Master your Minecraft
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Tour our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    Best Books of the Year | December 8, 2014

    Tracey T.: IMG Best Cookbooks of 2014



    As the cookbook buyer for Powell's Books, I am the lucky one who gets to choose every new cookbook that comes into our stores. This means I have a... Continue »

    spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$6.95
List price: $9.99
Used Mass Market
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
2 Burnside Science Fiction and Fantasy- A to Z

More copies of this ISBN

Grave Peril: Book :Dresden Files #3

by

Grave Peril: Book :Dresden Files #3 Cover

ISBN13: 9780451458445
ISBN10: 0451458443
Condition: Standard
All Product Details

Only 2 left in stock at $6.95!

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

Harry Dresden's faced some pretty terrifying foes during his career. Giant scorpions. Oversexed vampires. Psychotic werewolves. It comes with the territory when you're the only professional wizard in the Chicago area phone book.

But in all Harry's years of supernatural sleuthing, he's never faced anything like this: the spirit world's gone postal. All over Chicago, ghosts are causing trouble — and not just of the door-slamming, boo-shouting variety. These ghosts are tormented, violent, and deadly. Someone — or something — is stirring them up to wreak unearthly havoc. But why? And why do so many of the victims have ties to Harry? If Harry doesn't figure it out soon, he could wind up a ghost himself...

Review:

"[A] haunting, fantastical novel....Butcher successfully lends human dimensions to vampires and spirits through his vivid descriptions and colloquial dialogue." Publishers Weekly

Review:

"Harry is a likable protagonist with more than his share of troubles, and Grave Peril will keep readers turning the pages to find out how he overcomes them." Kristine Huntley, Booklist

Review:

"A fun new occult mystery series. Unusually well crafted." Locus

Review:

"Fans of Laurell K. Hamilton and Tanya Huff will love this new fantasy series." Midwest Book Review

Synopsis:

Chicago's finest wizard-for-hire, Harry Dresden, faces the toughest foe of his career: the ghost of an evil wizard, who invades people's nightmares — and uses other ghosts as lethal weapons...

Synopsis:

In all his years of supernatural sleuthing, Harry Dresden has never faced anything like this: the spirit world's gone postal. These ghosts are tormented, violent, and deadly. Someone-or something-is purposely stirring them up to wreak unearthly havoc. But why? If Harry doesn't figure it out soon, he could wind up a ghost himself.

About the Author

A martial arts enthusiast whose resume includes a long list of skills rendered obsolete at least two hundred years ago, Jim Butcher turned to writing as a career because anything else probably would have driven him insane. He lives with his wife, his son and a ferocious guard dog.

What Our Readers Are Saying

Add a comment for a chance to win!
Average customer rating based on 5 comments:

skullshonin, October 23, 2014 (view all comments by skullshonin)
Jim Butcher does it again! Being a Detective of the paranormal never gets easy and for Harry Dresden this is doubly true as he investigates whats causing so much turbulence in the spirit world. No matter how bruised or battered our hero gets, He always does the right thing or dies trying.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
MelHay, March 16, 2013 (view all comments by MelHay)
3.5 Stars ~ Each book is getting better for me and picking up steam. The world is amazing.

Harry and his friend Michael, who happens to be the Hand of God as well, have been chasing ghosts around Chicago for two weeks. Now, they are heading to the hospital for another, dangerous one. The spirit world has gone ballistic. Michael brings up Susan's and Harry's relationship with Harry, asking if he loves her and getting him to admit it. Then tells Harry he needs more human interaction. Then we back up to the beginning of the day, leading up to this point. The day starts with a young female practitioner asking for his protection at closing time. Protection from a ghost killing her like in her vision, and Harry's at the center of all going on with the ghost she sees. The same night something nightmarish deadly comes through from the Nevernever one of Murphy's men goes mad. Harry crosses to the Nevernever to fight the bad spirit, having a run-in with his fairy Godmother.

There is more mention of people in Harry's life, his evil sidhe Godmother. Interesting. And to see a touch of his life as to where she had become a part of it. Harry had some troubles when he was younger. But every time he ventures into the Nevernever - which is fairly never - she is hot on his trail to find him and keep him.

We start right in with ghost action then fall back to earlier that day when it ends the day at the office with the young girl looking for protection.

This story read better for me, flowed as a story from beginning to end. There are connections to the previous books but I think you could pick up with this book and start the series here. The connections between the characters seemed to fit better in this book for me. The books are getting better for me. I've heard the fourth is where they start to get real good, so I'm looking forward to it. I think the world and troubles might start to grow on me now.

Harry is one that many could 'relate' to. He is what many would call 'human' as a character. He's powerful in magic, yes, but he wears like any other person. He gets tired. His guard falls down and others can get to him when he's not ready. Human. Harry is always beat up by the big showdown of the book, even before hand, but finds a way to come through.

Oh, I had to laugh when Harry showed up at the ball! That was such a play on characters. The humor here is relaxing. There are quick comments that fit perfectly with the scene.

This book ends with me wondering on what will happen with Harry...with the White Council, the vampires, Susan, and more. This story in this book is complete, but the characters feel bigger and live on, leaving us looking to the next book.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(3 of 6 readers found this comment helpful)
MartyV, January 19, 2012 (view all comments by MartyV)
This is book 3 of the Dresden Files and introduces Michael, a perfect partner against evil forces. He's not a wizard; his powers come from faith in God. It takes both of them, plus a couple of surprise helpers, to defeat the ones who have allowed ghosts to not only cross over to our world, but have given them real power over the physical world. Or have they actually won? Really?
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(3 of 6 readers found this comment helpful)
View all 5 comments

Product Details

ISBN:
9780451458445
Author:
Butcher, Jim
Publisher:
Roc
Location:
New York
Subject:
Fantasy fiction
Subject:
Fantasy - Series
Subject:
Fantasy - Contemporary
Subject:
Illinois
Subject:
Wizards
Subject:
Mystery fiction
Subject:
Science Fiction and Fantasy-Fantasy-Contemporary
Copyright:
Edition Description:
MM Picture Book
Series:
Dresden Files
Series Volume:
03
Publication Date:
September 5, 2001
Binding:
MASS MARKET
Grade Level:
from 12
Language:
English
Pages:
384
Dimensions:
7.04x4.50x1.04 in. .41 lbs.
Age Level:
from 18

Other books you might like

  1. Summer Knight: Book Four of the...
    Used Mass Market $4.95
  2. Black Powder War
    Used Mass Market $4.95
  3. Throne of Jade
    Used Mass Market $4.50
  4. Dead to the World: Sookie Stackhouse...
    Used Mass Market $1.95
  5. His Majesty's Dragon
    Used Mass Market $4.95

Related Subjects

Fiction and Poetry » Science Fiction and Fantasy » A to Z
Fiction and Poetry » Science Fiction and Fantasy » Fantasy » Contemporary

Grave Peril: Book :Dresden Files #3 Used Mass Market
0 stars - 0 reviews
$6.95 In Stock
Product details 384 pages Roc - English 9780451458445 Reviews:
"Review" by , "[A] haunting, fantastical novel....Butcher successfully lends human dimensions to vampires and spirits through his vivid descriptions and colloquial dialogue."
"Review" by , "Harry is a likable protagonist with more than his share of troubles, and Grave Peril will keep readers turning the pages to find out how he overcomes them."
"Review" by , "A fun new occult mystery series. Unusually well crafted."
"Review" by , "Fans of Laurell K. Hamilton and Tanya Huff will love this new fantasy series."
"Synopsis" by , Chicago's finest wizard-for-hire, Harry Dresden, faces the toughest foe of his career: the ghost of an evil wizard, who invades people's nightmares — and uses other ghosts as lethal weapons...
"Synopsis" by ,
In all his years of supernatural sleuthing, Harry Dresden has never faced anything like this: the spirit world's gone postal. These ghosts are tormented, violent, and deadly. Someone-or something-is purposely stirring them up to wreak unearthly havoc. But why? If Harry doesn't figure it out soon, he could wind up a ghost himself.
spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.