Murakami Sale
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Original Essays | August 21, 2014

Richard Bausch: IMG Why Literature Can Save Us



Our title is, of course, a problem. "Why Literature Can Save Us." And of course the problem is one of definition: what those words mean. What is... Continue »
  1. $18.87 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

    Before, During, After

    Richard Bausch 9780307266262

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$5.50
Used Hardcover
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Beaverton Literature- A to Z

More copies of this ISBN

A Thousand Pardons

by

A Thousand Pardons Cover

ISBN13: 9780812993219
ISBN10: 0812993217
Condition: Standard
Dustjacket: Standard
All Product Details

Only 1 left in stock at $5.50!

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

For readers of Jonathan Franzen and Richard Russo, Jonathan Dee's novels are masterful works of literary fiction. In this sharply observed tale of self-invention and public scandal, Dee raises a trenchant question: what do we really want when we ask for forgiveness?

Once a privileged and loving couple, the Armsteads have now reached a breaking point. Ben, a partner in a prestigious law firm, has become unpredictable at work and withdrawn at home — a change that weighs heavily on his wife, Helen, and their preteen daughter, Sara. Then, in one afternoon, Ben's recklessness takes an alarming turn, and everything the Armsteads have built together unravels, swiftly and spectacularly.

Thrust back into the working world, Helen finds a job in public relations and relocates with Sara from their home in upstate New York to an apartment in Manhattan. There, Helen discovers she has a rare gift, indispensable in the world of image control: She can convince arrogant men to admit their mistakes, spinning crises into second chances. Yet redemption is more easily granted in her professional life than in her personal one.

As she is confronted with the biggest case of her career, the fallout from her marriage, and Sara's increasingly distant behavior, Helen must face the limits of accountability and her own capacity for forgiveness.

Review:

"A Thousand Pardons is that rare thing: a genuine literary thriller. Eerily suspenseful and packed with dramatic event, it also offers a trenchant, hilarious portrait of our collective longing for authenticity in these overmediated times." Jennifer Egan, Pulitzer Prize-winning author of A Visit from the Goon Squad

Review:

"A page turner without sacrificing a smidgen of psychological insight. What a triumph." Kirkus (starred review)

Review:

"Dee is adept at meshing the complexities of marriage and family life with the paradoxes of the zeitgeist. In his sixth meticulously lathed and magnetizing novel, he riffs on the practice of crisis management...[and] nets the absurdities of a society geared to communicate in a thousand electronic modes while those closest to each other can barely make eye connect." Booklist

About the Author

Jonathan Dee is the author of five novels, most recently The Privileges, which was both a finalist for the 2010 Pulitzer Prize and winner of the 2011 Prix Fitzgerald. He is a contributing writer for the New York Times Magazine, a National Magazine Award–nominated literary critic for Harper’s, and a former senior editor of the Paris Review. He teaches in the graduate writing programs at Columbia University and the New School. He is the recipient of fellowships from Yaddo, the MacDowell Colony, the National Endowment of the Arts, and the Guggenheim Foundation.

What Our Readers Are Saying

Add a comment for a chance to win!
Average customer rating based on 1 comment:

writermala, June 23, 2013 (view all comments by writermala)
"A thousand pardons," is for the most part a family drama. However, at the end it turns into a literary thriller and the author Jonathan Dee manages to weave the mystery into the plot quite seamlessly. The characters in the story are Helen, Ben and their adopted daughter, Sara. The family threads are unraveled by Ben and Helen becomes the strong sustaining parent by moving to Manhattan and finding a job at which she excels. When her past reappears in the form of an actor Helen is suddenly asked to cope with a lot and the reader keeps turning pages to see how Helen manages. A definite "must read."
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No

Product Details

ISBN:
9780812993219
Author:
Dee, Jonathan
Publisher:
Random House
Subject:
Literary
Subject:
Literature-A to Z
Publication Date:
20130331
Binding:
HARDCOVER
Language:
English
Pages:
224
Dimensions:
9.5 x 6.3 x 0.94 in 1.06 lb

Other books you might like

  1. Rules of Civility
    Used Hardcover $4.95
  2. The Dinner
    Used Hardcover $8.95
  3. Little Shop of Homicide (Devereaux's...
    Used Mass Market $5.50
  4. The Intelligent Investor REV Ed. Used Trade Paper $14.50

Related Subjects

Featured Titles » Literature
Fiction and Poetry » Literature » A to Z
Fiction and Poetry » Literature » Contemporary Women
Fiction and Poetry » Literature » Family Life

A Thousand Pardons Used Hardcover
0 stars - 0 reviews
$5.50 In Stock
Product details 224 pages Random House - English 9780812993219 Reviews:
"Review" by , "A Thousand Pardons is that rare thing: a genuine literary thriller. Eerily suspenseful and packed with dramatic event, it also offers a trenchant, hilarious portrait of our collective longing for authenticity in these overmediated times."
"Review" by , "A page turner without sacrificing a smidgen of psychological insight. What a triumph."
"Review" by , "Dee is adept at meshing the complexities of marriage and family life with the paradoxes of the zeitgeist. In his sixth meticulously lathed and magnetizing novel, he riffs on the practice of crisis management...[and] nets the absurdities of a society geared to communicate in a thousand electronic modes while those closest to each other can barely make eye connect."
spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.