Murakami Sale
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


The Powell's Playlist | August 6, 2014

Graham Joyce: IMG The Powell’s Playlist: Graham Joyce



The Ghost in the Electric Blue Suit is set on the English coast in the hot summer of 1976, so the music in this playlist is pretty much all from the... Continue »
  1. $17.47 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$11.95
List price: $16.99
Used Hardcover
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
2 Burnside Children's Middle Readers- General

More copies of this ISBN

Listening for Lucca

by

Listening for Lucca Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Review:

"At night, 13-year-old Siena has dreams about a house overlooking the ocean, as well as wartime imagery including plane crashes and sinking ships; scarier still, visions of the past are bleeding into Siena's waking life. As a result, Siena has alienated her friends and taken to collecting abandoned objects. Meanwhile, Siena's three-year-old brother, Lucca, hasn't spoken in a year and a half, and her parents move the family from Brooklyn to Maine (into a house that resembles the one from Siena's dreams) in hopes that both children's behavior will return to normal. But the grand old house on Ocean Drive feels haunted, and although Siena makes new friends, her attention is drawn back to her worries and the discovery that her visions and dreams are tied to Sarah, a girl who lived in the house during WWII. Questions of how Sarah is connected to Siena and whether Lucca will speak again swirl throughout this insightful, delicate tale. LaFleur (Eight Keys) offers an enticing blend of history, mystery, and family, perfect for fans of Rebecca Stead's When You Reach Me. Ages 8 — 12. Agent: Elizabeth Harding, Curtis Brown." Publishers Weekly (Starred Review) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.

About the Author

SUZANNE LAFLEUR received her MFA in writing for children from The New School. This is her third novel.

Product Details

ISBN:
9780385742993
Author:
Lafleur, Suzanne
Publisher:
Wendy Lamb Books
Author:
LaFleur, Suzanne
Author:
LaFleur, Suzanne M.
Subject:
Family - General
Subject:
Children s-General
Publication Date:
20130831
Binding:
HARDCOVER
Grade Level:
from 4 up to 7
Language:
English
Pages:
240
Dimensions:
8.5 x 5.75 x 0.91 in 0.775 lb
Age Level:
from 9 up to 12

Related Subjects

Children's » General
Children's » Historical Fiction » United States » 20th Century
Children's » Middle Readers » General
Young Adult » Fiction » Social Issues » Friendship

Listening for Lucca Used Hardcover
0 stars - 0 reviews
$11.95 In Stock
Product details 240 pages Wendy Lamb Books - English 9780385742993 Reviews:
"Publishers Weekly Review" by , "At night, 13-year-old Siena has dreams about a house overlooking the ocean, as well as wartime imagery including plane crashes and sinking ships; scarier still, visions of the past are bleeding into Siena's waking life. As a result, Siena has alienated her friends and taken to collecting abandoned objects. Meanwhile, Siena's three-year-old brother, Lucca, hasn't spoken in a year and a half, and her parents move the family from Brooklyn to Maine (into a house that resembles the one from Siena's dreams) in hopes that both children's behavior will return to normal. But the grand old house on Ocean Drive feels haunted, and although Siena makes new friends, her attention is drawn back to her worries and the discovery that her visions and dreams are tied to Sarah, a girl who lived in the house during WWII. Questions of how Sarah is connected to Siena and whether Lucca will speak again swirl throughout this insightful, delicate tale. LaFleur (Eight Keys) offers an enticing blend of history, mystery, and family, perfect for fans of Rebecca Stead's When You Reach Me. Ages 8 — 12. Agent: Elizabeth Harding, Curtis Brown." Publishers Weekly (Starred Review) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.
spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.