Warriors B2G1 Free
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Visit our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    Q&A | May 11, 2015

    Heidi Pitlor: IMG Powell’s Q&A: Heidi Pitlor



    Describe your latest book. My novel, The Daylight Marriage, is about a wife and mother who goes missing one day. The narrative alternates between... Continue »
    1. $17.47 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

      The Daylight Marriage

      Heidi Pitlor 9781616203689

    spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$3.95
List price: $6.99
Used Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Beaverton Children's- Newbery Award Winners

Rules (Apple Signature)

by

Rules (Apple Signature) Cover

ISBN13: 9780439443838
ISBN10: 0439443830
Condition: Standard
All Product Details

Only 1 left in stock at $3.95!

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

From the author of the National Book Award nominee A TANGLE OF KNOTS comes an inspiring novel about figuring out who you are and doing what you love.

Albie has never been the smartest kid in his class. He has never been the tallest. Or the best at gym. Or the greatest artist. Or the most musical. In fact, Albie has a long list of the things he's not very good at. But then Albie gets a new babysitter, Calista, who helps him figure out all of the things he is good at and how he can take pride in himself.

A perfect companion to Lisa Graff's National Book Award-nominated A Tangle of Knots, this novel explores a similar theme in a realistic contemporary world where kids will easily be able to relate their own struggles to Albie's. Great for fans of Rebecca Stead's Liar and Spy, RJ Palacio's Wonder and Cynthia Lord's Rules.

Praise for Lisa Graff's novels

Tangle of Knots (nominated for a National Book Award)

* "Combining the literary sensibility of E. B. White with the insouciance of Louis Sachar, Graff has written a tangle that should satisfy readers for years to come."--Booklist, starred review

Double Dog Dare

"Graff's...story is lighthearted and humorous, but honestly addresses the emotions associated with divorce. Her characters' voices, interactions, and hangups are relatable, as they battle each other and adjust to their families' reconfigurations."--Publishers Weekly

Synopsis:

From the award winning author of Fat Kid Rules the World and The Liberation of Gabriel King comes a lyrical, middle grade gem that asks all the hard questions and hits all the right notes--perfect for fans of Cynthia Rylant and Mockingbird by Kathryn Erskine

Tia lives with her mom in a high-risk neighborhood in New Orleans and loves singing gospel in the Rainbow Choir with Keisha, her boisterous and assertive best friend. Tia's dream is to change the world with her voice; and by all accounts, she might be talented enough. But when a shooting happens in her neighborhood and she learns the truth about the crime that sent her father to prison years ago, Tia finds she can't sing anymore. The loss prompts her to start asking the people in her community hard questions--questions everyone has always been too afraid to ask.

Full of humanity, Pieces of Why is a timely story that addresses grief, healing, and forgiveness, told through the eyes of a gifted girl who hears rhythm and song everywhere in her life.

Synopsis:

SOLVING CRIME, ONE FACIAL EXPRESSION AT A TIME

Colin Fischer cannot stand to be touched. He does not like the color blue. He needs index cards to recognize facial expressions.

But when a gun is found in the school cafeteria, interrupting a female classmate's birthday celebration, Colin is the only for the investigation. It's up to him to prove that Wayne Connelly, the school bully and Colin's frequent tormenter, didn't bring the gun to school. After all, Wayne didn't have frosting on his hands, and there was white chocolate frosting found on the grip of the smoking gun...

Colin Fischer is a modern-day Sherlock Holmes, and his story--as told by the screenwriters of X-Men: First Class and Thor--is perfect for readers who have graduated from Encyclopedia Brown and who are ready to consider the greatest mystery of all: what other people are thinking and feeling.

About the Author

Ashley Edward Miller and Zack Stentz met on the Internet, a consequence of their mutual love of all things Star Trek. Together, Miller and Stentz have written and/or produced over a hundred hours of television. Most recently, they co-wrote the films X-Men: First Class and Thor. Upcoming projects include Fox's series adaptation of Lev Grossman's The Magicians. Miller and Stentz both live in Los Angeles.

What Our Readers Are Saying

Add a comment for a chance to win!
Average customer rating based on 1 comment:

mariposamarie, January 1, 2009 (view all comments by mariposamarie)
Well-developed, true-to-life characters make this a good, thought-provoking tale about a girl trying to deal with her brother's autism. This book deserves applause.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(0 of 2 readers found this comment helpful)

Product Details

ISBN:
9780439443838
Author:
Lord, Cynthia
Publisher:
Scholastic Paperbacks
Author:
Stentz, Zack
Author:
Graff, Lisa
Author:
Going, K. L.
Author:
Miller, Ashley Edward
Subject:
Family - Siblings
Subject:
Social Issues - General
Subject:
Brothers and sisters
Subject:
Autism
Subject:
People with disabilities
Subject:
Children s Young Adult-Social Issue Fiction-General
Subject:
Children s Young Adult-Social Issue Fiction
Subject:
General Juvenile Fiction
Subject:
Situations / Special Needs
Subject:
Situations / Friendship
Subject:
Situations / Violence
Edition Description:
Hardback
Series:
Colin Fischer
Series Volume:
1
Publication Date:
20080931
Binding:
TRADE PAPER
Grade Level:
from 3 up to 7
Language:
English
Illustrations:
Y
Pages:
224
Dimensions:
7.63 x 5.25 in
Age Level:
09-12

Other books you might like

  1. The Miraculous Journey of Edward Tulane
    Used Trade Paper $5.50
  2. Gossamer
    Used Trade Paper $4.50
  3. Room One: A Mystery or Two Used Trade Paper $4.50
  4. Clementine (Clementine)
    Used Trade Paper $3.50
  5. To Dance: A Ballerina's Graphic Novel
    Used Trade Paper $5.95
  6. The Year of the Dog Used Trade Paper $4.00

Related Subjects

Children's » Awards » Newbery Award Winners
Children's » Middle Readers » Newbery Award Winners
Children's » Oregon Battle of the Books
Children's » Situations » General
Fiction and Poetry » Literature » A to Z
Young Adult » Fiction » Newbery Award Winners
Young Adult » General

Rules (Apple Signature) Used Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$3.95 In Stock
Product details 224 pages Scholastic Paperbacks - English 9780439443838 Reviews:
"Synopsis" by ,
From the award winning author of Fat Kid Rules the World and The Liberation of Gabriel King comes a lyrical, middle grade gem that asks all the hard questions and hits all the right notes--perfect for fans of Cynthia Rylant and Mockingbird by Kathryn Erskine

Tia lives with her mom in a high-risk neighborhood in New Orleans and loves singing gospel in the Rainbow Choir with Keisha, her boisterous and assertive best friend. Tia's dream is to change the world with her voice; and by all accounts, she might be talented enough. But when a shooting happens in her neighborhood and she learns the truth about the crime that sent her father to prison years ago, Tia finds she can't sing anymore. The loss prompts her to start asking the people in her community hard questions--questions everyone has always been too afraid to ask.

Full of humanity, Pieces of Why is a timely story that addresses grief, healing, and forgiveness, told through the eyes of a gifted girl who hears rhythm and song everywhere in her life.

"Synopsis" by ,
SOLVING CRIME, ONE FACIAL EXPRESSION AT A TIME

Colin Fischer cannot stand to be touched. He does not like the color blue. He needs index cards to recognize facial expressions.

But when a gun is found in the school cafeteria, interrupting a female classmate's birthday celebration, Colin is the only for the investigation. It's up to him to prove that Wayne Connelly, the school bully and Colin's frequent tormenter, didn't bring the gun to school. After all, Wayne didn't have frosting on his hands, and there was white chocolate frosting found on the grip of the smoking gun...

Colin Fischer is a modern-day Sherlock Holmes, and his story--as told by the screenwriters of X-Men: First Class and Thor--is perfect for readers who have graduated from Encyclopedia Brown and who are ready to consider the greatest mystery of all: what other people are thinking and feeling.

spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.