Master your Minecraft
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Tour our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    What I'm Giving | November 29, 2014

    Neil Patrick Harris: IMG Neil Patrick Harris: What I'm Giving



    At Powell's, we feel the holidays are the perfect time to share our love of books with those close to us. For this special blog series, we reached... Continue »

    spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$22.50
New Library
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
available for shipping or prepaid pickup only
Available for In-store Pickup
in 7 to 12 days
Qty Store Section
6 Remote Warehouse Children's Young Adult- General

More copies of this ISBN

The Dark Between

by

The Dark Between Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

A supernatural romance about the powers that lie in the shadows of the mind, perfect for fans of Sarah Rees Brennan, Alyxandra Harvey, and Libba Bray.

At the turn of the twentieth century, Spiritualism and séances are all the rage—even in the scholarly town of Cambridge, England. While mediums dupe the grief-stricken, a group of local fringe scientists seeks to bridge the gap to the spirit world by investigating the dark corners of the human mind.

Each running from a shadowed past, Kate, Asher, and Elsie  take refuge within the walls of Summerfield College. But their peace is soon shattered by the discovery of a dead body nearby. Is this the work of a flesh-and-blood villain, or is something otherworldly at play? This unlikely trio must illuminate what the scientists have not, and open a window to secrets taken to the grave—or risk joining the spirit world themselves.

Synopsis:

US

Synopsis:

Kate is an orphan who has made a living by helping a fraudulent medium deceive an eager public. When she inadvertently reveals her employer as an imposter, she is fired, and finds herself in the care of the Thompsons, scholars and wealthy members of the Metaphysical Research Society.

Soon Kate is embroiled in a web of unanswered questions. Her new friend Elsie mysteriously disappears, and upon her return it's clear she is hiding something. People from the surrounding town are going missing. And a rogue member of the Metaphysical Research Society seems to be involved in something much more sinister than the fringe science the group purports to explore. Can Kate and her friends unravel the mystery around them before they become victims themselves?  

About the Author

SONIA GENSLER is also the author of The Revenant. She grew up in a small Tennessee town and spent her early adulthood collecting impractical degrees from various Midwestern universities. A former high school English teacher, she now writes full-time in Oklahoma.

Product Details

ISBN:
9780375967023
Author:
Gensler, Sonia
Publisher:
Alfred A. Knopf Books for Young Readers
Copyright:
Edition Description:
Library binding
Publication Date:
20130831
Binding:
HARDCOVER
Grade Level:
from 7
Language:
English
Pages:
352
Dimensions:
8.51 x 6.43 x 1.13 in 1.015 lb
Age Level:
from 12

Related Subjects

Children's » Historical Fiction » General
Children's » Paranormal Fiction
Children's » Science Fiction and Fantasy » General

The Dark Between New Library
0 stars - 0 reviews
$22.50 In Stock
Product details 352 pages Alfred A. Knopf Books for Young Readers - English 9780375967023 Reviews:
"Synopsis" by , US
"Synopsis" by , Kate is an orphan who has made a living by helping a fraudulent medium deceive an eager public. When she inadvertently reveals her employer as an imposter, she is fired, and finds herself in the care of the Thompsons, scholars and wealthy members of the Metaphysical Research Society.

Soon Kate is embroiled in a web of unanswered questions. Her new friend Elsie mysteriously disappears, and upon her return it's clear she is hiding something. People from the surrounding town are going missing. And a rogue member of the Metaphysical Research Society seems to be involved in something much more sinister than the fringe science the group purports to explore. Can Kate and her friends unravel the mystery around them before they become victims themselves?  

spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.