This is the International Mystery Sale
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Visit our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    Lists | March 13, 2015

    Hanya Yanagihara: IMG Nine Tips for Finishing That Novel



    My second novel, A Little Life — about a group of men in New York and their friendship over the course of 30 years — will be published... Continue »

    spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$12.50
List price: $18.00
Used Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
2 Beaverton Literature- A to Z
5 Burnside Literature- A to Z
3 Hawthorne Literature- A to Z

Night Film

by

Night Film Cover

 

Staff Pick

A labyrinthine, complex literary horror-mystery novel, Night Film has a seemingly endless amount of twists and turns. I was immediately and completely sucked into the story: a dark tale of an infamous horror filmmaker, his ethereal daughter, the multitude of loyal hangers-on, a possible suicide, a possible murder, disappearing witnesses, and a devastating love story. Pessl is a worthy storyteller and she certainly knows how to force you to the top of her cliffhangers. Midway through, the story seemed to become bogged down with everything devolving into some kind of dark-magic, supernatural mumbo-jumbo. Luckily, that particular twist was just a ruse designed to confuse — and, yes — I was duped. Hang on — Pessle will fling you, blindfolded, on a long and switch-backed roller coaster ride down a pitch-black rabbit hole. Enjoy the jaunt.
Recommended by Dianah, Powells.com

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY:

NPR • Cosmopolitan • Kirkus Reviews • BookPage

A page-turning thriller for readers of Stephen King, Gillian Flynn, and Stieg Larsson, Night Film tells the haunting story of a journalist who becomes obsessed with the mysterious death of a troubled prodigy — the daughter of an iconic, reclusive filmmaker.

On a damp October night, beautiful young Ashley Cordova is found dead in an abandoned warehouse in lower Manhattan. Though her death is ruled a suicide, veteran investigative journalist Scott McGrath suspects otherwise. As he probes the strange circumstances surrounding Ashley’s life and death, McGrath comes face-to-face with the legacy of her father: the legendary, reclusive cult-horror-film director Stanislas Cordova — a man who hasn’t been seen in public for more than thirty years.

For McGrath, another death connected to this seemingly cursed family dynasty seems more than just a coincidence. Though much has been written about Cordova’s dark and unsettling films, very little is known about the man himself.

Driven by revenge, curiosity, and a need for the truth, McGrath, with the aid of two strangers, is drawn deeper and deeper into Cordova’s eerie, hypnotic world.

The last time he got close to exposing the director, McGrath lost his marriage and his career. This time he might lose even more.

Night Film, the gorgeously written, spellbinding new novel by the dazzlingly inventive Marisha Pessl, will hold you in suspense until you turn the final page.

Review:

Night Film has been precision-engineered to be read at high velocity, and its energy would be the envy of any summer blockbuster. Your average writer of thrillers should lust for Pessl’s deft touch with character.” Joe Hill, The New York Times Book Review

Review:

“Maniacally clever...Cordova is a monomaniacal genius who creeps into the darkest crevices of the human psyche....As a study of a great mythmaker, Night Film is an absorbing act of myth-making itself....Dastardly fun....The plot feels like an M. C. Escher nightmare about Edgar Allan Poe....You’ll miss your subway stop, let dinner burn and start sleeping with the lights on.” The Washington Post

Review:

“Entrancing and delightful...[a] whipsmart humdinger of a thriller....It feels, above all things, new.” The Boston Globe

Review:

“A very deeply imagined book...sprints to an ending that’s equal parts nagging and haunting: What lingers, beyond all the page-turning, is a density of possible clues that leaves you leafing backward, scanning fictional blog comments and newspaper clippings, positive there’s some secret detail that will snap everything into focus.” New York

Review:

“Hypnotic....The real and the imaginary, life and art, are dizzyingly distorted not only in a Cordova night film...but in Pessl’s own Night Film as well.” Vanity Fair

Review:

“Inventive....Think Edgar Allan Poe and Stephen King meet Guillermo del Toro.” Kirkus Reviews

Review:

“Expands from a seemingly straightforward mystery into a multifaceted, densely byzantine exploration of much larger issues.” Booklist (starred review)

Review:

“This summer’s Gone Girl: a completely absorbing literary thriller.” Library Journal

About the Author

Marisha Pessl’s bestselling debut novel, Special Topics in Calamity Physics, won the John Sargent Sr. First Novel Prize (now the Center for Fiction’s Flaherty-Dunnan First Novel Prize), and was selected as one of the 10 Best Books of the Year by The New York Times Book Review. Pessl grew up in Asheville, North Carolina, and currently resides in New York City.

Product Details

ISBN:
9780812979787
Author:
Pessl, Marisha
Publisher:
Random House Trade
Subject:
Suspense
Subject:
Popular Fiction-Suspense
Edition Description:
Trade paper
Publication Date:
20140731
Binding:
TRADE PAPER
Language:
English
Pages:
640
Dimensions:
8.1 x 5.4 x 1.04 in 1.38 lb

Other books you might like

  1. A Tale for the Time Being
    Sale Trade Paper $8.98
  2. The Signature of All Things
    Sale Trade Paper $8.98
  3. A Constellation of Vital Phenomena
    Used Hardcover $7.95
  4. Bad Monkey
    Used Hardcover $7.95
  5. California
    New Mass Market $13.50
  6. The People in the Trees New Mass Market $13.50

Related Subjects

Featured Titles » General
Featured Titles » Literature
Featured Titles » Staff Picks
Fiction and Poetry » Literature » A to Z
Fiction and Poetry » Popular Fiction » Suspense

Night Film Used Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$12.50 In Stock
Product details 640 pages Random House Trade - English 9780812979787 Reviews:
"Staff Pick" by ,

A labyrinthine, complex literary horror-mystery novel, Night Film has a seemingly endless amount of twists and turns. I was immediately and completely sucked into the story: a dark tale of an infamous horror filmmaker, his ethereal daughter, the multitude of loyal hangers-on, a possible suicide, a possible murder, disappearing witnesses, and a devastating love story. Pessl is a worthy storyteller and she certainly knows how to force you to the top of her cliffhangers. Midway through, the story seemed to become bogged down with everything devolving into some kind of dark-magic, supernatural mumbo-jumbo. Luckily, that particular twist was just a ruse designed to confuse — and, yes — I was duped. Hang on — Pessle will fling you, blindfolded, on a long and switch-backed roller coaster ride down a pitch-black rabbit hole. Enjoy the jaunt.

"Review" by , Night Film has been precision-engineered to be read at high velocity, and its energy would be the envy of any summer blockbuster. Your average writer of thrillers should lust for Pessl’s deft touch with character.”
"Review" by , “Maniacally clever...Cordova is a monomaniacal genius who creeps into the darkest crevices of the human psyche....As a study of a great mythmaker, Night Film is an absorbing act of myth-making itself....Dastardly fun....The plot feels like an M. C. Escher nightmare about Edgar Allan Poe....You’ll miss your subway stop, let dinner burn and start sleeping with the lights on.”
"Review" by , “Entrancing and delightful...[a] whipsmart humdinger of a thriller....It feels, above all things, new.”
"Review" by , “A very deeply imagined book...sprints to an ending that’s equal parts nagging and haunting: What lingers, beyond all the page-turning, is a density of possible clues that leaves you leafing backward, scanning fictional blog comments and newspaper clippings, positive there’s some secret detail that will snap everything into focus.”
"Review" by , “Hypnotic....The real and the imaginary, life and art, are dizzyingly distorted not only in a Cordova night film...but in Pessl’s own Night Film as well.”
"Review" by , “Inventive....Think Edgar Allan Poe and Stephen King meet Guillermo del Toro.”
"Review" by , “Expands from a seemingly straightforward mystery into a multifaceted, densely byzantine exploration of much larger issues.”
"Review" by , “This summer’s Gone Girl: a completely absorbing literary thriller.”
spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.