The Fictioning Horror Sale
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Interviews | September 2, 2014

Jill Owens: IMG David Mitchell: The Powells.com Interview



David MitchellDavid Mitchell's newest mind-bending, time-skipping novel may be his most accomplished work yet. Written in six sections, one per decade, The Bone... Continue »
  1. $21.00 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

    The Bone Clocks

    David Mitchell 9781400065677

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$11.95
List price: $17.99
Used Hardcover
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Hawthorne Children's Young Adult- General

This title in other editions

Other titles in the Many-Worlds Trilogy series:

Tandem: The Many-Worlds Trilogy, Book I (Many-Worlds Trilogy)

by

Tandem: The Many-Worlds Trilogy, Book I (Many-Worlds Trilogy) Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

Fans of Matched, Across the Universe, and The Hunger Games will love this captivating tale of rebellion and romance that spans parallel worlds.

Everything repeats.

You. Your best friend. Every person you know.

Many worlds, many lives--infinite possibilities.

Welcome to the multiverse.

Sixteen-year-old Sasha Lawson has only ever known one small, ordinary life. When she was young, she loved her grandfather's stories of parallel worlds, inhabited by girls who looked like her but led totally different lives. Sasha never believed such worlds were real—until now, when she finds herself thrust into one against her will.

o prevent imminent war, Sasha must slip into the life of an alternate version of herself, a princess who has vanished on the eve of her arranged marriage. If Sasha succeeds in fooling everyone, she will be returned home; if she fails, she'll be trapped in another girl's life forever. As time runs out, Sasha finds herself torn between two worlds, two lives, and two young men vying for her love—one who knows her secret, and one who believes she's someone she's not.  

 

Review:

"Past the offhand references to theoretical physics, the first installment of Jarzab's Many-Worlds trilogy features a standard romantic suspense plot and dated gender roles. Sasha Lawson, 16, has been dreaming she is a princess her whole life — Princess Juliana, to be exact, from a world subtly different from our own. Little does she suspect that this twin, or 'analog,' and world actually exist, in a parallel universe. Thomas Mayhew is the royal agent who travels from Aurora to Earth to kidnap Sasha, because Princess Juliana has gone missing before her imminent wedding; the political ramifications, should she fail to reappear, have driven the regime to desperate measures. Thomas is the analog of Sasha's longtime crush, Grant, so it's a simple matter to steal her back to Aurora by taking his place and asking her to prom. Sasha has the stereotypical princess skills down — she screams, cries, begs, runs away, faints, and crumbles in the face of bullying. The novel's romantic elements may keep some readers invested, but Sasha's situation is, in her words, 'very telenovela.' Ages 12 — up. Agent: Joanna MacKenzie, Browne & Miller Literary Associates." Publishers Weekly Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.

Synopsis:

ANNA JARZAB is the author of two previous novels, All Unquiet Things and The Opposite of Hallelujah. She lives in New York City and works in children’s book publishing. Visit her at annajarzab.com or follow @ajarzab on Twitter.

About the Author

ANNA JARZAB's previous YA novels are The Opposite of Hallelujah and All Unquiet Things. 

Product Details

ISBN:
9780385742771
Author:
Jarzab, Anna
Publisher:
Delacorte Press
Subject:
Science Fiction, Fantasy, & Magic
Subject:
Children s-General
Series:
Many-Worlds Trilogy
Publication Date:
20131031
Binding:
HARDCOVER
Grade Level:
from 7
Language:
English
Pages:
448
Dimensions:
8.6 x 6 x 1.5 in 1.2 lb
Age Level:
from 12

Related Subjects

Children's » General
Children's » Science Fiction and Fantasy » General
Young Adult » General

Tandem: The Many-Worlds Trilogy, Book I (Many-Worlds Trilogy) Used Hardcover
0 stars - 0 reviews
$11.95 In Stock
Product details 448 pages Delacorte Press - English 9780385742771 Reviews:
"Publishers Weekly Review" by , "Past the offhand references to theoretical physics, the first installment of Jarzab's Many-Worlds trilogy features a standard romantic suspense plot and dated gender roles. Sasha Lawson, 16, has been dreaming she is a princess her whole life — Princess Juliana, to be exact, from a world subtly different from our own. Little does she suspect that this twin, or 'analog,' and world actually exist, in a parallel universe. Thomas Mayhew is the royal agent who travels from Aurora to Earth to kidnap Sasha, because Princess Juliana has gone missing before her imminent wedding; the political ramifications, should she fail to reappear, have driven the regime to desperate measures. Thomas is the analog of Sasha's longtime crush, Grant, so it's a simple matter to steal her back to Aurora by taking his place and asking her to prom. Sasha has the stereotypical princess skills down — she screams, cries, begs, runs away, faints, and crumbles in the face of bullying. The novel's romantic elements may keep some readers invested, but Sasha's situation is, in her words, 'very telenovela.' Ages 12 — up. Agent: Joanna MacKenzie, Browne & Miller Literary Associates." Publishers Weekly Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.
"Synopsis" by , ANNA JARZAB is the author of two previous novels, All Unquiet Things and The Opposite of Hallelujah. She lives in New York City and works in children’s book publishing. Visit her at annajarzab.com or follow @ajarzab on Twitter.
spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.