Summer Reading B2G1 Free
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Visit our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    Lists | July 16, 2015

    Annie Liontas: IMG "You Want Me to Smell My Fingers?": Five Unforgettable Greek Idioms



    The word "idiom" originates in the Greek word ídios ("one's own") and means "special feature" or "special phrasing." Idioms are peculiar because,... Continue »
    1. $18.20 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

      Let Me Explain You

      Annie Liontas 9781476789088

    spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$16.99
New Hardcover
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
available for shipping or prepaid pickup only
Available for In-store Pickup
in 7 to 12 days
Qty Store Section
7 Remote Warehouse Children's- General

Penny Dreadful

by

Penny Dreadful Cover

ISBN13: 9780375861994
ISBN10: 0375861998
All Product Details

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

The perfect book for girls and boys who look to find adventure and magic in surprising places!

What if you were really bored with your life? What would you wish for?

Penelope Grey wishes for something—anything!—interesting to happen, and here’s what she gets:

• Her father quits his job.

• Her family runs out of money.

• Her home becomes a pit of despair.

So Penelope makes another wish, and this time the Greys inherit a ramshackle old house in the middle of nowhere. Off they go, leaving the city and their problems behind them. Their new home is full of artists, tiny lions, unusual feasts, and true friends. Almost immediately, their lives are transformed. Penelope’s mother finds an unexpected job, her father discovers a hidden talent, and Penelope changes her name!

Penny’s new life feels too magical to be real, too real to be magic. And it may be too good to last . . . unless she can find a way to make magic work just one more time—if it even was magic.

Any Which Wall author Laurel Snyder introduces a quirky cast of characters as pleasantly strange as they are deeply real. Abigail Halpin adds to the charm with her distinctive line drawings.

Fans of Polly Horvath’s My One Hundred Adventures, Ingrid Law’s Savvy, and Jeanne Birdsall’s The Penderwicks will be enchanted by Laurel Snyder’s alternatively humorous and poignant look at small-town life and what it really takes to become a happy family.

Review:

"Snyder's (Up and Down the Scratchy Mountains) coming-of-age novel addresses economic upheaval and building relationships from a refreshingly positive perspective. Ten-year-old Penelope Grey has a contagious appetite for adventure. She lives in a city mansion with kind but often absent parents, and although 'Penelope knew she had nothing to complain about,' she one day makes a wish for an 'everything change,' hoping to conjure up some of the magic that she reads about in her beloved books (Snyder plugs The Little Princess and The Penderwicks, among others). When her father spontaneously quits his job, the family can no longer afford their lifestyle and, coincidentally, are suddenly able to move into an inherited house in rural Thrush Junction, Tenn. There, Penelope encounters unusual neighbors, including scrappy Luella and ex-vaudevillian Down-Betty, all the while wondering if this was the change she was looking for. Snyder's characters are well-developed and endearing, and the author strikes an excellent balance between the reality of the Greys' financial straits and the quiet magic that everyday life has to offer. Ages 8 — 12. (Sept.)" Publishers Weekly (Copyright PWyxz LLC)

Synopsis:

Penelope Grey is bored with her rich city life--and also utterly ashamed of her boredom, because aren't only spoiled, bratty children bored? Then Penny makes an offhand wish and her life turns topsy-turvy. Illustrations.

Synopsis:

US

About the Author

Laurel Snyder, like Penelope Grey, ran away to the mountains of East Tennessee at an impressionable age, where she (like Penelope) discovered a world of wonderful people, winding roads, lush foliage, and wishes-come-true. She now lives in Atlanta with her family, and online at www.LaurelSnyder.com. Her past works include Up and Down the Scratchy Mountains, Inside the Slidy Diner, and Any Which Wall.

Abigail Halpin grew up drawing in a tiny town on the Maine coast. Since that time she’s lived in a faraway city and visited distant states, but never quite felt at home. With pens and pencils in tow, she moved back to where she grew up—Wells, Maine. She spends her days drinking tea and illustrating, her work most recently appearing in Maybe Yes, Maybe No, Maybe Maybe by Susan Patron.

What Our Readers Are Saying

Add a comment for a chance to win!
Average customer rating based on 1 comment:

Courtesy of Mother Daughter Book Club com, January 11, 2011 (view all comments by Courtesy of Mother Daughter Book Club com)
Penny and her parents live a rather privileged though somewhat isolated life in New York City. One day Penny is feeling rather bored and writes a wish to throw into the fountain in her back yard: “I wish something interesting would happen when I least expect it, just like in a book.”

The next thing she knows, her dad has quit his job and the family is rapidly falling into dire financial straits. It’s not exactly what Penny had in mind when she wished from something interesting. When Penny’s mom inherits a house in Tennessee, the family decides to move from the city and get a fresh start in the country.

At first, the plan seems to work, and Penny starts to make friends for the first time in her life. Her new home is actually a collection of houses filled with quirky characters and lots of new things to discover. For the first time in months, her parents seem happy. Then they discover that their new house comes with a lot of debt, and if they want to keep it, they’ll have to find a way to earn a lot of money.

Penny Dreadful by Laurel Snyder is a look at how families and communities can band together to help each other in times of need. It’s about finding a way to make a living while being happy with what you do at the same time. It touches on how children can feel powerless when their parents don’t include them in issues that are important to their future. And it tackles all of these serious subjects with a healthy dose of humor and lightheartedness. It’s a delightful book about first impressions, friendship, determination, personal responsibility, family and community. Mother-daughter book clubs with girls aged 9 to 12 will find lots to discuss.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No

Product Details

ISBN:
9780375861994
Author:
Snyder, Laurel
Publisher:
Random House Books for Young Readers
Illustrator:
Halpin, Abigail
Author:
Halpin, Abigail
Subject:
Social Issues - Friendship
Subject:
Girls & Women
Subject:
Lifestyles - Country Life
Subject:
Situations / Friendship
Subject:
Children s Young Adult-Social Issue Fiction-Friendship
Subject:
Children s Young Adult-Social Issue Fiction
Subject:
Children s-General
Copyright:
Publication Date:
20100931
Binding:
HARDCOVER
Grade Level:
from 3 up to 7
Language:
English
Illustrations:
YES
Pages:
320
Dimensions:
8.54 x 5.91 x .79 in .92 lb
Age Level:
08-12

Other books you might like

  1. Savory Baking
    Used Trade Paper $9.95
  2. Beard on Bread Used Mass Market $4.95
  3. Bread of Three Rivers: The Story of... New Trade Paper $21.25

Related Subjects

Children's » General
Children's » Middle Readers » General
Young Adult » Fiction » Social Issues » Friendship

Penny Dreadful New Hardcover
0 stars - 0 reviews
$16.99 In Stock
Product details 320 pages Random House Books for Young Readers - English 9780375861994 Reviews:
"Publishers Weekly Review" by , "Snyder's (Up and Down the Scratchy Mountains) coming-of-age novel addresses economic upheaval and building relationships from a refreshingly positive perspective. Ten-year-old Penelope Grey has a contagious appetite for adventure. She lives in a city mansion with kind but often absent parents, and although 'Penelope knew she had nothing to complain about,' she one day makes a wish for an 'everything change,' hoping to conjure up some of the magic that she reads about in her beloved books (Snyder plugs The Little Princess and The Penderwicks, among others). When her father spontaneously quits his job, the family can no longer afford their lifestyle and, coincidentally, are suddenly able to move into an inherited house in rural Thrush Junction, Tenn. There, Penelope encounters unusual neighbors, including scrappy Luella and ex-vaudevillian Down-Betty, all the while wondering if this was the change she was looking for. Snyder's characters are well-developed and endearing, and the author strikes an excellent balance between the reality of the Greys' financial straits and the quiet magic that everyday life has to offer. Ages 8 — 12. (Sept.)" Publishers Weekly (Copyright PWyxz LLC)
"Synopsis" by , Penelope Grey is bored with her rich city life--and also utterly ashamed of her boredom, because aren't only spoiled, bratty children bored? Then Penny makes an offhand wish and her life turns topsy-turvy. Illustrations.
"Synopsis" by , US
spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.