Wintersalen Sale
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Tour our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    Original Essays | November 7, 2014

    Carli Davidson: IMG Puppies for Sale? Read This First



    Shake Puppies contains an almost unsettling amount of cuteness. There is a good chance after looking through its pages you will get puppy fever and... Continue »
    1. $12.59 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

      Shake Puppies

      Carli Davidson 9780062351722

    spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$5.95
List price: $16.99
Used Hardcover
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Beaverton Children's- Science Fiction and Fantasy

More copies of this ISBN

Bones of Faerie

by

Bones of Faerie Cover

ISBN13: 9780375845635
ISBN10: 0375845631
Condition: Standard
Dustjacket: Standard
All Product Details

Only 1 left in stock at $5.95!

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

The war between humanity and Faerie devastated both sides. Or so 15-year-old Liza has been told. Nothing has been seen or heard from Faerie since, and Liza's world bears the scars of its encounter with magic. Trees move with sinister intention, and the town Liza calls home is surrounded by a forest that threatens to harm all those who wander into it. Then Liza discovers she has the Faerie ability to see — ; into the past, into the future — and she has no choice but to flee her town. Liza's quest will take her into Faerie and back again, and what she finds along the way may be the key to healing both worlds.

Janni Lee Simner's first novel for young adults is a dark fairy-tale twist on apocalyptic fiction — as familiar as a nightmare, yet altogether unique.

Review:

"It has been 20 years since the war between faeries and humans destroyed everything. Liza, a teenager living in what was once the Midwest, has always been taught that magic kills. When Liza's mother gives birth to a faerie baby with 'hair clear as glass,' her father abandons the infant on a hillside to die; Liza's mother then runs away, and Liza begins to have magical visions of her own. Petrified that her powers might cause death, Liza flees into the woods with her friend Matthew, only to be attacked by deadly trees and rescued by a woman with magic. The plot quickens as Liza realizes that the woman is connected to her mother's past, knowledge that propels Liza into a dangerous journey into the land of Faerie, in search of her mother. Debut novelist Simner's style is poetic ('A land of steel and glass, of towers and sharp angles. A sky the color of dried blood'), but she only vaguely describes Liza's world. It's hard to understand how, for example, a faerie differs from humans with magical powers, or what triggered the cataclysmic faerie war. Despite the murkiness, the plotting is strong, and readers will want to stay with Liza until her questions are resolved. Ages 12 — 16." Publishers Weekly (Copyright Reed Business Information, Inc.)

Review:

"This book has one of the best first chapters I know — and the rest of the book more than lives up to its promise. Pure, stunning, it is impossible to put down or forget." Jane Yolen, winner of the World Fantasy Award

Review:

"[An] unusual and unsettling vision of a magically dystopian future." Booklist

Review:

"With its dark, sharply imagined world, this will appeal to readers of Holly Black and Cassandra Clare." Kirkus Reviews

Review:

"Readers will be surprised by the identity and motives of the 'evil' shadow that follows Liza. They will also be satisfied by an ending that is optimistic yet not akin to a fairy tale." VOYA

About the Author

Janni Lee Simner lives in the Arizona desert, where, even without magic, the plants know how to bite and the dandelions really do have thorns. She has published four books for younger readers, as well as more than 30 short stories. Bones of Faerie is her first young adult novel.

What Our Readers Are Saying

Add a comment for a chance to win!
Average customer rating based on 3 comments:

Beverly B, March 14, 2013 (view all comments by Beverly B)
Bones of Faerie is a hauntingly, beautifully written book that combines dystopian and fantasy genres in a gripping, spooky, good vs. evil story. The war between humans and faeries is over, but the world has changed dramatically and negatively. Technology is gone. Trees and flowers can have deadly powers. Sinister shadows lurk, ready to strike. Fear and distrust of magic and faeries remain as legacies of the deadly battles. Any human suspected of having even slight faerie qualities can be banned or excuted. When Liza starts having visions of the future, she flees before anyone finds out, or worse, her magic brings disaster to her town. Her journey to find a new home changes her. Fantasy lovers and dystopian lovers will eagerly move on to the sequels.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
Dragonkeeper, March 29, 2009 (view all comments by Dragonkeeper)
Very well written, a great book of magical adventure. You are really drawn into the book, and just can't put it down! You understand how the characters react, and feel along with them through the many struggles and problems faced. Janni has created a surprisingly realistic world where nowhere is safe, yet you don't quite want to leave. I would recommend this book to anyone who loves to read fantasy, magic, and adventure!
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(4 of 6 readers found this comment helpful)
Caryn, March 11, 2009 (view all comments by Caryn)
Excellent story of 15 year old Liza whose sister is born with the signs of magic and was left in the woods to die. Fairies and humans battled and this book is about the aftermath, and about magic, and about being human. Liza is caring and brave and does what needs doing despite being abandoned by her mother and beaten by her zealot father to whom magic is a demon. There's a faithful cat, and a werewolf, and the soaring Gateway Arch of St. Louis. It's not depressing even though it's apocalyptic; it's...magical.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(5 of 6 readers found this comment helpful)
View all 3 comments

Product Details

ISBN:
9780375845635
Author:
Simner, Janni Lee
Publisher:
Random House Books for Young Readers
Subject:
Magic
Subject:
Fairies
Subject:
Science Fiction, Fantasy, & Magic
Subject:
Fantasy & Magic
Subject:
Action & Adventure - General
Subject:
Social Issues - Runaways
Subject:
Children s-Science Fiction and Fantasy
Copyright:
Series:
The Bones of Faerie Trilogy
Publication Date:
20090131
Binding:
HARDCOVER
Grade Level:
from 7 up to 11
Language:
English
Pages:
256
Dimensions:
8.10x5.70x.90 in. .79 lbs.
Age Level:
12-16

Other books you might like

  1. Evermore
    Used Trade Paper $4.95
  2. Need
    Used Hardcover $3.50
  3. Wondrous Strange (Wondrous Strange) Used Hardcover $9.95
  4. Sisters Eight #04: Jackie's Jokes Sale Trade Paper $2.98
  5. My Weird School Daze #05: Officer... Used Trade Paper $3.50
  6. Rainbow Magic: Dance Fairies #06:... Used Trade Paper $3.50

Related Subjects

Children's » Action and Adventure » Adventure Stories
Children's » Science Fiction and Fantasy » General
Young Adult » Fiction » Social Issues » Runaways
Young Adult » General

Bones of Faerie Used Hardcover
0 stars - 0 reviews
$5.95 In Stock
Product details 256 pages Random House Books for Young Readers - English 9780375845635 Reviews:
"Publishers Weekly Review" by , "It has been 20 years since the war between faeries and humans destroyed everything. Liza, a teenager living in what was once the Midwest, has always been taught that magic kills. When Liza's mother gives birth to a faerie baby with 'hair clear as glass,' her father abandons the infant on a hillside to die; Liza's mother then runs away, and Liza begins to have magical visions of her own. Petrified that her powers might cause death, Liza flees into the woods with her friend Matthew, only to be attacked by deadly trees and rescued by a woman with magic. The plot quickens as Liza realizes that the woman is connected to her mother's past, knowledge that propels Liza into a dangerous journey into the land of Faerie, in search of her mother. Debut novelist Simner's style is poetic ('A land of steel and glass, of towers and sharp angles. A sky the color of dried blood'), but she only vaguely describes Liza's world. It's hard to understand how, for example, a faerie differs from humans with magical powers, or what triggered the cataclysmic faerie war. Despite the murkiness, the plotting is strong, and readers will want to stay with Liza until her questions are resolved. Ages 12 — 16." Publishers Weekly (Copyright Reed Business Information, Inc.)
"Review" by , "This book has one of the best first chapters I know — and the rest of the book more than lives up to its promise. Pure, stunning, it is impossible to put down or forget."
"Review" by , "[An] unusual and unsettling vision of a magically dystopian future."
"Review" by , "With its dark, sharply imagined world, this will appeal to readers of Holly Black and Cassandra Clare."
"Review" by , "Readers will be surprised by the identity and motives of the 'evil' shadow that follows Liza. They will also be satisfied by an ending that is optimistic yet not akin to a fairy tale."
spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.