticut, and tries not to care. And in "kids on colden street, " a boy is momentarily uplifted by the arrival of a younger sister only to discover that brutality leads only to brutality in the natural order of things.

Written with raw candor, grit, and a cautious heart, "Slapboxing with Jesus" introduces an exciting and bold new voice in contemporary fiction. La Valle's voices echo long after their stories are told.

spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.