Murakami Sale
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


The Powell's Playlist | August 6, 2014

Graham Joyce: IMG The Powell’s Playlist: Graham Joyce



The Ghost in the Electric Blue Suit is set on the English coast in the hot summer of 1976, so the music in this playlist is pretty much all from the... Continue »
  1. $17.47 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$12.50
List price: $17.99
Used Hardcover
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
2 Beaverton Children's Young Adult- General
1 Burnside Children's Young Adult- General

More copies of this ISBN

Nine Days

by

Nine Days Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

A fast-paced contemporary thriller in the vein of James Patterson and Anthony Horowitz set against the bustling backdrop of Hong Kong, Vietnam, and the border of China. This heart-pounding adventure takes place as two teens, an American teenage boy and his friend, a Chinese girl from his Washington, DC-area high school, must find her father who has been kidnapped—and they only have nine days. Although the characters in the novel are fictionalized, they are based on a real Chinese family who were part of the Chinese Democracy Movement and inspired this story.

Review:

"Washington Post editor Hiatt draws inspiration from actual events in this tense tale of international intrigue. Sophomore Ethan Wynkoop's interest in China leads him to befriend Ti-Anna Chen, whose father is an exiled Chinese activist. When Ti-Anna's father goes missing while visiting Hong Kong, Ethan and Ti-Anna embark on a bold, foolhardy plan to track him down. Using forged documents and a borrowed credit card, they travel across the world, their search taking them to Hong Kong, and later to Vietnam. As they unravel the secret of Mr. Chen's disappearance, they get caught up in a human trafficking operation that could spell the end to their journey. Detail-rich and character-driven, this story showcases issues like human rights violations and slavery; abundant references to Chinese political history saturate Hiatt's prose, but the narrative avoids becoming overly erudite, balancing education and adventure. Even the hard-to-swallow elements — namely, how the teens get as far as they do — are handled believably and with repercussions. A captivating thriller grounded in real-world problems. Ages 12 — up. Agent: Raphael Sagalyn, Sagalyn Literary Agency. (Apr.)" Publishers Weekly Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.

About the Author

FRED HIATT is the editorial page editor of The Washington Post. He writes editorials for the newspaper as well as a biweekly column.

Product Details

ISBN:
9780385742733
Author:
Hiatt, Fred
Publisher:
Delacorte Press Books for Young Readers
Subject:
Children s Middle Readers-General
Subject:
School & Education
Publication Date:
20130431
Binding:
HARDCOVER
Grade Level:
from 7
Language:
English
Pages:
256
Dimensions:
8.52 x 6.2 x 0.97 in 0.79 lb
Age Level:
from 12

Other books you might like

  1. Modelland (Modelland) Used Hardcover $4.50
  2. All the Right Stuff New Trade Paper $9.99
  3. Shatter Me (Shatter Me)
    Used Hardcover $11.50
  4. Overboard
    Used Mass Market $5.95
  5. Spellcaster (Spellcaster)
    New Trade Paper $9.99
  6. Monument 14
    Sale Trade Paper $4.98

Related Subjects

Children's » Action and Adventure » Adventure Stories
Children's » General
Children's » Middle Readers » General
Children's » Science Fiction and Fantasy » General
Young Adult » Fiction » Social Issues » Friendship
Young Adult » General

Nine Days Used Hardcover
0 stars - 0 reviews
$12.50 In Stock
Product details 256 pages Delacorte Press Books for Young Readers - English 9780385742733 Reviews:
"Publishers Weekly Review" by , "Washington Post editor Hiatt draws inspiration from actual events in this tense tale of international intrigue. Sophomore Ethan Wynkoop's interest in China leads him to befriend Ti-Anna Chen, whose father is an exiled Chinese activist. When Ti-Anna's father goes missing while visiting Hong Kong, Ethan and Ti-Anna embark on a bold, foolhardy plan to track him down. Using forged documents and a borrowed credit card, they travel across the world, their search taking them to Hong Kong, and later to Vietnam. As they unravel the secret of Mr. Chen's disappearance, they get caught up in a human trafficking operation that could spell the end to their journey. Detail-rich and character-driven, this story showcases issues like human rights violations and slavery; abundant references to Chinese political history saturate Hiatt's prose, but the narrative avoids becoming overly erudite, balancing education and adventure. Even the hard-to-swallow elements — namely, how the teens get as far as they do — are handled believably and with repercussions. A captivating thriller grounded in real-world problems. Ages 12 — up. Agent: Raphael Sagalyn, Sagalyn Literary Agency. (Apr.)" Publishers Weekly Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.
spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.