Wintersalen Sale
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Tour our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    Original Essays | September 18, 2014

    Lin Enger: IMG Knowing vs. Knowing



    On a hot July evening years ago, my Toyota Tercel overheated on a flat stretch of highway north of Cedar Rapids, Iowa. A steam geyser shot up from... Continue »

    spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$9.95
List price: $15.00
Used Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Hawthorne Literature- A to Z

Golden State

by

Golden State Cover

ISBN13: 9780385343282
ISBN10: 0385343280
Condition: Standard
All Product Details

Only 1 left in stock at $9.95!

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

Perfect for fans of Jodi Picoult, Jacquelyn Mitchard, and Anna Quindlen, Golden State is a powerful, mesmerizing new novel that explores the intricacies of marriage, family, and the profound moments that shape our lives.

 

Doctor Julie Walker has just signed her divorce papers when she receives news that her younger sister, Heather, has gone into labor. Though theirs is a strained relationship, Julie sets out for the hospital to be at her sister’s side—no easy task since the streets of San Francisco are filled with tension and strife. Today is also the day that Julie will find herself at the epicenter of a violent standoff in which she is forced to examine both the promising and the painful parts of her past—her Southern childhood; her romance with her husband, Tom; her estrangement from Heather; and the shattering incident that led to her greatest heartbreak.

 

Infused with emotional depth and poignancy, Golden State takes readers on a journey over the course of a single, unforgettable day—through an extraordinary landscape of love, loss, and hope.

Praise for Golden State

 

“A stirring look at the ties that bind husband-wife, mother-child and even sisters, and what happens when they’re torn asunder. Set in a San Francisco chafing with unrest both political and personal, the world Richmond creates is exquisitely charged with regret and hope.”Family Circle

 

“[A] riveting read that can be recommended to fans of Jodi Picoult and Jacquelyn Mitchard . . . Mesmerizing and intricate, Richmond’s dissection of a California on the violent brink of secession from the nation provides the backdrop to her deeper inspection of the uneasy, fragile relationship between siblings.”Booklist (starred review)

 

“[An] amazing, turbulent novel woven of disparate threads . . . Nearly every feature of this mesmerizing novel is provocative, as Richmond explores the fragmented, hopeful lives of complex characters. This is gripping, multilayered must-read fiction.”Library Journal (starred review)

 

“An exciting premise . . . skillfully written . . . Julie’s past and her relationship with the other characters are scrutinized as the clock ticks. It’s an interesting and sometimes-disturbing study.”Kirkus Reviews

 

“Richmond takes readers through a bittersweet, heartwarming tale of a woman on the cusp of life-changing events in both her personal and professional lives. . . . Once invested, the reader is carried away by this action-packed, poignant story, making this a tale that will live in the heart of the reader once the last page is read.”RT Book Reviews

 

“This is a thoughtful book about how past circumstances change us into the people we are today, for the good or bad. Julie is a sympathetic and relatable character, and readers will definitely feel for her as she goes through her life-changing day.”The Parkersburg News and Sentinel

 

“Richmond . . . delivers a page-turner.”San Jose Mercury News

“A breathtaking read and one I’ll not soon forget.”—Melanie Benjamin, author of The Aviator’s Wife

Look for special features inside. Join the Random House Reader’s Circle for author chats and more.

About the Author

US

What Our Readers Are Saying

Add a comment for a chance to win!
Average customer rating based on 1 comment:

Liz Ellis, June 5, 2014 (view all comments by Liz Ellis)
A smart, fast-paced novel that delves deeply into character. We meet a doctor named Julie Walker whose marriage is falling apart against the backdrop of California secession. Julie must deal with a hostage situation and a city in utter chaos while racing to deliver her sister's baby. The novel constantly surprised me and kept me turning pages, and I love that it's set in San Francisco.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(1 of 1 readers found this comment helpful)

Product Details

ISBN:
9780385343282
Author:
Richmond, Michelle
Publisher:
Bantam Books for Young Readers
Subject:
Literature-Contemporary Women
Subject:
fiction;urban fiction;family;contemporary romance
Edition Description:
Trade paper
Publication Date:
20140231
Binding:
TRADE PAPER
Language:
English
Pages:
304
Dimensions:
7.99 x 5.14 x 0.66 in 0.48 lb

Other books you might like

  1. All the Light We Cannot See
    New Trade Paper $17.00
  2. Cousins O'Dwyer Trilogy #01: Dark Witch Used Trade Paper $11.95
  3. Living with a Wild God: A... New Trade Paper $16.00

Related Subjects

Children's » Science Fiction and Fantasy » General
Fiction and Poetry » Literature » A to Z
Fiction and Poetry » Literature » Contemporary Women
Fiction and Poetry » Romance » Contemporary

Golden State Used Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$9.95 In Stock
Product details 304 pages Bantam Books for Young Readers - English 9780385343282 Reviews:
spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.