Mega Dose
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Original Essays | September 30, 2014

Benjamin Parzybok: IMG A Brief History of Video Games Played by Mayors, Presidents, and Emperors



Brandon Bartlett, the fictional mayor of Portland in my novel Sherwood Nation, is addicted to playing video games. In a city he's all but lost... Continue »

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$5.95
List price: $7.99
Used Mass Market
Usually ships in 5 to 7 business days
Add to Wishlist
available for shipping or prepaid pickup only
Qty Store Section
1 Remote Warehouse General- General

More copies of this ISBN

Shem Creek: A Lowcountry Tale

by

Shem Creek: A Lowcountry Tale Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

Pat Conroy has called her books “hilarious and wise”, noting that they are “funny, sexy and usually damp with sea water.” Anne Rivers Siddons said of Sullivans Island that it “roared with life.” Now Dorothea Benton Frank takes us back to the Lowcountry to introduce a whole new cast of characters whose lives will surely move your heart.

Linda Breland has no experience managing a restaurant, but then neither did Brad Jackson, and he owns the place.

Meet Linda Breland, single parent of two teenage daughters. The oldest, Lindsey, who always held her younger sister in check, is leaving for college. And Gracie, her Tasmanian devil, is giving her nightmares. Linda’s personal life? Well, between the married men, the cold New Jersey winters, her pinched wallet and her ex-husband who marries a beautiful, successful woman ten years younger than she is—let’s just say, Linda has seen enough to fill a thousand pages.

As the story opens, she is barreling down Interstate 95, bound for Mount Pleasant, South Carolina, the land of her ancestors. Welcomed by the generous heart of her advice dispensing sister, Mimi, Linda and her daughters slowly begin to find their way and discover a sweeter rhythm of life.

And then there’s Brad Jackson, a former investment banker of Atlanta, Georgia who hires her to run his restaurant on Shem Creek. Like everyone else, Brad’s got a story of his own—namely an almost ex-wife, Loretta who is the kind of gal who gives women a bad name.

The real protagonist of this story is the Lowcountry itself. The magical waters of Shem Creek, the abundant wildlife and the astounding power of nature give this tiny corner of the planet its infallible reputation as a place for introspection, contemplation and healing.

As in all her previous work, you’ll find Shem Creek to be compulsively readable, irreverent but warm and blazingly authentic—and you’ll dread reaching the last page. It is her vivid writing, colorful characters and rich narrative that have made Dorothea Benton Frank one of our nation’s greatest storytellers. Shem Creek is a triumphant novel that proves we are all entitled to a second chance. The challenge is to learn how to recognize it when it comes and to know which chance to take.

Synopsis:

Fans of "Sullivan's Island" and "Plantation" won't be disappointed by Dorothea Benton Frank's newest Lowcountry Tale. The novel features a New Jersey woman and a man from Atlanta who both relocate their families to Shem Creek, South Carolina, to restart their lives.

Synopsis:

Frank's newest "New York Times" bestselling Low Country tale features a New Jersey woman and a man from Atlanta who both relocate their families to Shem Creek, South Carolina, to restart their lives.

Synopsis:

The new novel from the originator of the Lowcountry Tale.

Product Details

ISBN:
9780425203873
Author:
Frank, Dorothea Benton
Publisher:
Berkley Books
Subject:
General
Subject:
General Fiction
Subject:
Family saga
Subject:
Literature-A to Z
Edition Description:
Trade paper
Series:
Lowcountry Tales
Publication Date:
20050631
Binding:
MASS MARKET
Grade Level:
from 12
Language:
English
Pages:
384
Dimensions:
6.89x4.03x1.05 in. .39 lbs.
Age Level:
from 18

Other books you might like

  1. Full of Grace Used Trade Paper $6.95
  2. Isle of Palms Used Trade Paper $5.95
  3. Pawleys Island (Lowcountry Tales) Used Trade Paper $4.95
  4. Sweetgrass Used Mass Market $3.50
  5. Sullivan's Island: A Lowcountry Tale Used Mass Market $3.50
  6. The Book Club Used Trade Paper $6.50

Related Subjects

Fiction and Poetry » Literature » A to Z
Fiction and Poetry » Romance » Contemporary
Fiction and Poetry » Romance » Dollar Books
Fiction and Poetry » Romance » General

Shem Creek: A Lowcountry Tale Used Mass Market
0 stars - 0 reviews
$5.95 In Stock
Product details 384 pages Berkley Publishing Group - English 9780425203873 Reviews:
"Synopsis" by , Fans of "Sullivan's Island" and "Plantation" won't be disappointed by Dorothea Benton Frank's newest Lowcountry Tale. The novel features a New Jersey woman and a man from Atlanta who both relocate their families to Shem Creek, South Carolina, to restart their lives.
"Synopsis" by , Frank's newest "New York Times" bestselling Low Country tale features a New Jersey woman and a man from Atlanta who both relocate their families to Shem Creek, South Carolina, to restart their lives.
"Synopsis" by , The new novel from the originator of the Lowcountry Tale.
spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.