Summer Reading Sale
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Original Essays | July 22, 2014

Nick Harkaway: IMG The Florist-Assassins



The three men lit up in my mind's eye, with footnotes. They were converging on me — and on the object I was carrying — in a way that had... Continue »
  1. $18.87 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

    Tigerman

    Nick Harkaway 9780385352413

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$4.95
List price: $17.99
Used Hardcover
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
5 Hawthorne Children's Young Adult- General

Crossed (Matched #2)

by

Crossed (Matched #2) Cover

ISBN13: 9780525423652
ISBN10: 0525423656
Condition: Standard
Dustjacket: Standard
All Product Details

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

The hotly awaited second book in the dystopian Matched trilogy.

In search of a future that may not exist and faced with the decision of who to share it with, Cassia journeys to the Outer Provinces in pursuit of Ky - taken by the Society to his certain death - only to find that he has escaped, leaving a series of clues in his wake.

Cassia's quest leads her to question much of what she holds dear, even as she finds glimmers of a different life across the border. But as Cassia nears resolve and certainty about her future with Ky, an invitation for rebellion, an unexpected betrayal, and a surprise visit from Xander - who may hold the key to the uprising and, still, to Cassia's heart - change the game once again. Nothing is as expected on the edge of Society, where crosses and double crosses make the path more twisted than ever.

Review:

"Separated by the dictatorial Society that rules them, Cassia has been searching for Ky while suffering the harsh conditions of labor camps far from home. About to be sent to the Society's biggest city for her permanent work assignment, Cassia instead grabs an opportunity to reach the war-torn Outer Provinces, where she finally gets a lead in tracking Ky. Ky has survived being used as a pawn in the Society's war against a nameless and faceless enemy; he and two companions have escaped into a no man's land, and Cassia follows. As Cassia and Ky hike through dangerous territory in search of a rumored rebellion and the freedom to be together, the specter of Cassia's betrothed, Xander, hangs over them. Narrated from Cassia and Ky's viewpoints, Condie's sequel to her acclaimed Matched is very much a middle book, centering on a transformative journey and setting up the finale to come. Newcomers will need to read the first book for background, but vivid, poetic writing will pull fans through as Condie immerses readers in her characters' yearnings and hopes. Ages 14 — up." Publishers Weekly Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.

Video

About the Author

Ally Condie (www.matched-book.com) lives with her husband and three sons outside of Salt Lake City, Utah.

What Our Readers Are Saying

Add a comment for a chance to win!
Average customer rating based on 3 comments:

Love_J, January 6, 2012 (view all comments by Love_J)
The Matched series has quickly become one of my favorites from the moment I spotted Matched on a bookshelf in San Francisco begging me to pick it up! It was EPIC, and left me anxiously waiting for what Condie would spin out in the sequel (Crossed) and it was just as incredible as the first. Crossed did not disappoint. For fans of The Hunger Games or Dystopian books I highly encourage you to pick up Ally Condie's Matched series.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(0 of 1 readers found this comment helpful)
Amber Roher, December 23, 2011 (view all comments by Amber Roher)
If you have read the first book to this trilogy (matched) then of course your going to want to indulge in this one as well. Its such a great book and it keep the story going from the first one which leaves you only wanting more. I highly recommend this whole trilogy to anyone who enjoys love,hope and great writing. Way To Go Ally Condle.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(1 of 2 readers found this comment helpful)
Teri Crosby, November 2, 2011 (view all comments by Teri Crosby)
Ally Condie's sequel to Matched, Crossed brings back our two central character's Ky and Cassia.
Separated from each other and sent to distant parts of the Outer Provinces, Ky and Cassia struggle to survive and also keep hope alive in getting back together. Cassia is in a work camp when she takes the ultimate risk jumping into a ship sending Abberations into a new remote Province. Taking this chance Cassia hopes to get closer to Ky and also closer to discovering more about the Rising.
Ky on the other hand is trying to survive through all of the battles taking place as the Society keeps depositing Abberations on old farming lands to keep an illusion of current residence.

What really captured me in Crossed is how all of the characters paths are crossing and also at the same time dividing from other. Xander only has a few parts in the story but as he is also a vital character and we soon find he also has a significant secret that is being revealed. Ky reveals his past as well as his fears in the future which begin to tear Cassia's ideas apart and Cassia soon finds herself torn between not only the two boys but also what she finds out in her famous past and also in what she wants for her future.

What can the characters believe in when at times they cannot believe in each other. Will they have the strength to overcome their fears and be able to fight for their futures.
What is the Rising promising? And what is the Society really doing to it's Citizens.

Crossed is so much more of a fabulous read than I expected. As the story shifts and expands to more than just a tale of love, we find ourselves swept in to a story of a live divided and a place where war is not only within ourselves and our ideals and prior beliefs but also with each other.
There are so many things revealed about the world of the Matched Trilogy in Crossed so with the next book we should be stunned and expecting many surprises.
This series continues to astound me and explore many themes that I find exceptionally interesting.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
View all 3 comments

Product Details

ISBN:
9780525423652
Author:
Condie, Ally
Publisher:
Dutton Books
Subject:
Love & Romance
Subject:
Children s-General
Publication Date:
20111131
Binding:
HARDCOVER
Grade Level:
from 9 up to AND UP
Language:
English
Dimensions:
9.24 x 6.38 x 1.25 in 1.28 lb
Age Level:
from 14 up to AND UP

Other books you might like

  1. Wisdom's Kiss Used Hardcover $7.95
  2. Best Kept Secret (Pink Locker... Used Trade Paper $4.95
  3. Amanda Project #01: The Amanda Project Used Trade Paper $5.95
  4. Thomas and the Naughty Diesel... New Trade Paper $3.99
  5. The Death Cure (Maze Runner Trilogy #3) Used Hardcover $9.95
  6. Amanda Project #02: The Amanda... Used Trade Paper $5.95

Related Subjects


Children's » Action and Adventure » Adventure Stories
Children's » General
Children's » New Arrivals
Children's » Sale Books
Children's » Science Fiction and Fantasy » General
Featured Titles » Bestsellers
Young Adult » General

Crossed (Matched #2) Used Hardcover
0 stars - 0 reviews
$4.95 In Stock
Product details pages Dutton Books - English 9780525423652 Reviews:
"Publishers Weekly Review" by , "Separated by the dictatorial Society that rules them, Cassia has been searching for Ky while suffering the harsh conditions of labor camps far from home. About to be sent to the Society's biggest city for her permanent work assignment, Cassia instead grabs an opportunity to reach the war-torn Outer Provinces, where she finally gets a lead in tracking Ky. Ky has survived being used as a pawn in the Society's war against a nameless and faceless enemy; he and two companions have escaped into a no man's land, and Cassia follows. As Cassia and Ky hike through dangerous territory in search of a rumored rebellion and the freedom to be together, the specter of Cassia's betrothed, Xander, hangs over them. Narrated from Cassia and Ky's viewpoints, Condie's sequel to her acclaimed Matched is very much a middle book, centering on a transformative journey and setting up the finale to come. Newcomers will need to read the first book for background, but vivid, poetic writing will pull fans through as Condie immerses readers in her characters' yearnings and hopes. Ages 14 — up." Publishers Weekly Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.
spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.