25 Books to Read Before You Die
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


The Powell's Playlist | August 6, 2014

Graham Joyce: IMG The Powell’s Playlist: Graham Joyce



The Ghost in the Electric Blue Suit is set on the English coast in the hot summer of 1976, so the music in this playlist is pretty much all from the... Continue »
  1. $17.47 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$18.95
New Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Available for In-store Pickup
in 7 to 12 days
Qty Store Section
3 Remote Warehouse Literature- A to Z

More copies of this ISBN

This title in other editions

How to Quiet a Vampire (Writings from an Unbound Europe)

by

How to Quiet a Vampire (Writings from an Unbound Europe) Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Synopsis:

A study of terror and intellect in the tradition of Joseph Heller and George Steiner

Synopsis:

Published to acclaim in 1977, this controversial novel of ideas follows Konrad Rutkowski-professor of medieval history and former Gestapo officer-as he returns to the scene of his war crimes determined to renounce, or perhaps justify, his Nazi past. In a series of letters to a brother-in-law, Rutkowski lays out his ambivalent reactions to war and unthinkable violence, connecting his own swirling ideas to those of some of the major figures of European thought: Plato, St. Augustine, Descartes, Nietzsche, Freud, and others.

But the novel is more than an intellectual meditation. Pekiƒ was himself a frequent political agitator and occasional prisoner, and he drew on his first hand knowledge of police methods and life under totalitarianism to paint a chilling portrait of an intellectual acting as a tool of repression. At the same time he questions whether Rutkowski's ideology puts him outside the philosophical tradition he so admires-or if the line separating it from totalitarianism is not as clear as we like to think.

About the Author

Borislav Pekic was born in 1930 in Podgorica, Yugoslavia. Arrested in 1948 for terrorism, armed rebellion, and espionage after the theft of a few typewriters and mimeographs, Pekiƒ spent five years in prison, where he began to write. He worked as a screenwriter and editor of a literary journal before publishing his first novel at age thirty-five. Constant trouble with the authorities led him to emigrate to London in the early 1970s. His novels include The Houses of Belgrade (1994) and The Time of Miracles (1994), both published by Northwestern University Press. He died of cancer in 1992 in London.

Stephen M. Dickey is an assistant professor of Slavic linguistics at the University of Virginia. He co-translated Meša Selimoviƒ's Death and the Dervish (Northwestern, 1996).

Bogdan Rakic is a visiting associate professor of Slavic Literature at Indiana University. He co-translated Meša Selimoviƒ's Death and the Dervish (Northwestern, 1996) and edited In a Foreign Harbor (Slavica, 2000). He is currently working on Borislav Pekiƒ's literary biography.

Table of Contents

Editor's Preface

Part One: Professor Konrad Rutkowski's Letters

Part Two: Professor Konrad Rutkowski's Postscripts

Part Three: The Editor's Notes

Product Details

ISBN:
9780810117204
Translator:
Dickey, Stephen M.
Translator:
Rakic, Bogdan
Translator:
Dickey, Stephen M.
Translator:
Dickey, Stephen; Rakic, Bogdan
Author:
Dickey, Stephen M.
Author:
Pekic, Borislav
Author:
Rakic, Bogdan
Publisher:
Northwestern University Press
Location:
Evanston, Ill.
Subject:
General
Subject:
Literary
Subject:
General Fiction
Subject:
General Fiction
Subject:
Literature-A to Z
Edition Description:
1
Series:
Writings from an Unbound Europe
Series Volume:
1
Publication Date:
20050431
Binding:
TRADE PAPER
Language:
English
Pages:
432
Dimensions:
8.5 x 5.5 in

Other books you might like

  1. Heir to the Glimmering World Used Trade Paper $5.95
  2. The Life and Adventures of Trobadora... Used Trade Paper $15.00
  3. Fame & folly :essays Used Hardcover $5.95
  4. Bible and Sword: England and... Used Trade Paper $5.95
  5. Either/Or: A Fragment of Life...
    Used Trade Paper $10.50
  6. The civilization of Europe in the...
    Used Book Club Hardcover $6.95

Related Subjects

Fiction and Poetry » Literature » A to Z

How to Quiet a Vampire (Writings from an Unbound Europe) New Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$18.95 In Stock
Product details 432 pages Northwestern Publishing House - English 9780810117204 Reviews:
"Synopsis" by ,
A study of terror and intellect in the tradition of Joseph Heller and George Steiner

"Synopsis" by ,
Published to acclaim in 1977, this controversial novel of ideas follows Konrad Rutkowski-professor of medieval history and former Gestapo officer-as he returns to the scene of his war crimes determined to renounce, or perhaps justify, his Nazi past. In a series of letters to a brother-in-law, Rutkowski lays out his ambivalent reactions to war and unthinkable violence, connecting his own swirling ideas to those of some of the major figures of European thought: Plato, St. Augustine, Descartes, Nietzsche, Freud, and others.

But the novel is more than an intellectual meditation. Pekiƒ was himself a frequent political agitator and occasional prisoner, and he drew on his first hand knowledge of police methods and life under totalitarianism to paint a chilling portrait of an intellectual acting as a tool of repression. At the same time he questions whether Rutkowski's ideology puts him outside the philosophical tradition he so admires-or if the line separating it from totalitarianism is not as clear as we like to think.

spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.