The Good, the Bad, and the Hungry Sale
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Original Essays | July 24, 2014

Jessica Valenti: IMG Full Frontal Feminism Revisited



It is arguably the worst and best time to be a feminist. In the years since I first wrote Full Frontal Feminism, we've seen a huge cultural shift in... Continue »
  1. $11.90 Sale Trade Paper add to wish list

spacer

This item may be
out of stock.

Click on the button below to search for this title in other formats.


Check for Availability
Add to Wishlist

This title in other editions

Death and the Maiden: A Max Liebermann Mystery: A Max Liebermann Mystery

by

Death and the Maiden: A Max Liebermann Mystery: A Max Liebermann Mystery Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

Frank Tallis, acclaimed author of the Edgar Award-nominated Vienna Secrets, returns with a new and masterfully woven tale full of deceit, love, and rich mystery. Set in fin de siecle Vienna, it's perfect for fans of Boris Akunin, Alan Furst, and David Liss.

Ida Rosenkranz is top diva at the Vienna Opera, but she's gone silent for good after an apparent laudanum overdose. Learning of her professional rivalries and her scandalous affairs with older men, Detective Inspector Oskar Rheinhardt and Dr. Max Liebermann suspect foul play instead. Their investigation leads them into dark and dangerous conflicts with Gustav Mahler, the opera's imperious director, who is himself the target of a poison pen campaign, and Karl Lueger, Vienna's powerful and anti-Semitic mayor. As the peril escalates, Rheinhardt grows further into his role as family man, while Liebermann finds himself at odds with his inamorata, Amelia, who's loosening both her corset and her tongue in the new feminist movement.

PRAISE FOR FRANK TALLIS'S VIENNA THRILLERS

A] captivating historical series.--The New York Times Book Review

A] riveting read . . . with well researched and wonderfully imagined period detail.--The Guardian (U.K.), on Vienna Twilight

Chock-full of tantalizing elements.--The Austin Chronicle, on Vienna Secrets

Engrossing . . . immensely satisfying.--The Boston Globe, on Fatal Lies

Product Details

ISBN:
9780679644866
Publisher:
Random House Publishing Group

Related Subjects

Fiction and Poetry » Literature » A to Z
Fiction and Poetry » Mystery » Historical
Fiction and Poetry » Popular Fiction » Suspense

Death and the Maiden: A Max Liebermann Mystery: A Max Liebermann Mystery
0 stars - 0 reviews
$ In Stock
Product details pages Random House Publishing Group - English 9780679644866 Reviews:
spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.