Wintersalen Sale
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Tour our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    Original Essays | October 21, 2014

    Katha Pollitt: IMG My Bookstore Fantasy — No Customers Necessary



    "Let's open a bookstore," I say to my husband every now and then. "A used bookstore. With a few new books we really like." I'm picturing an... Continue »

    spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$3.50
Used Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Burnside History of Science- General

More copies of this ISBN

This title in other editions

Time Lord: Sir Sandford Fleming and the Creation of Standard Time

by

Time Lord: Sir Sandford Fleming and the Creation of Standard Time Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:


In Time Lord, Clark Blaise recounts the story of the creation of standard time in 1884, one of the great untold accomplishments of 19th-century progress and technology.

Before Sanford Fleming, time was a local matter, so much so that in the middle of the 19th century, there were 144 official time zones in North America alone. This led to conflict and confusion, especially for the burgeoning train system and its schedules, yet petty politics and suffocating nationalism almost prevented any improvement. As Blaise narrates Fleming’s battle, he also provides a provocative meditation on our changing relationship with time itself. Engaging, erudite, and insightful, Time Lord is a masterful tapestry of science, history, and biography.

“[A] complex examination…. Blaise’s gifts for dry humor and well-chosen description are apparent.”–San Francisco Chronicle Book Review

“Blaise, a graceful and engaging writer, leaves his narrative and wanders through thickets of art and culture.”–The New York Times Book Review

“Blaise’s splendid account…presents an important history of ideas.”–Publishers Weekly (starred review)

Synopsis:

In the tradition of "Longitude, Time Lord" recounts the story of the creation of standard time in 1884, one of the great untold accomplishments of 19th-century progress and technology. Entertaining, erudite, and insightful, this is a masterful tapestry of science, history, and biography.

About the Author

Clark Blaise, former head of the Iowa Writers Program, lives in San Francisco.

Product Details

ISBN:
9780375727528
Author:
Blaise, Clark
Publisher:
Vintage Books
Subject:
History
Subject:
Scientists
Subject:
Modern - 19th Century
Subject:
Time
Subject:
Scientists - General
Subject:
Engineers -- Canada.
Subject:
Time -- Systems and standards -- History.
Subject:
Biography-Scientists
Subject:
history;biography;science;time;non-fiction;history of science;19th century;time zones;standards
Copyright:
Edition Description:
Trade paper
Series:
Vintage
Publication Date:
20020431
Binding:
TRADE PAPER
Grade Level:
General/trade
Language:
English
Pages:
272
Dimensions:
8.01x5.19x.54 in. .44 lbs.

Other books you might like

  1. The Illustrated Longitude Used Trade Paper $18.00
  2. Newton's dream New Hardcover $109.75
  3. Lightning Man: The Accursed Life of... Used Trade Paper $8.95
  4. The Measure of All Things: The... Used Hardcover $6.95
  5. Electricity Demystified: A... Used Trade Paper $10.95
  6. Eniac the Triumphs & Tragedies of The Used Trade Paper $8.50

Related Subjects

Biography » Science and Technology
History and Social Science » World History » 1650 to Present
Science and Mathematics » History of Science » General

Time Lord: Sir Sandford Fleming and the Creation of Standard Time Used Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$3.50 In Stock
Product details 272 pages Vintage Books USA - English 9780375727528 Reviews:
"Synopsis" by , In the tradition of "Longitude, Time Lord" recounts the story of the creation of standard time in 1884, one of the great untold accomplishments of 19th-century progress and technology. Entertaining, erudite, and insightful, this is a masterful tapestry of science, history, and biography.
spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.