Signed Edition Sweepstakes
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Original Essays | September 18, 2014

Lin Enger: IMG Knowing vs. Knowing



On a hot July evening years ago, my Toyota Tercel overheated on a flat stretch of highway north of Cedar Rapids, Iowa. A steam geyser shot up from... Continue »

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$17.95
List price: $26.00
Used Hardcover
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Burnside Mystery- A to Z

More copies of this ISBN

This title in other editions

The Last Winter of Dani Lancing

by

The Last Winter of Dani Lancing Cover

ISBN13: 9780804136822
ISBN10: 0804136823
Condition: Standard
Dustjacket: Standard
All Product Details

Only 1 left in stock at $17.95!

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

A riveting psychological thriller in the tradition of BEFORE I GO TO SLEEP and Memento that introduces P. D. Viner as a master of suspense.

 

Twenty years ago, college student Dani Lancing was kidnapped and brutally murdered. The killer was never found; the case long-gone cold. Her parents, Patty and Jim, were utterly devastated, their marriage destroyed. Patty has become violently consumed by the unsolved case—obsessed with following leads and desperately searching for a suspect.  Jim, however, is the opposite.  He’s now a shell of his former self, haunted—sometimes literally—by the loss of his daughter.  They both keep in contact with Tom, Dani’s childhood sweetheart, who has become a detective intent on solving murders like Dani’s.  Tom finds an opening on the case that just might finally bring some closure, so, after years of dead ends, Patty’s obsessions are lit up once again and she will do anything for revenge—even if it means dragging her whole family back into the nightmare, as lies and secrets are uncovered.

Told in fractured time, with a breathless pace and masterful plotting, THE LAST WINTER OF DANI LANCING is a superb thriller: edgy, haunting, and unforgettable.

Review:

"A complicated structure, including leaps from character to character and shifts back and forth in time, interferes with the reader's enjoyment of British author Viner's ambitious first novel, a psychological thriller. Twenty years after the unsolved murder and rape of 21-year-old Londoner Dani Lancing, who was attending university in Durham, Dani's father, Jim, is literally living with Dani's ghost — a ghost who cannot remember the circumstances of her death. Dani's mother, Patricia, left Jim years earlier; she is so obsessed with her search for her daughter's killer that she's unable to relate to another human being. Det. Supt. Tom Bevans, an appealing figure whose unrequited love of Dani drove him to find a career in helping victims and their families, has news for the Lancings: Dani's case is going to be reopened, and old evidence reexamined with state-of-the-art methods. The satisfying ending, though a bit of stretch, makes up for the stuttering plot and disorienting flashbacks. Agent: Simon Trewin, William Morris Endeavor." Publishers Weekly Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.

About the Author

P. D. Viner studied film in London and at the VGIK in Moscow. This is his first novel.  He lives in Brighton.

What Our Readers Are Saying

Add a comment for a chance to win!
Average customer rating based on 1 comment:

The Lost Entwife, October 10, 2013 (view all comments by The Lost Entwife)
The buzz surrounding The Last Winter of Dani Lancing is quite noisy - I've seen this title bandied about on Twitter, Facebook, and across numerous blogs. So what is the big deal (besides the obvious fantastic cover). Is it the name that brings out my touch of dyslexia (I always read it as The Last Winter of Lani Dancing which would take the book in an entirely different direction)? Is it a unique take on a story that has been told time and time again (Rogue daughter goes rogue)? What is it?

So, in spite of being insanely curious, I put The Last Winter of Dani Lancing into my queue and waited patiently for its turn to arrive. When that turn arrived I approached it with trepidation because, frankly, all the hype had me worried. So let me preface my actual review of this book with the following statement: While Dani Lancing was not everything I believe it was hyped up to be, it was a solid read that kept me entertained and guessing throughout the entire book. Ignore the hype and make your own judgement.

Where Dani Lancing succeeded was in the writing and method of storytelling. False leads, paranormal elements, and suspenseful moments all make up a solid brick of a story that had me turning pages like I was possessed. I had to know. But there is a danger with all of those ingredients: the danger that the ending just cannot live up to what it has been built up to be. In fact, as I write this review a few days after finishing the book, I had to take five minutes to remember exactly how it ended.

You see, the strength of Dani Lancing was its storytelling and the methodical unfolding of a complicated tale. But that was also its weakness. Because I am so caught up remembering all of the details that I felt I had to store in my mind for the final revealing that when the final revealing happened, I was still hung up on what came before. There was no big "aha" moment for me. Rather, I closed the book feeling as if it could not possibly be done yet - because I hadn't finished processing the before-the-ending parts.

Now, that may just be a failing on my part as the reader. But, the more I think on it the more I realize that there was an awful lot happening in the bulk of the story and all of those happenings tended to be overwhelming things. Between the fragmented history of Dani, a lovesick man, corruption, the marriage of Dani's parents, the relationship between Dani and her parents ... well, the list goes on and on and I'm overwhelmed remembering it all. There were just so many pieces to the puzzle that, while I enjoyed scouring through those pieces, I was sorry to see that the end result was a picture that was less than expected.

With all that said, I do recommend The Last Winter of Dani Lancing. I think it's a fine addition to the genre and would love to see more thriller/mystery books containing paranormal elements being released.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No

Product Details

ISBN:
9780804136822
Author:
Viner, P D
Publisher:
Crown Publishing Group (NY)
Author:
Viner, Phil
Author:
Viner, P. D.
Subject:
Thrillers
Subject:
Popular Fiction-Suspense
Publication Date:
20131031
Binding:
HARDCOVER
Language:
English
Pages:
400
Dimensions:
9.59 x 6.44 x 1.87 in 1.38 lb

Other books you might like

  1. In the Woods
    Used Trade Paper $7.50
  2. The Ocean at the End of the Lane New Trade Paper $9.99
  3. Emperor of All Maladies
    Used Trade Paper $8.95
  4. Be Safe I Love You
    New MP3 CD $14.99
  5. Woman Warrior Used Mass Market $4.50

Related Subjects

Fiction and Poetry » Mystery » A to Z
Fiction and Poetry » Popular Fiction » Crime
Fiction and Poetry » Popular Fiction » Suspense

The Last Winter of Dani Lancing Used Hardcover
0 stars - 0 reviews
$17.95 In Stock
Product details 400 pages Crown Publishing Group (NY) - English 9780804136822 Reviews:
"Publishers Weekly Review" by , "A complicated structure, including leaps from character to character and shifts back and forth in time, interferes with the reader's enjoyment of British author Viner's ambitious first novel, a psychological thriller. Twenty years after the unsolved murder and rape of 21-year-old Londoner Dani Lancing, who was attending university in Durham, Dani's father, Jim, is literally living with Dani's ghost — a ghost who cannot remember the circumstances of her death. Dani's mother, Patricia, left Jim years earlier; she is so obsessed with her search for her daughter's killer that she's unable to relate to another human being. Det. Supt. Tom Bevans, an appealing figure whose unrequited love of Dani drove him to find a career in helping victims and their families, has news for the Lancings: Dani's case is going to be reopened, and old evidence reexamined with state-of-the-art methods. The satisfying ending, though a bit of stretch, makes up for the stuttering plot and disorienting flashbacks. Agent: Simon Trewin, William Morris Endeavor." Publishers Weekly Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.
spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.