The Fictioning
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Tour our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    Original Essays | September 17, 2014

    Merritt Tierce: IMG Has My Husband Read It?



    My first novel, Love Me Back, was published on September 16. Writing the book took seven years, and along the way three chapters were published in... Continue »

    spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$10.50
List price: $15.00
Used Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Beaverton Literature- A to Z
1 Burnside Literature- A to Z
1 Hawthorne Literature- A to Z

More copies of this ISBN

Invisible (Random House Reader's Circle)

by

Invisible (Random House Reader's Circle) Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

Perfect for fans of Jodi Picoult, Carla Buckley’s Invisible is a stunning novel of redemption, regret, and the complex ties of familial love.

 

Growing up, Dana Carlson and her older sister, Julie, are inseparable—Dana the impulsive one, Julie calmer and more nurturing. But then a devastating secret compels Dana to flee from home, not to see or speak to her sister for sixteen years.

 

When she receives the news that Julie is seriously ill, Dana knows that she must return to their hometown of Black Bear, Minnesota, to try and save her sister. Yet she arrives too late, only to discover that Black Bear has changed, and so have the people in it.

 

Julie has left behind a shattered teenage daughter, Peyton, and a mystery—what killed Julie may be killing others, too. Why is no one talking about it? Dana struggles to uncover the truth, but no one wants to hear it, including Peyton, who can’t forgive her aunt’s years-long absence. Dana had left to protect her own secrets, but Black Bear has a secret of its own—one that could tear apart Dana’s life, her family, and the whole town.

“Beautifully written and unsettling . . . leaves you with a lingering sense of dread long after you close the last page.”—Chevy Stevens

Look for special features inside. Join the Circle for author chats and more.

Review:

"Buckley's disappointing sophomore effort (after The Things That Keep Us Here) tracks the repercussions of familial secrets and corporate negligence, and crumbles under the weight of too many plot lines, an unsurprising twist, and underdeveloped characters. After 17 years, prodigal Dana returns to smalltown Black Bear, Minn., in order to attend her sister's funeral and care for Peyton, Dana's ostensible niece. Julie succumbed to kidney disease, and Dana harbors suspicions that the chemical plant where Julie worked, and where her widower husband and Peyton continue to work, might be responsible for her death and the rise in kidney-related ailments among the townsfolk. In alternating chapters, Dana investigates the operations of the Gerkey factory, which refuses to reveal the ingredients being used to develop sunscreen for a military contract, while Peyton reflects on her mother's death. Interwoven throughout are additional narrative threads addressing the dubious parentage of Peyton, the benefits and drawbacks of nanotechnology, corporate environmental responsibility, and Dana's career in the demolition business. Ultimately, the story is spread far too thin to sustain interest. Agent: Pam Ahearn. (Dec.)" Publishers Weekly Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.

About the Author

Carla Buckley was born in Washington, D.C. She has worked as an assistant press secretary for a U.S. senator, an analyst with the Smithsonian Institution, and a technical writer for a defense contractor. She lives in Columbus, Ohio, with her husband, an environmental scientist, and their three children. She is the author of Invisible and The Things That Keep Us Here, which was nominated for a Thriller Award as a best first novel and the Ohioana Book Award for fiction. She is currently at work on her next novel, which Bantam will publish.

Product Details

ISBN:
9780440246053
Author:
Buckley, Carla
Publisher:
Bantam
Subject:
Psychological
Subject:
Literature-A to Z
Edition Description:
Trade paper
Publication Date:
20121231
Binding:
TRADE PAPER
Language:
English
Pages:
400
Dimensions:
8 x 5.17 x 0.82 in 0.6 lb

Related Subjects

Fiction and Poetry » Literature » A to Z
Fiction and Poetry » Literature » Contemporary Women

Invisible (Random House Reader's Circle) Used Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$10.50 In Stock
Product details 400 pages Bantam - English 9780440246053 Reviews:
"Publishers Weekly Review" by , "Buckley's disappointing sophomore effort (after The Things That Keep Us Here) tracks the repercussions of familial secrets and corporate negligence, and crumbles under the weight of too many plot lines, an unsurprising twist, and underdeveloped characters. After 17 years, prodigal Dana returns to smalltown Black Bear, Minn., in order to attend her sister's funeral and care for Peyton, Dana's ostensible niece. Julie succumbed to kidney disease, and Dana harbors suspicions that the chemical plant where Julie worked, and where her widower husband and Peyton continue to work, might be responsible for her death and the rise in kidney-related ailments among the townsfolk. In alternating chapters, Dana investigates the operations of the Gerkey factory, which refuses to reveal the ingredients being used to develop sunscreen for a military contract, while Peyton reflects on her mother's death. Interwoven throughout are additional narrative threads addressing the dubious parentage of Peyton, the benefits and drawbacks of nanotechnology, corporate environmental responsibility, and Dana's career in the demolition business. Ultimately, the story is spread far too thin to sustain interest. Agent: Pam Ahearn. (Dec.)" Publishers Weekly Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.
spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.