The Fictioning Horror Sale
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Interviews | September 2, 2014

Jill Owens: IMG David Mitchell: The Powells.com Interview



David MitchellDavid Mitchell's newest mind-bending, time-skipping novel may be his most accomplished work yet. Written in six sections, one per decade, The Bone... Continue »
  1. $21.00 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

    The Bone Clocks

    David Mitchell 9781400065677

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$15.95
List price: $19.95
New Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Available for In-store Pickup
in 7 to 12 days
Qty Store Section
3 Remote Warehouse Literature- A to Z
3 Remote Warehouse Literature- A to Z

More copies of this ISBN

This title in other editions

Kappa

by

Kappa Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

The Kappa is a creature from Japanese folklore described as a scaly, child-sized being with a face like a tiger and a sharp, pointed beak. In the hands of Ryunosuke Akutagawa, one man's journey to Kappaland becomes the vehicle for a critique of Japanese life and customs in the tradition of Swift and Kafka. A perfectly formed gem from the pen of one of Japan's most important modern writers, this tale is at once a fable, a comedy, and a brilliant satire.

About the Author

Ryunosuke Akutagawa was the author of more than 100 short stories as well as translations of the works of Anatole France and Yeats. Akutagawa was regarded as a major author during his lifetime, and the Akutagawa Prize, established after his death, is now one of Japans most prestigious literary awards. Two of the stories from his collection Rashomon formed the basis of the award-winning film of the same title by Akira Kurosawa.

Product Details

ISBN:
9780720613377
Author:
Akutagawa, Ryunosuke
Publisher:
Peter Owen Publishers
Translator:
Bownas, Geoffrey
Introduction by:
Healey, G. H.
Introduction:
Healey, G. H.
Author:
Ryunosuke, Akutagawa
Author:
Bownas, Geoffrey
Subject:
Literary
Subject:
Literature-A to Z
Subject:
Folklore
Edition Description:
Trade Paper
Series:
Peter Owen Modern Classics
Publication Date:
20090931
Binding:
TRADE PAPER
Language:
English
Pages:
188
Dimensions:
7.5 x 5 in 1 lb

Related Subjects

Fiction and Poetry » Literature » A to Z

Kappa New Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$15.95 In Stock
Product details 188 pages Peter Owen Publishers - English 9780720613377 Reviews:
spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.