Master your Minecraft
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Tour our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    What I'm Giving | December 5, 2014

    William Gibson: IMG William Gibson: What I'm Giving



    At Powell's, we feel the holidays are the perfect time to share our love of books with those close to us. For this special blog series, we reached... Continue »

    spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$10.95
List price: $15.95
Used Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Burnside Literature- A to Z
1 Local Warehouse Literature- A to Z

More copies of this ISBN

Player One: What Is to Become of Us: A Novel in Five Hours (CBC Massey Lectures)

by

Player One: What Is to Become of Us: A Novel in Five Hours (CBC Massey Lectures) Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

International bestselling author Douglas Coupland delivers a real-time, five-hour story set in an airport cocktail lounge during a global disaster. Five disparate people are trapped inside: Karen, a single mother waiting for her online date; Rick, the down-on-his-luck airport lounge bartender; Luke, a pastor on the run; Rachel, a cool Hitchcock blonde incapable of true human contact; and finally a mysterious voice known as Player One. Slowly, each reveals the truth about themselves while the world as they know it comes to an end.

In the tradition of Kurt Vonnegut and J. G. Ballard, Coupland explores the modern crises of time, human identity, society, religion, and the afterlife. The book asks as many questions as it answers, and readers will leave the story with no doubt that we are in a new phase of existence as a species — and that there is no turning back.

Review:

"In Coupland's real-time near-apocalyptic novel, a recovering alcoholic, a divorcée, a church-fund embezzler, a beautiful android-like woman, and a man who is distinguished by his prickly demeanor converge in an airport cocktail lounge at the precise moment when oil prices begin to rise and society begins to unravel around them. Such an intriguing premise could have lead to explorations of the nature of chaos and human resilience, but the author relies instead on cursory philosophizing, allowing his characters to ramble. The players emerge as near-caricatures who are forced to contend with each other's weaknesses and a small cast of strangers, from a sniper to a 'false prophet' selling the Leslie Freemont Power Dynamics program. In one man's brusque assessment, the others are 'a depressing grab bag of pop culture influences and cancelled emotions, driven by the sputtering engine of the most banal form of capitalism,' words which reveal both the book's vivid style and an apt critique of modern consciousness. Though the book at times feels more like television than a richly conceived world, painting aspects of adults in crisis perhaps too broadly, it is redeemed an ending that allows some of them to survive.
(c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved." Publishers Weekly (Copyright PWyxz LLC)

Synopsis:

Set in an airport cocktail lounge during five hours of a global disaster, Coupland's latest work asks readers: At what point do humans stop being human and become something else?

Product Details

ISBN:
9780887849688
Author:
Coupland, Douglas
Publisher:
House of Anansi Press
Author:
Coupland, Douglas
Subject:
General
Subject:
General Fiction
Subject:
Literature-A to Z
Edition Description:
Trade Paper
Series:
CBC Massey Lectures
Publication Date:
20101031
Binding:
TRADE PAPER
Language:
English
Pages:
256
Dimensions:
8 x 5 in

Other books you might like

  1. Hand to Mouth: A Chronicle of Early... Used Trade Paper $4.95
  2. The Brooklyn Follies: A Novel
    Used Trade Paper $3.50
  3. New York Trilogy Used Trade Paper $7.50
  4. Replay
    Used Trade Paper $1.95
  5. Armed and Dangerous: The Hunt for... New Mass Market $7.99

Related Subjects

Featured Titles » Genre
Fiction and Poetry » Literature » A to Z

Player One: What Is to Become of Us: A Novel in Five Hours (CBC Massey Lectures) Used Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$10.95 In Stock
Product details 256 pages House of Anansi Press - English 9780887849688 Reviews:
"Publishers Weekly Review" by , "In Coupland's real-time near-apocalyptic novel, a recovering alcoholic, a divorcée, a church-fund embezzler, a beautiful android-like woman, and a man who is distinguished by his prickly demeanor converge in an airport cocktail lounge at the precise moment when oil prices begin to rise and society begins to unravel around them. Such an intriguing premise could have lead to explorations of the nature of chaos and human resilience, but the author relies instead on cursory philosophizing, allowing his characters to ramble. The players emerge as near-caricatures who are forced to contend with each other's weaknesses and a small cast of strangers, from a sniper to a 'false prophet' selling the Leslie Freemont Power Dynamics program. In one man's brusque assessment, the others are 'a depressing grab bag of pop culture influences and cancelled emotions, driven by the sputtering engine of the most banal form of capitalism,' words which reveal both the book's vivid style and an apt critique of modern consciousness. Though the book at times feels more like television than a richly conceived world, painting aspects of adults in crisis perhaps too broadly, it is redeemed an ending that allows some of them to survive.
(c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved." Publishers Weekly (Copyright PWyxz LLC)
"Synopsis" by , Set in an airport cocktail lounge during five hours of a global disaster, Coupland's latest work asks readers: At what point do humans stop being human and become something else?
spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.