Master your Minecraft
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Tour our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    The Powell's Playlist | October 21, 2014

    Anne Rice: IMG The Powell’s Playlist: Anne Rice



    These are the songs that wake me up, take me out of my worries and anxieties, wash my brain cells, and send me to the keyboard to write with new... Continue »

    spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$17.95
List price: $25.95
Used Hardcover
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
2 Burnside MEMOIR- WELLNESS

More copies of this ISBN

Cut Me Loose: Sin and Salvation After My Ultra-Orthodox Girlhood

by

Cut Me Loose: Sin and Salvation After My Ultra-Orthodox Girlhood Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

In the vein of Prozac Nation and Girl, Interrupted, an electrifying memoir about a young woman's promiscuous and self-destructive spiral after being cast out of her ultra-Orthodox Jewish family

Leah Vincent was born into the Yeshivish community, a fundamentalist sect of ultra-Orthodox Judaism. As the daughter of an influential rabbi, Leah and her ten siblings were raised to worship two things: God and the men who ruled their world. But the tradition-bound future Leah envisioned for herself was cut short when, at sixteen, she was caught exchanging letters with a male friend, a violation of religious law that forbids contact between members of the opposite sex. Leah's parents were unforgiving. Afraid, in part, that her behavior would affect the marriage prospects of their other children, they put her on a plane and cut off ties. Cast out in New York City, without a father or husband tethering her to the Orthodox community, Leah was unprepared to navigate the freedoms of secular life. She spent the next few years using her sexuality as a way of attracting the male approval she had been conditioned to seek out as a child, while becoming increasingly unfaithful to the religious dogma of her past. Fast-paced, mesmerizing, and brutally honest, Cut Me Loose tells the story of one woman's harrowing struggle to define herself as an individual. Through Leah's eyes, we confront not only the oppressive world of religious fundamentalism, but also the broader issues that face even the most secular young women as they grapple with sexuality and identity.

Synopsis:

Leah Vincent is a writer and activist. The first person in her family to go to college, she went on to earn a master's in public policy from the Harvard Kennedy School. In addition to writing for various publications, including The Huffington Post and The Jewish Daily Forward, she is an advocate for reform within ultra-Orthodoxy and for the empowerment of former ultra-Orthodox Jews seeking a self-determined life. She works with Footsteps, the only organization in the United States supporting formerly ultra-Orthodox individuals.

Product Details

ISBN:
9780385538091
Author:
Vincent, Leah
Publisher:
Nan A. Talese
Subject:
Biography - General
Subject:
memoir;religion;Jewish;Hasidic;Hasidim;Hasidism;Judaism;New York;Brooklyn;Jews;sex;OTD;Harvard;religious extremism;Pittsburgh;prostitute;Orthodox Judaism;sociology;autobiography;cutting;coming of age;teen
Publication Date:
20140131
Binding:
HARDCOVER
Language:
English
Pages:
240
Dimensions:
8.63 x 5.95 in 0.92 lb

Other books you might like

  1. Never Tell Our Business to... Used Hardcover $12.95
  2. Blinding Light: A Novel Used Hardcover $5.50
  3. There Are No Children Here: The...
    Used Trade Paper $4.50
  4. Kaffir Boy: The True Story of a...
    Used Trade Paper $3.95
  5. The Elephanta Suite Sale Trade Paper $7.98
  6. Unaccustomed Earth
    Used Hardcover $6.95

Related Subjects

Biography » General
Health and Self-Help » Psychology » General
Health and Self-Help » Self-Help » Memoirs
History and Social Science » Gender Studies » Womens Studies
Religion » Judaism » Orthodox

Cut Me Loose: Sin and Salvation After My Ultra-Orthodox Girlhood Used Hardcover
0 stars - 0 reviews
$17.95 In Stock
Product details 240 pages Nan A. Talese - English 9780385538091 Reviews:
"Synopsis" by , Leah Vincent is a writer and activist. The first person in her family to go to college, she went on to earn a master's in public policy from the Harvard Kennedy School. In addition to writing for various publications, including The Huffington Post and The Jewish Daily Forward, she is an advocate for reform within ultra-Orthodoxy and for the empowerment of former ultra-Orthodox Jews seeking a self-determined life. She works with Footsteps, the only organization in the United States supporting formerly ultra-Orthodox individuals.
spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.