The Fictioning Horror Sale
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Original Essays | September 15, 2014

Lois Leveen: IMG Forsooth Me Not: Shakespeare, Juliet, Her Nurse, and a Novel



There's this writer, William Shakespeare. Perhaps you've heard of him. He wrote this play, Romeo and Juliet. Maybe you've heard of it as well. It's... Continue »
  1. $18.19 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

    Juliet's Nurse

    Lois Leveen 9781476757445

spacer

A History of Rome Under the Emperors (Routledge Key Guides)

by

A History of Rome Under the Emperors (Routledge Key Guides) Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

Theodor Mommsen (d. 1903) was one of the greatest of Roman historians, and the only one ever to be awarded the Nobel prize for literature. His fame rests on his "History of Rome" as well as his work on Roman law and on the Roman provinces. But the work that would have concluded his history of Rome--which ran to the reign of Augustus--was never completed. This book represents that great lost work. <BR> In 1980 Alexander Demandt discovered in an antiquarian bookshop a full and detailed handwritten transcript of the lectures on the Roman Empire, which Mommsen gave for many years from 1863 to 1886, made by two of his students. This transcript has been edited to provide the authoritative reconstruction of the book Mommsen never wrote, "A History of Rome Under Emperors." <BR> Barbara and Alexander Demandt have carefully edited the text and provided detailed annotation and explanatory references. For the English edition, Dr. Thomas Wiedemann has written an introduction which surveys Mommsen's position and influence in nineteenth century German scholarship and introduces his work for English speaking readers. <BR> This book caused a sensation when it was published in Germany in 1992, and was front page news in many newspapers. For readers of English, it will be an authoritative survey of four centuries of Roman history, and a unique window on the German tradition of the last century.

Synopsis:

A History of Rome Under the Emperors provides an authoritative survey of four centuries of Roman history, and a unique window on German thought in the last century. It caused a sensation when it was published in Germany in 1992, and was front page news in many newspapers. Now in an English paperback edition, this book represents the great lost work of Theodor Mommsen (d. 1903) — one of the greatest Roman historians of the nineteenth century, and the only one ever to be awarded the Nobel Prize for Literature.

A History of Rome Under the Emperors is the work that would have concluded Mommsen's history of Rome, but was never completed. This transcript of his lectures given from 1863 to 1886, made by two of his students, was discovered in 1980. It has now been edited to provide the authoritative reconstruction of the book Mommsen never wrote.

Product Details

ISBN:
9780415206471
Author:
Mommsen, Theodore
Publisher:
Routledge
Author:
Mommsen Theodor
Subject:
Ancient - Rome
Subject:
Rome
Subject:
Empire, 30 b.c.-476 a.d.
Subject:
World History-Ancient Near East
Series:
Routledge Key Guides
Publication Date:
19990631
Binding:
TRADE PAPER
Language:
English
Illustrations:
Y
Pages:
656
Dimensions:
9.19x6.23x1.17 in. 1.86 lbs.

Other books you might like

  1. The Heart of Addiction: A New... Used Trade Paper $8.00
  2. Blue Gold Used Trade Paper $4.95
  3. Disarming Iraq Used Hardcover $3.50
  4. Representing the English Renaissance Used Trade Paper $8.50
  5. The Jew, the Arab: A History of the... Used Trade Paper $21.00
  6. Silent Spring
    Used Trade Paper $8.00

Related Subjects

History and Social Science » Western Civilization » Ancient Rome
History and Social Science » World History » Ancient Near East
History and Social Science » World History » General

A History of Rome Under the Emperors (Routledge Key Guides) New Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$57.75 In Stock
Product details 656 pages Routledge - English 9780415206471 Reviews:
"Synopsis" by , A History of Rome Under the Emperors provides an authoritative survey of four centuries of Roman history, and a unique window on German thought in the last century. It caused a sensation when it was published in Germany in 1992, and was front page news in many newspapers. Now in an English paperback edition, this book represents the great lost work of Theodor Mommsen (d. 1903) — one of the greatest Roman historians of the nineteenth century, and the only one ever to be awarded the Nobel Prize for Literature.

A History of Rome Under the Emperors is the work that would have concluded Mommsen's history of Rome, but was never completed. This transcript of his lectures given from 1863 to 1886, made by two of his students, was discovered in 1980. It has now been edited to provide the authoritative reconstruction of the book Mommsen never wrote.

spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.