No Words Wasted Sale
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Visit our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    Original Essays | December 8, 2014

    Marina Warner: IMG How Is Fantasy Different from Fairy Tale?



    Fairy tale is a country of the mind where there are many inhabitants stretching back into deep time, and we're like people before Babel, we speak a... Continue »

    spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$26.95
New Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
available for shipping or prepaid pickup only
Available for In-store Pickup
in 7 to 12 days
Qty Store Section
25 Remote Warehouse Science Fiction and Fantasy- Adventure

The Moon Pool

by

The Moon Pool Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

One of the most gripping fantasies ever written, The Moon Pool embodies all the romanticism and poetic nostalgia characteristic of A. Merritt's writings. Set on the island of Ponape, full of ruins from ancient civilizations, the novel chronicles the adventures of a party of explorers who discover a previously unknown underground world full of strange peoples and super-scientific wonders. From the depths of this world, the party unwittingly unleashes the Dweller, a monstrous terror that threatens the islands of the South Pacific. Although Merritt did not invent the lost world novel, following in the footsteps of Sir Arthur Conan Doyle, Burroughs and others, he greatly elaborated upon that tradition. This new edition includes a biography of the author, and an introduction detailing Merritt's many sources and influences, including the occult, mythological, and scientific discourses of his day. Author of 15 science fiction and fantasy novels, ABRAHAM MERRITT (1884-1943) was the most popular genre writer of his time. His talent for fantasy and science fiction writing was first recognized when the novelette version of this story appeared in a 1918 issue of All-Story Weekly. Editor MICHAEL LEVY currently serves as Chair of the Department of English and Philosophy at the University of Wisconsin-Stout. The Moon Pool is a lost-world novel in the tradition of Jules Verne, Sir Arthur Conan Doyle, Edgar Rice Burroughs, H. Rider Haggard, and James Hilton that manages to be spooky, spiritual, and silly all at once.-Belles Lettres This edition of The Moon Pool is a rare accomplishment: a scholarly edition of a piece of pulp fiction. Levy's edition does a service to the whole genre. -JohnHuntington, author of Rationalizing Genius As one of the most popular early works at the very birth of pulp magazines, The Moon Pool represents the tastes of this period. The introduction constitutes the major piece of Merritt scholarship to appear in recent decades.-Gary K. Wolfe, author of The Known and the Unknown

Synopsis:

One of the most gripping fantasies ever written, The Moon Pool embodies all the romanticism and poetic nostalgia characteristic of A. Merritt's writings. Set on the island of Ponape, full of ruins from ancient civilizations, the novel chronicles the adventures of a party of explorers who discover a previously unknown underground world full of strange peoples and super-scientific wonders. From the depths of this world, the party unwittingly unleashes the Dweller, a monstrous terror that threatens the islands of the South Pacific. Although Merritt did not invent the lost world novel, following in the footsteps of Sir Arthur Conan Doyle, Burroughs and others, he greatly elaborated upon that tradition. This new edition includes a biography of the author, and an introduction detailing Merritt's many sources and influences, including the occult, mythological, and scientific discourses of his day.

Synopsis:

The first scholarly edition of a classic science fiction novel.

Product Details

ISBN:
9780819567079
Author:
Merritt, A.
Publisher:
Wesleyan
Manufactured:
Wesleyan University Press
Editor:
Levy, Michael
Author:
Merritt, Abraham
Subject:
Science Fiction - General
Subject:
Science fiction
Subject:
Oceania
Subject:
Botanists
Subject:
Geographical myths
Subject:
Fiction : Science Fiction - General
Subject:
Science Fiction and Fantasy-Adventure
Publication Date:
20040831
Binding:
TRADE PAPER
Language:
English
Pages:
352

Other books you might like

  1. There Are Doors Used Mass Market $4.95
  2. Best of the Best Volume 2: 20 Years... Used Trade Paper $15.00
  3. Good Omens: The Nice and Accurate...
    Used Mass Market $3.95
  4. The New Weird Used Trade Paper $8.00

Related Subjects

Fiction and Poetry » Literature » A to Z
Fiction and Poetry » Science Fiction and Fantasy » A to Z
Fiction and Poetry » Science Fiction and Fantasy » Adventure

The Moon Pool New Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$26.95 In Stock
Product details 352 pages Wesleyan University Press - English 9780819567079 Reviews:
"Synopsis" by , One of the most gripping fantasies ever written, The Moon Pool embodies all the romanticism and poetic nostalgia characteristic of A. Merritt's writings. Set on the island of Ponape, full of ruins from ancient civilizations, the novel chronicles the adventures of a party of explorers who discover a previously unknown underground world full of strange peoples and super-scientific wonders. From the depths of this world, the party unwittingly unleashes the Dweller, a monstrous terror that threatens the islands of the South Pacific. Although Merritt did not invent the lost world novel, following in the footsteps of Sir Arthur Conan Doyle, Burroughs and others, he greatly elaborated upon that tradition. This new edition includes a biography of the author, and an introduction detailing Merritt's many sources and influences, including the occult, mythological, and scientific discourses of his day.
"Synopsis" by , The first scholarly edition of a classic science fiction novel.
spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.