Murakami Sale
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Original Essays | August 20, 2014

Julie Schumacher: IMG Dear Professor Fitger



Saint Paul, August 2014 Dear Professor Fitger, I've been asked to say a few words about you for Powells.com. Having dreamed you up with a ball-point... Continue »
  1. $16.07 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

    Dear Committee Members

    Julie Schumacher 9780385538138

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$12.50
Used Hardcover
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Burnside SF- S

The Dragons of Babel

by

The Dragons of Babel Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

A fantasy masterpiece from a five-time Hugo Award winner!

A war-dragon of Babel crashes in the idyllic fields of a post-industrialized Faerie and, dragging himself into the nearest village, declares himself king and makes young Will his lieutenant. Nightly, he crawls inside the young fey's brain to get a measure of what his subjects think. Forced out of his village, Will travels with female centaur soldiers, witnesses the violent clash of giants, and acquires a surrogate daughter, Esme, who has no knowledge of the past and may be immortal.

Evacuated to the Tower of Babel — infinitely high, infinitely vulgar, very much like New York City — Will meets the confidence trickster Nat Whilk. Inside the Dread Tower, Will becomes a hero to the homeless living in the tunnels under the city, rises as an underling to a politician, and meets his one true love — a high-elven woman he dare not aspire to.

You've heard of hard SF: This is hard fantasy from a master of the form.

Review:

"In this triumphant return to the universe of The Iron Dragon's Daughter (1994), Hugo-winner Swanwick introduces Will le Fey, an orphan of uncertain parentage. After defeating an evil mechanical war dragon who has enslaved him and his village, Will finds himself displaced by war, first imprisoned in an internment camp and then transported to the many-miles-high city of Babel. On the way, he falls in with Esme, an immortal child with no memory, and Nat Whilk, a donkey-eared confidence man of superhuman abilities. Fusing high technology seamlessly with magic, Swanwick introduces us to a wide range of marvelous conceits, fascinating digressions and sparkling characters. His language bounces effortlessly back and forth between the high diction of elfland and thieves' argot to create a heady literary stew. This is modern fantasy at its finest and should hold great appeal for fans of Neil Gaiman's Anansi Boys or China Miville's novels." Publishers Weekly (Starred Review) (Copyright Reed Business Information, Inc.)

Review:

"The tale is intriguing and action packed, but if one has not read the first book, it is almost impossible to follow....Still mature fantasy fans who have read the first book will want to return to this fascinating, arbitrary world." VOYA

Review:

"Swanwick continues to turn traditional ideas of Faerie life upside down while remaining true to ancient Celtic Faerie lore." Library Journal

Review:

"The tone and ambience of Swanwick's dark, gritty fantasy are reminiscent of the Bordertown shared-world series...full of elves, haints, trolls, dwarves, centaurs, and more." Booklist

Synopsis:

 A war-dragon of Babel crashes in the idyllic fields of a post-industrialized Faerie and, dragging himself into the nearest village, declares himself king and makes young Will his lieutenant.  Nightly, he crawls inside the young fey's brain to get a measure of what his subjects think. Forced out of his village, Will travels with female centaur soldiers, witnesses the violent clash of giants, and acquires a surrogate daughter, Esme, who has no knowledge of the past and may be immortal.  

Evacuated to the Tower of Babel--infinitely high, infinitely vulgar, very much like New York City--Will meets the confidence trickster Nat Whilk. Inside the Dread Tower, Will becomes a hero to the homeless living in the tunnels under the city, rises as an underling to a haint politician, meets his one true love-a high-elven woman he dare not aspire to. You've heard of hard SF: This is hard fantasy from a master of the form.

Synopsis:

 A fantasy masterpiece from a five-time Hugo Award winner!
 
A war-dragon of Babel crashes in the idyllic fields of a post-industrialized Faerie and, dragging himself into the nearest village, declares himself king and makes young Will his lieutenant.  Nightly, he crawls inside the young fey's brain to get a measure of what his subjects think. Forced out of his village, Will travels with female centaur soldiers, witnesses the violent clash of giants, and acquires a surrogate daughter, Esme, who has no knowledge of the past and may be immortal.  
 
Evacuated to the Tower of Babel — infinitely high, infinitely vulgar, very much like New York City — Will meets the confidence trickster Nat Whilk. Inside the Dread Tower, Will becomes a hero to the homeless living in the tunnels under the city, rises as an underling to a politician, and meets his one true love-a high-elven woman he dare not aspire to.
 
You've heard of hard SF: This is hard fantasy from a master of the form.

About the Author

Michael Swanwick lives in Philadelphia, PA. He has won five Hugo Awards and one Nebula Award.

Product Details

ISBN:
9780765319500
Author:
Swanwick, Michael
Publisher:
Tor Books
Subject:
Fantasy - General
Subject:
Dragons
Subject:
Heroes
Subject:
Fantasy fiction
Subject:
Fantasy - Epic
Copyright:
Edition Description:
Trade Cloth
Series:
Tom Doherty Associates Book
Publication Date:
20080108
Binding:
Electronic book text in proprietary or open standard format
Grade Level:
General/trade
Language:
English
Pages:
320
Dimensions:
9.2 x 6.21 x 0.85 in

Other books you might like

  1. Ship of Fools
    Used Mass Market $3.50
  2. Steampunk Used Trade Paper $7.50
  3. News from nowhere and selected... Used Mass Market $3.50
  4. Dispossessed Used Mass Market $4.95
  5. Lord Tophet: A Shadowbridge Novel
    New Trade Paper $13.50
  6. The Good Thief: A Novel
    Used Trade Paper $3.50

Related Subjects

Fiction and Poetry » Science Fiction and Fantasy » A to Z
Fiction and Poetry » Science Fiction and Fantasy » Fantasy » Epic

The Dragons of Babel Used Hardcover
0 stars - 0 reviews
$12.50 In Stock
Product details 320 pages Tor Books - English 9780765319500 Reviews:
"Publishers Weekly Review" by , "In this triumphant return to the universe of The Iron Dragon's Daughter (1994), Hugo-winner Swanwick introduces Will le Fey, an orphan of uncertain parentage. After defeating an evil mechanical war dragon who has enslaved him and his village, Will finds himself displaced by war, first imprisoned in an internment camp and then transported to the many-miles-high city of Babel. On the way, he falls in with Esme, an immortal child with no memory, and Nat Whilk, a donkey-eared confidence man of superhuman abilities. Fusing high technology seamlessly with magic, Swanwick introduces us to a wide range of marvelous conceits, fascinating digressions and sparkling characters. His language bounces effortlessly back and forth between the high diction of elfland and thieves' argot to create a heady literary stew. This is modern fantasy at its finest and should hold great appeal for fans of Neil Gaiman's Anansi Boys or China Miville's novels." Publishers Weekly (Starred Review) (Copyright Reed Business Information, Inc.)
"Review" by , "The tale is intriguing and action packed, but if one has not read the first book, it is almost impossible to follow....Still mature fantasy fans who have read the first book will want to return to this fascinating, arbitrary world."
"Review" by , "Swanwick continues to turn traditional ideas of Faerie life upside down while remaining true to ancient Celtic Faerie lore."
"Review" by , "The tone and ambience of Swanwick's dark, gritty fantasy are reminiscent of the Bordertown shared-world series...full of elves, haints, trolls, dwarves, centaurs, and more."
"Synopsis" by ,

 A war-dragon of Babel crashes in the idyllic fields of a post-industrialized Faerie and, dragging himself into the nearest village, declares himself king and makes young Will his lieutenant.  Nightly, he crawls inside the young fey's brain to get a measure of what his subjects think. Forced out of his village, Will travels with female centaur soldiers, witnesses the violent clash of giants, and acquires a surrogate daughter, Esme, who has no knowledge of the past and may be immortal.  

Evacuated to the Tower of Babel--infinitely high, infinitely vulgar, very much like New York City--Will meets the confidence trickster Nat Whilk. Inside the Dread Tower, Will becomes a hero to the homeless living in the tunnels under the city, rises as an underling to a haint politician, meets his one true love-a high-elven woman he dare not aspire to. You've heard of hard SF: This is hard fantasy from a master of the form.

"Synopsis" by ,
 A fantasy masterpiece from a five-time Hugo Award winner!
 
A war-dragon of Babel crashes in the idyllic fields of a post-industrialized Faerie and, dragging himself into the nearest village, declares himself king and makes young Will his lieutenant.  Nightly, he crawls inside the young fey's brain to get a measure of what his subjects think. Forced out of his village, Will travels with female centaur soldiers, witnesses the violent clash of giants, and acquires a surrogate daughter, Esme, who has no knowledge of the past and may be immortal.  
 
Evacuated to the Tower of Babel — infinitely high, infinitely vulgar, very much like New York City — Will meets the confidence trickster Nat Whilk. Inside the Dread Tower, Will becomes a hero to the homeless living in the tunnels under the city, rises as an underling to a politician, and meets his one true love-a high-elven woman he dare not aspire to.
 
You've heard of hard SF: This is hard fantasy from a master of the form.
spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.