Knockout Narratives Sale
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Visit our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    Required Reading | January 16, 2015

    Required Reading: Books That Changed Us



    We tend to think of reading as a cerebral endeavor, but every once in a while, it can spur action. The following books — ranging from... Continue »

    spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$11.95
Used Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Burnside Poetry- A to Z

More copies of this ISBN

It's Go in Horizontal: Selected Poems, 1974-2006 (New California Poetry)

by

It's Go in Horizontal: Selected Poems, 1974-2006 (New California Poetry) Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

and#147;I hesitate to introduce any such term as 'meditation' or 'reflection,' because this work is not apart from its thinking and/or composition, so to speakand#151;and that, among other things, constitutes its exceptional value. I find the whole work to be a deeply engaging preoccupation with, and articulation of, what life might be said, factually, to be. But not as a defined subject, nor even a defining oneand#151;but as one being one. That is an heroic undertaking, or rather, place in which to work/write/live. Its formal authority is as brilliant as any I know.and#8221; and#151;Robert Creeley

and#147;Leslie Scalapino's poems probe politics, memory, perception, and desire, creating hypnotically shifting coherences that take us beyond any dislocating devices into a realm of newly emerging consciousness. This work, which defies categorization, is essential for contemporary poetry.and#8221;and#151;Charles Bernstein, author of Shadowtime

and#147;Leslie Scalapino is one who is one. A solitary, an original. Hers is a religious poetry in the tradition of Edward Thomas and Emily Dickinson, of the Hindu Vedas and Do-Gen. What other way could there be for someone with a mind so electric, independent and restless except out into the space-time conundrum? Her instrument (for she is also a soul-scientist) is a light beam held by hand in the form of a pen. Because she is thoroughly modern, every moment of experience is interrupted and unstable, accompanied by introspection and sidelong glimpses at the social. The poet here is a horrified witness, a perpetual child, a sexually alert female who keeps looking back to believe what she has seen. I read these poems as they are given: line-by-line, in flashes, and then I return to read each one again. This is a superb and important contribution to philosophy, theology, psychology, and the science of knowing. To have the selection here now, to be able to see the whole trajectory in one volume, is to experience a revolutionary moment.and#8221;and#151;Fanny Howe

Synopsis:

Internationally recognized as one of the most innovative writers in America today, Leslie Scalapino persistently challenges the boundaries of many forms in which she worksand#151;poetry, prose, plays, and more. This outstanding volume includes work from sequential and serial poems written over thirty-two years. The poems demonstrate ideas and inventions in writing, and how one writing invention leads to the next. Three series are selected from the long poem way, about which Philip Whalen said, "She makes everything take place in real time, in the light and air and night where all of us live, everything happening at once." Recent poems, such as those from "DeLay Rose," appear to leave the page itself as a single infinite line in which the actions of individuals and occurrences in the outside world are synonymous, mysterious, and simultaneous. It's go in horizontal is a dazzling entryway into the oeuvre of a daring and powerful writer.

About the Author

Leslie Scalapino teaches at Mills College and is a former faculty member at Milton Avery Graduate Program of the Arts at Bard College, the San Francisco Art Institute, and the Otis Art Institute in Los Angeles. Among her many books are Day Ocean State of Star's Night: Poems and Writings 1989 and 1999-2006, Dahlia's Iris: Secret Autobiography and Fiction, and Zither and Autobiography.

Table of Contents

Collected in Considering how exaggerated music is

From hmmmm in The Woman Who Could Read the Minds of Dogs

Instead of an Animal

From This eating and walking at the same time are associated all right

Considering how exaggerated music is

How Phenomena Appear to Unfold: Note on My Writing

that they were at the beach

From that they were at the beach and#151; aeolotropic series

A Sequence

From Chameleon Series

From The Return of Painting, The Pearl, and Orion/A Trilogy

From the Five Series Poem way, 3 Series in Sequence

Bum Series

The Floating Series

Delay Series

How Phenomena Appear to Unfold

Fin de Siand#232;cle 1

Fin de Siand#232;cle 2

Fin de Siand#232;cle 3

From Crowd and not evening or light

From New Time

From The Front Matter, Dead Souls

The Public World/Syntactically Impermanence

From Resting lightning thatand#8217;s night, Friendship

Zither and Autobiography

From Zither

From The Tango

From Itand#8217;s go in / quiet illumined grass /land

Day Ocean State of Starsand#8217; Night

From and#145;Canand#8217;tand#8217; is and#145;Nightand#8217;

From The Forest is in the Euphrates River and#151;

From DeLay Rose

Acknowledgments

Product Details

ISBN:
9780520254626
Author:
Scalapino, Leslie
Publisher:
University of California Press
Subject:
General
Subject:
Americas (North Central South West Indies)
Subject:
American - General
Subject:
General Poetry
Subject:
Poetry-A to Z
Copyright:
Edition Description:
Trade Paper
Series:
New California Poetry
Series Volume:
22
Publication Date:
20080431
Binding:
TRADE PAPER
Grade Level:
Professional and scholarly
Language:
English
Illustrations:
8 b/w photographs
Pages:
257
Dimensions:
9 x 6 x 0.75 in 0.13 lb

Other books you might like

  1. Scandilicious: Secrets of... New Hardcover $35.00

Related Subjects

Fiction and Poetry » Poetry » A to Z

It's Go in Horizontal: Selected Poems, 1974-2006 (New California Poetry) Used Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$11.95 In Stock
Product details 257 pages University of California Press - English 9780520254626 Reviews:
"Synopsis" by ,
Internationally recognized as one of the most innovative writers in America today, Leslie Scalapino persistently challenges the boundaries of many forms in which she worksand#151;poetry, prose, plays, and more. This outstanding volume includes work from sequential and serial poems written over thirty-two years. The poems demonstrate ideas and inventions in writing, and how one writing invention leads to the next. Three series are selected from the long poem way, about which Philip Whalen said, "She makes everything take place in real time, in the light and air and night where all of us live, everything happening at once." Recent poems, such as those from "DeLay Rose," appear to leave the page itself as a single infinite line in which the actions of individuals and occurrences in the outside world are synonymous, mysterious, and simultaneous. It's go in horizontal is a dazzling entryway into the oeuvre of a daring and powerful writer.
spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.