Summer Reading Sale
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Original Essays | June 20, 2014

Lauren Owen: IMG The Other Vampire



It's a wild and thundery night. Inside a ramshackle old manor house, a beautiful young girl lies asleep in bed. At the window, a figure watches... Continue »

spacer

A Breath of Life: Pulsations (New Directions Books)

by

A Breath of Life: Pulsations (New Directions Books) Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

A mystical dialogue between a male author (a thinly disguised Clarice Lispector) and his/her creation, a woman named Angela, this posthumous work has never before been translated. Lispector did not even live to see it published.

At her death, a mountain of fragments remained to be “structured” by Olga Borelli. These fragments form a dialogue between a god-like author who infuses the breath of life into his creation: the speaking, breathing, dying creation herself, Angela Pralini. The work’s almost occult appeal arises from the perception that if Angela dies, Clarice will have to die as well. And she did.

Review:

"One in a series of four new translations, this is the first time this posthumous book from one of Brazil's most renowned writers has been translated into English. The novel is a lyrical and expertly rendered schizoid duet comprising the exchanges between the 'Author' (a male approximation of Lispector) and Angela Pralini, a textual manifestation of his 'dark' 'interior dialogue' whom he loves yet simultaneously wants to destroy. Because the Author cannot clearly define Angela, or separate her from himself — much like Lispector (Água Viva) cannot separate herself from the Author — the novel does not progress in a traditional sense. Rather, the Author admits that 'What this book is missing is a bang. A scandal — ' something to put Angela on a trajectory other than that of her creator. As the two wrestle with the conditions of their relationship, they each offer transcendent insights into the writing process, the artifice of character creation, the morbid, and the absurd, as when the Author laments being 'objectif' as a writer, and Angela asks entreatingly, 'But does anyone hear me?' While the innovative nature of the work will likely appeal to fans of Beckett, Lispector's intoxicating prose makes this experimental dialogue special. (June)" Publishers Weekly (Starred Review) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.

Synopsis:

A mystical dialogue between a male author and his creation, this posthumous work has never before been translated, and is a book of particular beauty and strangeness.

About the Author

Clarice Lispector (1925-1977), the author of such works as Near to the Wild Heart, The Hour of the Star, and The Passion According to G. H., is the internationally acclaimed novelist and short-story writer from Brazil and the subject of Benjamin Moser's magisterial biography Why This World.

Product Details

ISBN:
9780811219624
Author:
Lispector, Clarice
Publisher:
New Directions Publishing Corporation
Author:
Lorenz, Johnny
Author:
Moser, Benjamin
Subject:
Literary
Subject:
Literature-A to Z
Publication Date:
20120631
Binding:
TRADE PAPER
Language:
English
Pages:
220
Dimensions:
8 x 5 in

Other books you might like

  1. Sailor Who Fell From Grace With the Sea Used Mass Market $3.50
  2. The Sublime Object of Ideology... Used Trade Paper $17.50

Related Subjects

Fiction and Poetry » Literature » A to Z
History and Social Science » World History » General

A Breath of Life: Pulsations (New Directions Books) New Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$15.95 In Stock
Product details 220 pages New Directions Publishing Corporation - English 9780811219624 Reviews:
"Publishers Weekly Review" by , "One in a series of four new translations, this is the first time this posthumous book from one of Brazil's most renowned writers has been translated into English. The novel is a lyrical and expertly rendered schizoid duet comprising the exchanges between the 'Author' (a male approximation of Lispector) and Angela Pralini, a textual manifestation of his 'dark' 'interior dialogue' whom he loves yet simultaneously wants to destroy. Because the Author cannot clearly define Angela, or separate her from himself — much like Lispector (Água Viva) cannot separate herself from the Author — the novel does not progress in a traditional sense. Rather, the Author admits that 'What this book is missing is a bang. A scandal — ' something to put Angela on a trajectory other than that of her creator. As the two wrestle with the conditions of their relationship, they each offer transcendent insights into the writing process, the artifice of character creation, the morbid, and the absurd, as when the Author laments being 'objectif' as a writer, and Angela asks entreatingly, 'But does anyone hear me?' While the innovative nature of the work will likely appeal to fans of Beckett, Lispector's intoxicating prose makes this experimental dialogue special. (June)" Publishers Weekly (Starred Review) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.
"Synopsis" by , A mystical dialogue between a male author and his creation, this posthumous work has never before been translated, and is a book of particular beauty and strangeness.
spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.