Wintersalen Sale
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Tour our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    Original Essays | September 18, 2014

    Lin Enger: IMG Knowing vs. Knowing



    On a hot July evening years ago, my Toyota Tercel overheated on a flat stretch of highway north of Cedar Rapids, Iowa. A steam geyser shot up from... Continue »

    spacer

This item may be
out of stock.

Click on the button below to search for this title in other formats.


Check for Availability
Add to Wishlist

The Dark Horse (Walt Longmire Mysteries)

The Dark Horse (Walt Longmire Mysteries) Cover

ISBN13: 9780670020874
ISBN10: 0670020877
All Product Details

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

Read Craig Johnson's posts on the Penguin Blog.

Walt Longmire goes undercover to save a woman in an unfriendly place

Interweaving classic noir sensibilities and humor with contemporary themes of social justice, Craig Johnson's popular Walt Longmire mysteries transport readers to the sparse and rugged landscape of Wyoming. In The Dark Horse, the sheriff investigates when his instincts tell him something isn't right about a prisoner accused of killing her husband.

Wade Barsad, a man with a dubious past, locked his wife's horses in their barn and burned the animals alive. In return, Mary shot Wade in the head six times-or so the story goes. Walt doesn't believe Mary's confession, and he's determined to dig deeper. Posing as an insurance claims investigator, Walt soon discovers other people who might have wanted Wade dead, including a beautiful Guatemalan bartender and a rancher with a taste for liquor, but not for honesty.

The Dark Horse is sure to build on the success of Another Man's Moccasins as Sheriff Longmire unpins his star and ventures into a town without pity to save a woman without hope.

Review:

"In Johnson's superb fifth contemporary mystery to feature Wyoming sheriff Walt Longmire (after 2008's Another Man's Moccasins), Walt has his doubts about Mary Barsad's guilt when she confesses to shooting her husband, Wade, after Wade allegedly burned down their barn with all Mary's horses inside. Even though the crime is out of his jurisdiction in a neighboring county, Walt can't shake the feeling that there's more to Mary's story. Posing as an insurance agent, Walt starts poking around the tiny town of Absalom, whose main attraction are the fights at the local bar. He meets an illegal immigrant bartender with a knack for crime solving, the Barsads' loyal cowhand and some ranchers who may have had their own reasons for wanting Wade dead. Walt digs deep into the dilapidated town's history, unearthing secrets that might be better left buried. Series fans will delight in seeing Walt return to his cowboy roots as he mounts a horse and navigates the sparsely populated state. 8-city author tour. (June)" Publishers Weekly (Starred Review) (Copyright Reed Business Information, Inc.)

Synopsis:

Interweaving classic noir sensibilities and humor with contemporary themes of social justice, Johnson's popular Walt Longmire mystery series transports readers to the sparse and rugged landscape of Wyoming.

Synopsis:

Walt doubts a confession of murder in this novel from the New York Times bestselling author of The Cold Dish and As the Crow Flies, the fifth in the Walt Longmire Mystery Series, the basis for LONGMIRE, the hit A&E original drama series
 
Fans of Ace Atkins, Nevada Barr and Robert B. Parker will love The Dark Horse is the fifth installment in New York Times bestselling author Craig Johnson's Walt Longmire mystery series, the basis for LONGMIRE, the hit A&E original drama series. Wade Barsad, a man with a dubious past and a gift for making enemies, burned his wife Mary's horses in their barn; in retribution, she shot him in the head six times. But Sheriff Walt Longmire of Wyoming's Absaroka County doesn't believe Mary's confession. Leaving behind the demands of his upcoming re-election campaign, Walt unpins his star to go undercover and discovers that everyone-including a beautiful Guatemalan bartender and a rancher with a taste for liquor-had a reason for wanting Wade dead.

About the Author

Craig Johnson has a background in law enforcement and education. He lives in Ucross, Wyoming, population 25.

What Our Readers Are Saying

Add a comment for a chance to win!
Average customer rating based on 1 comment:

Bill Cameron, July 3, 2009 (view all comments by Bill Cameron)
The advent of summer means long days and evenings spent in the hammock under the trees. It's also means the return of Walt Longmire, Craig Johnson's wry, headstrong, deeply compassionate Wyoming sheriff. In his fifth outing, Longmire goes undercover to determine if a former NFL cheerleader really did put six bullets in her husband's head. Not that she can be blamed if she did—the fellow burned her horses alive in their stables. Rich, deeply engaging characters populate all of Johnson's work, and The Dark Horse is no exception. Johnson is a simply gorgeous writer, and with each new installment he just gets better and better.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No

Product Details

ISBN:
9780670020874
Subtitle:
A Walt Longmire Mystery
Publisher:
Viking Adult
Author:
Johnson, Craig
Subject:
Mystery & Detective - General
Subject:
Sheriffs
Subject:
Wyoming
Subject:
Mystery fiction
Subject:
Mystery-A to Z
Edition Description:
Hardback
Series:
Walt Longmire Mysteries
Publication Date:
20090528
Binding:
Hardback
Grade Level:
from 12
Language:
English
Pages:
336
Dimensions:
9.3 x 6.3 x 1.15 in 1.15 lb
Age Level:
17-17

Related Subjects

Fiction and Poetry » Mystery » A to Z

The Dark Horse (Walt Longmire Mysteries)
0 stars - 0 reviews
$ In Stock
Product details 336 pages Viking Books - English 9780670020874 Reviews:
"Publishers Weekly Review" by , "In Johnson's superb fifth contemporary mystery to feature Wyoming sheriff Walt Longmire (after 2008's Another Man's Moccasins), Walt has his doubts about Mary Barsad's guilt when she confesses to shooting her husband, Wade, after Wade allegedly burned down their barn with all Mary's horses inside. Even though the crime is out of his jurisdiction in a neighboring county, Walt can't shake the feeling that there's more to Mary's story. Posing as an insurance agent, Walt starts poking around the tiny town of Absalom, whose main attraction are the fights at the local bar. He meets an illegal immigrant bartender with a knack for crime solving, the Barsads' loyal cowhand and some ranchers who may have had their own reasons for wanting Wade dead. Walt digs deep into the dilapidated town's history, unearthing secrets that might be better left buried. Series fans will delight in seeing Walt return to his cowboy roots as he mounts a horse and navigates the sparsely populated state. 8-city author tour. (June)" Publishers Weekly (Starred Review) (Copyright Reed Business Information, Inc.)
"Synopsis" by , Interweaving classic noir sensibilities and humor with contemporary themes of social justice, Johnson's popular Walt Longmire mystery series transports readers to the sparse and rugged landscape of Wyoming.
"Synopsis" by ,
Walt doubts a confession of murder in this novel from the New York Times bestselling author of The Cold Dish and As the Crow Flies, the fifth in the Walt Longmire Mystery Series, the basis for LONGMIRE, the hit A&E original drama series
 
Fans of Ace Atkins, Nevada Barr and Robert B. Parker will love The Dark Horse is the fifth installment in New York Times bestselling author Craig Johnson's Walt Longmire mystery series, the basis for LONGMIRE, the hit A&E original drama series. Wade Barsad, a man with a dubious past and a gift for making enemies, burned his wife Mary's horses in their barn; in retribution, she shot him in the head six times. But Sheriff Walt Longmire of Wyoming's Absaroka County doesn't believe Mary's confession. Leaving behind the demands of his upcoming re-election campaign, Walt unpins his star to go undercover and discovers that everyone-including a beautiful Guatemalan bartender and a rancher with a taste for liquor-had a reason for wanting Wade dead.
spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.