Wintersalen Sale
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Tour our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    Original Essays | November 7, 2014

    Karelia Stetz-Waters: IMG The Hot Sex Tip Cosmo Won't Tell You



    Cosmopolitan Magazine recently released an article titled "28 Mind-Blowing Lesbian Sex Positions." Where was this vital information when I was a... Continue »
    1. $10.47 Sale Trade Paper add to wish list

    spacer

This item may be
out of stock.

Click on the button below to search for this title in other formats.


Check for Availability
Add to Wishlist

Penny Dreadful

by

Penny Dreadful Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

The perfect book for girls and boys who look to find adventure and magic in surprising places!

What if you were really bored with your life? What would you wish for?

Penelope Grey wishes for something—anything!—interesting to happen, and here’s what she gets:

• Her father quits his job.

• Her family runs out of money.

• Her home becomes a pit of despair.

So Penelope makes another wish, and this time the Greys inherit a ramshackle old house in the middle of nowhere. Off they go, leaving the city and their problems behind them. Their new home is full of artists, tiny lions, unusual feasts, and true friends. Almost immediately, their lives are transformed. Penelope’s mother finds an unexpected job, her father discovers a hidden talent, and Penelope changes her name!

Penny’s new life feels too magical to be real, too real to be magic. And it may be too good to last . . . unless she can find a way to make magic work just one more time—if it even was magic.

Any Which Wall author Laurel Snyder introduces a quirky cast of characters as pleasantly strange as they are deeply real. Abigail Halpin adds to the charm with her distinctive line drawings.

Fans of Polly Horvath’s My One Hundred Adventures, Ingrid Law’s Savvy, and Jeanne Birdsall’s The Penderwicks will be enchanted by Laurel Snyder’s alternatively humorous and poignant look at small-town life and what it really takes to become a happy family.

Synopsis:

Shamefacedly bored by her privileged city life, Penny finds her world thrown into turmoil when in the aftermath of an offhanded wish, her father quits his job, her mother inherits a country house and her new home is occupied by a strange menagerie of tenants.

Synopsis:

When her father suddenly quits his job, the almost-ten-year-old, friendless Penny and her neglectful parents leave their privileged life in the city for a ramshackle property in the eccentric town of Thrush Junction, Tennessee.

About the Author

Laurel Snyder, like Penelope Grey, ran away to the mountains of East Tennessee at an impressionable age, where she (like Penelope) discovered a world of wonderful people, winding roads, lush foliage, and wishes-come-true. She now lives in Atlanta with her family, and online at www.LaurelSnyder.com. Her past works include Up and Down the Scratchy Mountains, Inside the Slidy Diner, and Any Which Wall.

Abigail Halpin grew up drawing in a tiny town on the Maine coast. Since that time she's lived in a faraway city and visited distant states, but never quite felt at home. With pens and pencils in tow, she moved back to where she grew up—Wells, Maine. She spends her days drinking tea and illustrating, her work most recently appearing in Maybe Yes, Maybe No, Maybe Maybe by Susan Patron.

Product Details

ISBN:
9780375893469
Publisher:
Random House Children's Books
Subject:
Juvenile Fiction : Performing Arts - General
Illustrator:
Abigail Halpin
Calligrapher:
Halpin, Abigail
Author:
Snyder, Laurel
Author:
Halpin, Abigail
Author:
Laurel Snyder
Author:
Abigail Halpin
Subject:
Juvenile Fiction : Social Issues - Friendship
Subject:
Juvenile Fiction : Girls & Women
Subject:
Juvenile Fiction : Lifestyles - Country Life
Subject:
Social Issues - Friendship
Subject:
Girls & Women
Subject:
Lifestyles - Country Life
Subject:
Situations / Friendship
Subject:
Children s-General
Subject:
Children s Middle Readers-General
Subject:
Children s Young Adult-Social Issue Fiction-Friendship
Subject:
main_subject
Subject:
all_subjects
Publication Date:
20100928
Binding:
ELECTRONIC
Grade Level:
3-7
Language:
English
Pages:
320
Age Level:
8-12

Related Subjects

Children's » General
Children's » Situations » General
Young Adult » Fiction » Social Issues » Friendship

Penny Dreadful
0 stars - 0 reviews
$ In Stock
Product details 320 pages Random House Children's Books - English 9780375893469 Reviews:
"Synopsis" by , Shamefacedly bored by her privileged city life, Penny finds her world thrown into turmoil when in the aftermath of an offhanded wish, her father quits his job, her mother inherits a country house and her new home is occupied by a strange menagerie of tenants.
"Synopsis" by , When her father suddenly quits his job, the almost-ten-year-old, friendless Penny and her neglectful parents leave their privileged life in the city for a ramshackle property in the eccentric town of Thrush Junction, Tennessee.
spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.