Summer Reading B2G1 Free
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Visit our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    Original Essays | July 15, 2015

    Frank Wilczek: IMG You Are... Who?



    Writing a book is an unnatural act of communication. Speaking to a person, or even to an audience, is an interaction. Very different styles are... Continue »
    1. $20.97 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

    spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$19.25
New Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
available for shipping or prepaid pickup only
Available for In-store Pickup
in 7 to 12 days
Qty Store Section
25 Remote Warehouse Travel Writing- General

More copies of this ISBN

The Brendan Voyage

by

The Brendan Voyage Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

Could an Irish monk in the sixth century really have sailed all the way across the Atlantic in a small open boat, thus beating Columbus to the New World by almost a thousand years? Relying on the medieval text of St. Brendan, award-winning adventure writer Tim Severin painstakingly researched and built a boat identical to the leather curragh that carried Brendan on his epic voyage. He found a centuries-old, family-run tannery to prepare the ox hides in the medieval way; he undertook an exhaustive search for skilled harness makers (the only people who would know how to stitch the three-quarter-inch-thick hides together); he located one of the last pieces of Irish-grown timber tall enough to make the mainmast. But his courage and resourcefulness were truly tested on the open seas, including one heart-pounding episode when he and his crew repaired a dangerous tear in the leather hull by hanging over the side--their heads sometimes submerged under the freezing waves--to restitch the leather. A modern classic in the tradition of Kon-Tiki, The Brendan Voyage seamlessly blends high adventure and historical relevance. It has been translated into twenty-seven languages since its original publication in 1978.

With a new Introduction by Malachy McCourt, author of A Monk Swimming

Synopsis:

Award-winning adventure writer Severin sails from Ireland to North America in an open boat made from oxhide to prove that Saint Brendan, an Irish monk, may have beat Columbus to the New World by almost a thousand years.

About the Author

Tim Severin, explorer, traveler, author, filmmaker, and lecturer, made his first expedition while he was still a student at Oxford: following the route of Marco Polo on a motorcycle. He has also re-created the journeys of Ulysses, Jason and the Argonauts, Sinbad, and Hsu Fu (which required sailing across the Pacific on a bamboo raft). He lives in Ireland.

Jon Krakauer is the author of Into Thin Air, which was a finalist for the Pulitzer Prize, and Into the Wild. His work has appeared in many magazines, including Outside, Smithsonian, and National Geographic. He chose the books in the Modern Library Exploration series for their literary merit and historical significance--and because he found them such a pleasure to read.

Product Details

ISBN:
9780375755248
Author:
Severin, Tim
Author:
Severin, Timothy
Author:
McCourt, Malachy
Publisher:
Modern Library
Location:
New York :
Subject:
General
Subject:
Ocean travel
Subject:
Essays & Travelogues
Subject:
Sailing - Narratives
Subject:
Voyages and travels
Subject:
Brendan (Curragh)
Subject:
General Nature
Subject:
Travel Writing-General
Edition Description:
2000
Series:
Modern Library Exploration
Series Volume:
99-366
Publication Date:
20000431
Binding:
TRADE PAPER
Grade Level:
General/trade
Language:
English
Illustrations:
3 MAPS; 1 BandW ILLUS
Pages:
304
Dimensions:
7.99x5.23x.69 in. .53 lbs.

Other books you might like

  1. Monster: Living Off the Big Screen New Trade Paper $12.75
  2. You: The Owner's Manual: An...
    Used Hardcover $5.50
  3. Enzyme Nutrition Used Trade Paper $3.95
  4. The Devil in the White City: Murder,...
    Used Trade Paper $8.95
  5. The Last Ridge: The Epic Story of... Used Hardcover $6.50
  6. Just-So Stories Used Trade Paper $2.95

Related Subjects


Science and Mathematics » Nature Studies » General
Transportation » Nautical » Nautical Lore
Transportation » Nautical » Sailing
Travel » Travel Writing » Exploration
Travel » Travel Writing » General

The Brendan Voyage New Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$19.25 In Stock
Product details 304 pages Modern Library - English 9780375755248 Reviews:
"Synopsis" by , Award-winning adventure writer Severin sails from Ireland to North America in an open boat made from oxhide to prove that Saint Brendan, an Irish monk, may have beat Columbus to the New World by almost a thousand years.
spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.