Master your Minecraft
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Tour our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    The Powell's Playlist | October 21, 2014

    Anne Rice: IMG The Powell’s Playlist: Anne Rice



    These are the songs that wake me up, take me out of my worries and anxieties, wash my brain cells, and send me to the keyboard to write with new... Continue »

    spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$8.95
List price: $17.99
Used Hardcover
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Burnside Children's Young Adult- General

The Tragedy Paper

by

The Tragedy Paper Cover

ISBN13: 9780375870408
ISBN10: 0375870407
Condition: Standard
Dustjacket: Standard
All Product Details

Only 1 left in stock at $8.95!

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

Perfect for fans of Thirteen Reasons Why and Looking for Alaska, Jennifer Weiner, #1 New York Times bestselling author, calls Elizabeth LaBan’s The Tragedy Paper “a beguiling and beautifully written tale of first love and heartbreak.” 

It follows the story of Tim Macbeth, a seventeen-year-old albino and a recent transfer to the prestigious Irving School, where the motto is “Enter here to be and find a friend.” A friend is the last thing Tim expects or wants—he just hopes to get through his senior year unnoticed. Yet, despite his efforts to blend into the background, he finds himself falling for the quintessential “It” girl, Vanessa Sheller, girlfriend of Irving’s most popular boy. To Tim's surprise, Vanessa is into him, too, but she can kiss her social status goodbye if anyone ever finds out. Tim and Vanessa begin a clandestine romance, but looming over them is the Tragedy Paper, Irving’s version of a senior year thesis, assigned by the school’s least forgiving teacher.

 

Jumping between viewpoints of the love-struck Tim and Duncan, a current senior about to uncover the truth of Tim and Vanessa, The Tragedy Paper is a compelling tale of forbidden love and the lengths people will go to keep their secrets.

Review:

"The legend of a curse 'that every year a senior would leave for some unforeseen reason' provides an eerie backdrop to this story set at Irving, a prestigious, tradition-laden boarding school. Foreshadowing and dramatic tension build through alternating, parallel narratives of two seniors in consecutive years, as details of a tragedy involving both boys gradually unfold. Duncan, occupying a room previously inhabited by recent graduate Tim, inherits Tim's CD recordings describing 'the words, the music, my downfall, as well as your perceived or actual role in it.' Tim's first-person voice is a compelling combination of compassion and analysis, revealing his lifelong challenge of albinism, the unexpected romantic triangle he enters into, and choices that set in motion unfortunate events. Narrative transitions to Duncan's third-person viewpoint are occasionally jarring; like Duncan, readers will likely find Tim's senior year trials more interesting. As the relationship between the two characters becomes clearer, however, Duncan's tale conveys greater dramatic resonance. A playful element infuses the story as tragic themes described in English class play out in the characters' dramas, adding texture to this strong debut. Ages 12 — up. Agent: Uwe Stender, TriadaUS Literary Agency." Publishers Weekly Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.

Synopsis:

US

Synopsis:

Perfect for readers of 13 Reasons Why, The Tragedy Paper is the story of Tim Macbeth, a 17-year-old albino and a recent transfer to the prestigious Irving School, where the motto is, "Enter here to be and find a friend." Tim does not expect to find a friend; all he really wants to do is escape his senior year unnoticed. Despite his efforts to blend into the background, he finds himself falling for the quintessential "it" girl, Vanessa Sheller, girlfriend of Irving's most popular boy. To Tim's surprise, Vanessa is into him, too, and she can kiss her social status goodbye if anyone finds out. Tim and Vanessa enter into a clandestine relationship, but looming over them is the Tragedy Paper, Irving's version of a senior year thesis, assigned by the school's least forgiving teacher.

The story unfolds from two alternating viewpoints: Tim, the tragic, love-struck figure, and Duncan, a current senior, who uncovers the truth behind Tim and Vanessa's story and will consequently produce the greatest Tragedy Paper in Irving's history.

About the Author

ELIZABETH LABAN worked at NBC News, taught at a community college, and has written for several magazines and newspapers. The Tragedy Paper is her first young adult novel. She lives in Philadelphia with her family. 

What Our Readers Are Saying

Add a comment for a chance to win!
Average customer rating based on 1 comment:

Kate8, April 29, 2013 (view all comments by Kate8)
I loved this book. I am a professor of literature, who teaches many 17 and 18 year olds, and I think it would be great if they all read this novel before ending up in my classroom. LaBan cleverly interweaves a love triangle, an outsider testimony, literary analysis and a coming-of-age story. Her understanding of the literary structures that she engages is spot-on, and the perspective of her physically-stigmatized protagonist is drawn with clarity and compassion. LaBan also uses a strong and compelling "frame narrative" in which another teenager listens to the main story via CDs left in his dorm room. This is a device which draws the story even closer in to the reader, and brilliantly ramps up the sense of mystery and suspense.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No

Product Details

ISBN:
9780375870408
Author:
Laban, Elizabeth
Publisher:
Alfred A. Knopf Books for Young Readers
Subject:
Situations / General
Subject:
Children s Young Adult-Social Issue Fiction
Subject:
Children s-General
Subject:
boarding school;young adult;albinism;fiction;albino;romance;relationships;tragedy;ya;high school;albinos;realistic fiction;contemporary
Subject:
boarding school;young adult;albinism;tragedy;fiction;albino;ya;romance;relationships;high school;albinos;realistic fiction;contemporary;boarding schools
Subject:
boarding school;young adult;albinism;fiction;tragedy;albino;relationships;romance;ya;high school;albinos;realistic fiction;boarding schools;contemporary;issues
Publication Date:
20130131
Binding:
HARDCOVER
Grade Level:
from 7
Language:
English
Pages:
320
Dimensions:
8.61 x 5.87 x 1 in 0.9375 lb
Age Level:
from 12

Other books you might like

  1. Tenth of December: Stories
    Used Hardcover $14.00

Related Subjects

Children's » General
Children's » Historical Fiction » General
Young Adult » Fiction » Social Issues » Dating and Sex
Young Adult » Fiction » Social Issues » Friendship
Young Adult » Fiction » Social Issues » Special Needs
Young Adult » General

The Tragedy Paper Used Hardcover
0 stars - 0 reviews
$8.95 In Stock
Product details 320 pages Alfred A. Knopf Books for Young Readers - English 9780375870408 Reviews:
"Publishers Weekly Review" by , "The legend of a curse 'that every year a senior would leave for some unforeseen reason' provides an eerie backdrop to this story set at Irving, a prestigious, tradition-laden boarding school. Foreshadowing and dramatic tension build through alternating, parallel narratives of two seniors in consecutive years, as details of a tragedy involving both boys gradually unfold. Duncan, occupying a room previously inhabited by recent graduate Tim, inherits Tim's CD recordings describing 'the words, the music, my downfall, as well as your perceived or actual role in it.' Tim's first-person voice is a compelling combination of compassion and analysis, revealing his lifelong challenge of albinism, the unexpected romantic triangle he enters into, and choices that set in motion unfortunate events. Narrative transitions to Duncan's third-person viewpoint are occasionally jarring; like Duncan, readers will likely find Tim's senior year trials more interesting. As the relationship between the two characters becomes clearer, however, Duncan's tale conveys greater dramatic resonance. A playful element infuses the story as tragic themes described in English class play out in the characters' dramas, adding texture to this strong debut. Ages 12 — up. Agent: Uwe Stender, TriadaUS Literary Agency." Publishers Weekly Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.
"Synopsis" by , US
"Synopsis" by , Perfect for readers of 13 Reasons Why, The Tragedy Paper is the story of Tim Macbeth, a 17-year-old albino and a recent transfer to the prestigious Irving School, where the motto is, "Enter here to be and find a friend." Tim does not expect to find a friend; all he really wants to do is escape his senior year unnoticed. Despite his efforts to blend into the background, he finds himself falling for the quintessential "it" girl, Vanessa Sheller, girlfriend of Irving's most popular boy. To Tim's surprise, Vanessa is into him, too, and she can kiss her social status goodbye if anyone finds out. Tim and Vanessa enter into a clandestine relationship, but looming over them is the Tragedy Paper, Irving's version of a senior year thesis, assigned by the school's least forgiving teacher.

The story unfolds from two alternating viewpoints: Tim, the tragic, love-struck figure, and Duncan, a current senior, who uncovers the truth behind Tim and Vanessa's story and will consequently produce the greatest Tragedy Paper in Irving's history.

spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.