No Words Wasted Sale
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Visit our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    The Powell's Playlist | January 19, 2015

    Ned Beauman: IMG The Powell's Playlist: Ned Beauman



    I did have a playlist that I listened to over and over again while I was writing Glow, but three years on I'm a bit bored of those songs, which got... Continue »
    1. $18.17 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

      Glow

      Ned Beauman 9780385352604

    spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$7.95
List price: $15.95
Used Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Beaverton Literature- A to Z

More copies of this ISBN

Clara

by

Clara Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

Inspired by a true story and based on a wealth of family documents, this elegant and compelling novel chronicles the lives of two families from the 1930s through the coming of the Nazis and World War II, and the long, difficult post-War period to the present. A must-read for fans of Irene Nemirovsky, Hans Fallada, and Bernhard Schlink's The Reader.

 

This vividly realized, masterfully executed novel is a window into a little-explored corner of history. Patient Number 7 is a story of love between an aristocratic young woman and the cavalry officer — later Panzer officer in the German army — she marries; between friends who help each other through the Nazi takeover of Austria, the war, and what was sometimes worse, the "liberation"; between a mother and her two very different daughters. But it is also the story of a nation's darkest days, and its slow recovery during one of the most convulsive, violent periods of human history. Beautifully written, haunting, and ultimately redemptive, it is a work of great skill and great compassion.

From the Hardcover edition.

Review:

"Palka's fifth novel (originally published as Patient Number 7 in 2012) begins in Vienna in the 1930s. Nazi Germany has not yet tightened its grip on Austria, but the air is rife with differing ideological debates and activities. Clara Herzog is a graduate philosophy student at the University of Vienna, fascinated by 'isms', including Zionism, communism, National Socialism (Nazism), capitalism and existentialism. She loves her studies, professors, literature, best friends Mitzi and Erica, and most of all, Albert, a motorcycle-riding captain in the reserve cavalry. Despite objections from her family, Clara marries Albert. He is soon absorbed into the Nazi army machine, rises quickly through the ranks, is decorated, and serves beside the likes of General Rommel in Russia, Europe and Africa. Clara struggles to live life according to the ideals of self-determination, personal responsibility and accountability she has embraced since her youth, in spite of the fear, despair, alienation, loneliness and loss she experiences in the madness surrounding her. With great sensitivity, Palka tells Clara's story, building sympathy and admiration for the strength, courage, unwavering love and compassion she demonstrates in the face of unbelievable challenges. This deeply engrossing and unforgettable novel will leave readers shouting 'bravo' for the resiliency of the human spirit. (Apr.)" Publishers Weekly Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.

Synopsis:

KURT PALKA was born and educated in Austria. He began his working life in Africa where he wrote for African Mirror and made wildlife films in Kenya and Tanzania. After moving to Canada he worked on international stories for CTV and GLOBAL TV, wrote for American and Canadian publications such as the Chronicle Herald and the Globe and Mail, and worked as a Senior Producer for the CBC. Clara (originally published in hardcover as Patient Number 7) is his fifth novel; it is a finalist for the Hammett Prize.

About the Author

US

Product Details

ISBN:
9780771071324
Author:
Palka, Kurt
Publisher:
McClelland & Stewart
Subject:
Literary
Subject:
Literature-A to Z
Edition Description:
Trade paper
Publication Date:
20140331
Binding:
TRADE PAPER
Language:
English
Pages:
384
Dimensions:
8 x 5.19 x 0.99 in 0.75 lb

Other books you might like

  1. The Imposter Bride Used Trade Paper $9.95
  2. Sweetheart Used Mass Market $4.95
  3. A Duty to the Dead
    Used Trade Paper $4.50

Related Subjects

Fiction and Poetry » Literature » A to Z
Fiction and Poetry » Literature » Contemporary Women
Fiction and Poetry » Mystery » Historical

Clara Used Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$7.95 In Stock
Product details 384 pages Emblem Editions - English 9780771071324 Reviews:
"Publishers Weekly Review" by , "Palka's fifth novel (originally published as Patient Number 7 in 2012) begins in Vienna in the 1930s. Nazi Germany has not yet tightened its grip on Austria, but the air is rife with differing ideological debates and activities. Clara Herzog is a graduate philosophy student at the University of Vienna, fascinated by 'isms', including Zionism, communism, National Socialism (Nazism), capitalism and existentialism. She loves her studies, professors, literature, best friends Mitzi and Erica, and most of all, Albert, a motorcycle-riding captain in the reserve cavalry. Despite objections from her family, Clara marries Albert. He is soon absorbed into the Nazi army machine, rises quickly through the ranks, is decorated, and serves beside the likes of General Rommel in Russia, Europe and Africa. Clara struggles to live life according to the ideals of self-determination, personal responsibility and accountability she has embraced since her youth, in spite of the fear, despair, alienation, loneliness and loss she experiences in the madness surrounding her. With great sensitivity, Palka tells Clara's story, building sympathy and admiration for the strength, courage, unwavering love and compassion she demonstrates in the face of unbelievable challenges. This deeply engrossing and unforgettable novel will leave readers shouting 'bravo' for the resiliency of the human spirit. (Apr.)" Publishers Weekly Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.
"Synopsis" by , KURT PALKA was born and educated in Austria. He began his working life in Africa where he wrote for African Mirror and made wildlife films in Kenya and Tanzania. After moving to Canada he worked on international stories for CTV and GLOBAL TV, wrote for American and Canadian publications such as the Chronicle Herald and the Globe and Mail, and worked as a Senior Producer for the CBC. Clara (originally published in hardcover as Patient Number 7) is his fifth novel; it is a finalist for the Hammett Prize.
spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.