The Fictioning Horror Sale
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Original Essays | Yesterday, 11:27am

Lin Enger: IMG Knowing vs. Knowing



On a hot July evening years ago, my Toyota Tercel overheated on a flat stretch of highway north of Cedar Rapids, Iowa. A steam geyser shot up from... Continue »
  1. $17.47 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

    The High Divide

    Lin Enger 9781616203757

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$6.99
New Mass Market
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
available for shipping or prepaid pickup only
Available for In-store Pickup
in 7 to 12 days
Qty Store Section
3 Remote Warehouse Children's- Fables

This title in other editions

Other titles in the Legacy of Beowulf series:

The Coming of the Dragon

by

The Coming of the Dragon Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

Rebecca Barnhouse weaves Norse gods, blood feuds, and a terrifying dragon into this spectacular historical fantasy, a retelling of the end of the Old English poem Beowulf.

When he was a baby, Rune washed up onshore in a boat, along with a sword and a pendant bearing the runes that gave him his nickname. Some people thought he was a sacrifice to the gods and wanted to send him right back to the sea. Luckily for Rune, King Beowulf disagreed. He lifted the boy from the boat and gave him to Amma, a wise woman living on a farm far removed from the king's hall, to raise as she saw fit. Sixteen years later, Rune spends his summers laboring on the farm. And at King Beowulf's request, he comes to the hall each winter for weapons training. But somehow he never quite fits in. Many people still fear he will bring a curse on the kingdom. Then a terrible thing happens. On a lonely crag on a mountain that belongs to the giants, someone awakens a dragon. It is time for Rune to find the warrior inside himself and prove to the doubters once and for all that he is a true hero. For Fans of Christopher Paolini, Tamora Pierce, and all coming-of-age fantasy.

About the Author

REBECCA BARNHOUSE is the author of The Book of the Maidservant. She first read Beowulf in Old English at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, where she earned her doctorate, studying Anglo-Saxon manuscripts and medieval literature written in Old and Middle English, Old Norse, and other fascinating languages. She teaches and writes about medieval topics and about children's literature set in the middle ages.

Product Details

ISBN:
9780375861734
Author:
Barnhouse, Rebecca
Publisher:
Bluefire
Subject:
Legends, Myths, & Fables - Other
Subject:
Children s-Fables
Subject:
Children s-Science Fiction and Fantasy
Copyright:
Series:
Legacy of Beowulf
Publication Date:
20111031
Binding:
TRADE PAPER
Grade Level:
from 5
Language:
English
Pages:
336
Dimensions:
7.59 x 5.35 x 0.83 in 0.495 lb
Age Level:
from 10

Related Subjects

Children's » Action and Adventure » Adventure Stories
Children's » Fables
Children's » Science Fiction and Fantasy » General

The Coming of the Dragon New Mass Market
0 stars - 0 reviews
$6.99 In Stock
Product details 336 pages Bluefire - English 9780375861734 Reviews:
spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.