The Fictioning Horror Sale
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Powell's Q&A | September 3, 2014

Emily St. John Mandel: IMG Powell’s Q&A: Emily St. John Mandel



Describe your latest book. My new novel is called Station Eleven. It's about a traveling Shakespearean theatre company in a post-apocalyptic North... Continue »
  1. $17.47 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

    Station Eleven

    Emily St. John Mandel 9780385353304

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$90.75
New Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
available for shipping or prepaid pickup only
Available for In-store Pickup
in 7 to 12 days
Qty Store Section
25 Remote Warehouse Software Engineering- General

Formal Specification and Design

by

Formal Specification and Design Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

Formal specification is a method for precisely modelling computer-based systems that combines concepts from software engineering and mathematical logic. In this book the authors describe algebraic and state-based specification techniques from the unified view of the Common Object-oriented Language for Design, COLD, a wide-spectrum language in the tradition of VDM and Z. The kernel language is explained in detail, with many examples, including: set representation, a display device, an INGRES-like database system, and a line editor. Fundamental techniques such as initial algebra semantics, loose semantics, partial functions, hiding, sharing, predicate and dynamic logic, abstraction functions, representation of invariants and black-box correctness are also presented. More advanced ideas, for example Horn logic, and large systems are given in the final part. Appendices contain full details of the language's syntax and a specification library. Techniques for software development and design are emphasised throughout, so the book will be an excellent choice for courses in these areas.

Synopsis:

Formal specification is a method for precisely modelling computer-based systems that combines concepts from software engineering and mathematical logic. In this book the authors describe algebraic and state-based specification techniques from the unified view of the Common Object-oriented Language for Design. Software development and design are emphasised throughout, so the book will be an excellent choice for courses in these areas.

Synopsis:

The authors describe specification techniques from the unified view of the Common Object-oriented Language for Design.

Table of Contents

Part I. Algebraic Specification: 1. Introducing the basic concepts; 2. Setting up algebraic specifications; 3. Structuring algebraic specifications; 4. Implementing algebraic specifications; Part II. State-Based Specification: 5. From algebras to states; 6. Setting up state-based specification; 7. Structuring state-based specification; 8. Implementing state-based specification; Part III. Advanced Techniques: 9. Theoretical topics; 10. Additional language constructs; 11. Towards large systems; Bibliography; Appendices; Index.

Product Details

ISBN:
9780521435925
Editor:
Van Rijsbergen, C. J.
Publisher:
Cambridge University Press
Editor:
Van Rijsbergen, C. J.
Author:
C. J. van Rijsbergen
Author:
B. M. Jonkers
Author:
L. M. G., Feijs
Author:
Feijs, L. M. G.
Author:
H
Author:
Jonkers, H. B. M.
Author:
Van Rijsbergen, C. J.
Location:
Cambridge
Subject:
General
Subject:
Programming - Software Development
Subject:
Object-oriented programming (computer science
Subject:
Computer software
Subject:
Computer software -- Development.
Subject:
General Computers
Subject:
Computer software--Development Computer softw
Subject:
Programming Languages - General
Subject:
Software Development & Engineering - General
Subject:
Programming - General
Subject:
Object-oriented pro
Subject:
Software Engineering-General
Edition Number:
1
Edition Description:
Pbk Version
Series:
Cambridge Tracts in Theoretical Computer Science
Series Volume:
35
Publication Date:
20050931
Binding:
TRADE PAPER
Grade Level:
Professional and scholarly
Language:
English
Illustrations:
Y
Pages:
352
Dimensions:
6.69x9.60x.73 in. 1.23 lbs.

Related Subjects

Computers and Internet » Software Engineering » General
Computers and Internet » Software Engineering » Programming and Languages
Health and Self-Help » Health and Medicine » Anatomy and Physiology
Languages » ESL » General

Formal Specification and Design New Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$90.75 In Stock
Product details 352 pages Cambridge University Press - English 9780521435925 Reviews:
"Synopsis" by , Formal specification is a method for precisely modelling computer-based systems that combines concepts from software engineering and mathematical logic. In this book the authors describe algebraic and state-based specification techniques from the unified view of the Common Object-oriented Language for Design. Software development and design are emphasised throughout, so the book will be an excellent choice for courses in these areas.
"Synopsis" by , The authors describe specification techniques from the unified view of the Common Object-oriented Language for Design.
spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.