Wintersalen Sale
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Tour our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    Original Essays | October 21, 2014

    Katha Pollitt: IMG My Bookstore Fantasy — No Customers Necessary



    "Let's open a bookstore," I say to my husband every now and then. "A used bookstore. With a few new books we really like." I'm picturing an... Continue »

    spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$10.95
Used Hardcover
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Beaverton Science Fiction and Fantasy- A to Z
1 Burnside Science Fiction and Fantasy- A to Z

The Unincorporated Man

by

The Unincorporated Man Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

The Unincorporated Man is a provocative social/political/economic novel that takes place in the future, after civilization has fallen into complete economic collapse. This reborn civilization is one in which every individual is incorporated at birth, and spends many years trying to attain control over his or her own life by getting a majority of his or her own shares. Life extension has made life very long indeed.

Now the incredible has happened: a billionaire businessman from our time, frozen in secret in the early twenty-first century, is discovered and resurrected, given health and a vigorous younger body. Justin Cord is the only unincorporated man in the world, a true stranger in this strange land. Justin survived because he is tough and smart. He cannot accept only part ownership of himself, even if that places him in conflict with a civilization that extends outside the solar system to the Oort Cloud.  People will be arguing about this novel and this world for decades.

Review:

"Fans of SF as a vehicle for ideas will devour this intriguing debut. Brilliant 21st-century tycoon Justin Cord is brought from cryogenic storage into a 24th-century society where people own stock in one another, safeguarding each other's welfare only out of economic self-interest. This is anathema to the defiantly individualistic Cord, who soon becomes a danger to the corporations that control the world and a symbol of freedom to the downtrodden penny-stock people. Cord's conversations with friends and enemies fill most of the book, alongside lectures on the mechanisms of the incorporated culture. The Kollin brothers keep the plot moving briskly despite the high proportion of talk to action. Their cerebral style will especially appeal to readers nostalgic for science fiction's early years." Publishers Weekly (Copyright Reed Business Information, Inc.)

Synopsis:

A novel of social transformation in the tradition of Ayn Rands The Fountainhead and Robert A. Heinleins Stranger in a Strange Land

Synopsis:

A novel of social transformation in the tradition of Ayn Rands The Fountainhead and Robert A. Heinleins Stranger in a Strange Land

Synopsis:

The incredible has happened.  A billionaire businessman from our time, frozen in secret in the early 21st century, is discovered in the far future and resurrected, given health and a vigorous younger body. He awakens into a civilization in which every individual is formed into a legal corporation at birth, and spends many years trying to attain control over their own life by getting a majority of his or her own shares. Life extension has made life very long indeed.

Justin Cord is the only unincorporated man in the world, a true stranger in this strange land. Justin survived because he is tough and smart. He cannot accept only part ownership of himself, even if that places him in conflict with a civilization that extends outside the solar system to the Oort Cloud.

The Unincorporated Man is a provocative social/political/economic novel that people will be arguing about for decades.

About the Author

Dani Kollin lives in Los Angeles, CA and Eytan Kollin lives in Pasadena, CA. They are brothers, and this is their first novel.

Product Details

ISBN:
9780765318992
Author:
Kollin, Dani
Publisher:
Tor Science Fiction
Author:
Kollin, Eytan
Subject:
Science Fiction - General
Subject:
Science / General
Subject:
Science fiction
Subject:
Cryonics.
Copyright:
Edition Description:
Mass market paperback
Series:
Sci Fi Essential Books
Series Volume:
1
Publication Date:
20150602
Binding:
Electronic book text in proprietary or open standard format
Grade Level:
General/trade
Language:
English
Pages:
720
Dimensions:
9.58 x 6.53 x 1.535 in

Other books you might like

Related Subjects

Fiction and Poetry » Science Fiction and Fantasy » A to Z

The Unincorporated Man Used Hardcover
0 stars - 0 reviews
$10.95 In Stock
Product details 720 pages Tom Doherty Associates - English 9780765318992 Reviews:
"Publishers Weekly Review" by , "Fans of SF as a vehicle for ideas will devour this intriguing debut. Brilliant 21st-century tycoon Justin Cord is brought from cryogenic storage into a 24th-century society where people own stock in one another, safeguarding each other's welfare only out of economic self-interest. This is anathema to the defiantly individualistic Cord, who soon becomes a danger to the corporations that control the world and a symbol of freedom to the downtrodden penny-stock people. Cord's conversations with friends and enemies fill most of the book, alongside lectures on the mechanisms of the incorporated culture. The Kollin brothers keep the plot moving briskly despite the high proportion of talk to action. Their cerebral style will especially appeal to readers nostalgic for science fiction's early years." Publishers Weekly (Copyright Reed Business Information, Inc.)
"Synopsis" by ,

A novel of social transformation in the tradition of Ayn Rands The Fountainhead and Robert A. Heinleins Stranger in a Strange Land

"Synopsis" by ,

A novel of social transformation in the tradition of Ayn Rands The Fountainhead and Robert A. Heinleins Stranger in a Strange Land

"Synopsis" by ,

The incredible has happened.  A billionaire businessman from our time, frozen in secret in the early 21st century, is discovered in the far future and resurrected, given health and a vigorous younger body. He awakens into a civilization in which every individual is formed into a legal corporation at birth, and spends many years trying to attain control over their own life by getting a majority of his or her own shares. Life extension has made life very long indeed.

Justin Cord is the only unincorporated man in the world, a true stranger in this strange land. Justin survived because he is tough and smart. He cannot accept only part ownership of himself, even if that places him in conflict with a civilization that extends outside the solar system to the Oort Cloud.

The Unincorporated Man is a provocative social/political/economic novel that people will be arguing about for decades.

spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.