Dreadfully Ever After Sale
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Original Essays | September 30, 2014

Brian Doyle: IMG The Rude Burl of Our Masks



One day when I was 12 years old and setting off on my newspaper route after school my mom said will you stop at the doctor's and pick up something... Continue »
  1. $13.27 Sale Trade Paper add to wish list

    Children and Other Wild Animals

    Brian Doyle 9780870717543

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$10.50
List price: $15.00
Used Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Local Warehouse Mystery- A to Z

Helsinki White (An Inspector Vaara Novel)

by

Helsinki White (An Inspector Vaara Novel) Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

Inspector Kari Vaara, recovering from brain surgery, is back to doing police work — under circumstances most cops only dream of. Reporting directly to the national chief of police, Kari and his partners Milo and Sulo have been granted secrecy and autonomy for their new black-ops unit, and plenty of cash to work with, including whatever they can steal from Helsinki’s mobsters.

But Kari's team is too good, and their actions have unintended consequences... The president of Finland wants the team on a new case: the vicious assassination of a prominent immigrants' rights activist. Against a backdrop of simmering hatred spreading across the country, Kari must solve a case that involves the kidnapping of a billionaire’s children, a Faustian bargain with a former French Legionnaire — and his own wife.

Review:

"A must-read for fans of Stieg Larsson and Henning Mankell." Booklist

Synopsis:

Inspector Kari Vaara, recovering from brain surgery, is back to doing police work—under circumstances most cops only dream of. Reporting directly to the national chief of police, Kari and his partners Milo and Sulo have been granted secrecy and autonomy for their new black-ops unit, and plenty of cash to work with, including whatever they can steal from Helsinki’s mobsters.
 
But Kari's team is too good, and their actions have unintended consequences...The president of Finland wants the team on a new case: the vicious assassination of a prominent immigrants' rights activist. Against a backdrop of simmering hatred spreading across the country, Kari must solve a case that involves the kidnapping of a billionaire’s children, a Faustian bargain with a former French Legionnaire—and his own wife.

About the Author

James Thompson, eastern Kentucky-born and –raised, has lived in Finland for more than a dozen years; he now resides in Helsinki with his wife. His debut novel, Snow Angels, was selected as a Booklist Best Crime Novel Debut of the Year and was nominated for Edgar®, Anthony, and Strand Magazine critics awards. Before becoming a full-time writer, Thompson studied Finnish — in which he is fluent — and Swedish, and worked as a bartender, bouncer, construction worker and soldier. He is also the author of Lucifer's Tears, also in the Inspector Vaara series.

Product Details

ISBN:
9780425253441
Author:
Thompson, James
Publisher:
Berkley Trade
Subject:
Thrillers
Subject:
Popular Fiction-Contemporary Thrillers
Edition Description:
Trade Paper
Series:
An Inspector Vaara Novel
Publication Date:
20130205
Binding:
Paperback
Grade Level:
from 12
Language:
English
Pages:
368
Dimensions:
8.03 x 5.2 x 0.98 in 0.61 lb
Age Level:
from 18

Other books you might like

  1. Pig Island Used Mass Market $4.95
  2. A Wanted Man Used Hardcover $3.50
  3. Still Life with Crows
    Used Mass Market $3.50
  4. Death at La Fenice
    Used Trade Paper $6.95
  5. Reality Dysfunction #01: the Reality...
    Used Mass Market $4.50

Related Subjects

Fiction and Poetry » Mystery » A to Z
Fiction and Poetry » Popular Fiction » Contemporary Thrillers

Helsinki White (An Inspector Vaara Novel) Used Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$10.50 In Stock
Product details 368 pages Berkley Publishing Group - English 9780425253441 Reviews:
"Review" by , "A must-read for fans of Stieg Larsson and Henning Mankell."
"Synopsis" by ,
Inspector Kari Vaara, recovering from brain surgery, is back to doing police work—under circumstances most cops only dream of. Reporting directly to the national chief of police, Kari and his partners Milo and Sulo have been granted secrecy and autonomy for their new black-ops unit, and plenty of cash to work with, including whatever they can steal from Helsinki’s mobsters.
 
But Kari's team is too good, and their actions have unintended consequences...The president of Finland wants the team on a new case: the vicious assassination of a prominent immigrants' rights activist. Against a backdrop of simmering hatred spreading across the country, Kari must solve a case that involves the kidnapping of a billionaire’s children, a Faustian bargain with a former French Legionnaire—and his own wife.
spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.