Poetry Madness
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Interviews | April 8, 2014

Shawn Donley: IMG Gabrielle Zevin: The Powells.com Interview



Gabrielle ZevinThe American Booksellers Association collects nominations from bookstores all over the country for favorite forthcoming titles. The Storied Life of... Continue »
  1. $17.47 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

    The Storied Life of A. J. Fikry

    Gabrielle Zevin 9781616203214

spacer

On Order

$11.75
New Trade Paper
Currently out of stock.
Add to Wishlist
available for shipping or prepaid pickup only
Qty Store Section
- Local Warehouse Literature- A to Z

A Movie...and a Book

by

A Movie...and a Book Cover

ISBN13: 9781400076178
ISBN10: 140007617x
Condition:
All Product Details

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

"Life is a game: it's a movie and it's a book. It's not always easy, but there is always a way. You just have to look at it the right way."

In this stunning debut, Daniel Wagner delivers a soulful examination of the forces that both drive us and oppose us. Jim Frazier is a writer with very little to show for it. He worries that the only way to achieve success is to lower the bar, sell out, and pander to commercialism. Meanwhile, somewhere far away, a woman named Liz and a man named Lou are stranded on a desert island. While they are faced with an obviously serious problem, the two have some more important issues to discuss. As these two seemingly separate stories converge, Wagner presents a meditation on the worlds we inhabit that will resonate long after the credits roll and the last page has been turned.

Review:

"Story one in this convoluted, philosophically dense novella concerns a hen-pecked struggling writer who wishes he could dispense with commercially necessary plot contrivances and just write about the mundane epiphanies of everyday existence. Seemingly unrelated story two is just such a romantic plot contrivance about a man and a woman shipwrecked on a desert island who do little but mull over the mundane epiphanies of everyday existence. We gradually realize that story two is, somewhat magically, both real and the fictional contrivance of the writer in story one and his brother, who themselves may be real or just fictional characters in a screenplay being uncomprehendingly read aloud by an old man. Weaving narrative artifice with skeptical meta-commentary on narrative artifice, the intertwining stories ask whether humans possess free will or are mere plot contrivances in a tale told by an idiot. The book is explicitly recommended for fans of Memento and Adaptation, to which one could add The Truman Show and many another movie or book that considers the processes of narrative artifice to be as interesting as the narrative itself. Snowboarder and first-time novelist Wagner is a good observer of domestic and emotional detail, which will serve him well when he gets past tail-chasing why-we-write conceits and decides to tell a story straight." Publishers Weekly

Review:

"A sly novel....Figuring out what is fiction and what is reality is half the fun of this book." ?Milwaukee Journal Sentinel

Review:

"...I was absolutely mesmerized by it from the start to finish." Chris Bohjalian, author of Midwives and The Buffalo Soldier

Review:

"A must-read for fans of Memento and Adaptation." Eric Garcia, author of Matchstick Men

About the Author

Daniel Wagner lives in Basel, Switzerland. A Movie...and A Book is his first novel.

What Our Readers Are Saying

Add a comment for a chance to win!
Average customer rating based on 1 comment:

Emily Lehman, April 26, 2007 (view all comments by Emily Lehman)
All in all I enjoyed this book. It was short, and don't expect a plot or a tying up of any loose ends. But somehow the meandering narrative is the beauty of it. Just sit back and relax into the author?s sometimes vivid observations about life here on earth.


Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(15 of 29 readers found this comment helpful)

Product Details

ISBN:
9781400076178
Author:
Wagner, Daniel
Publisher:
Vintage Contemporaries
Subject:
General
Subject:
General Fiction
Subject:
Literature-A to Z
Edition Description:
Trade paper
Series:
Vintage Contemporaries
Publication Date:
20050731
Binding:
TRADE PAPER
Grade Level:
General/trade
Language:
English
Pages:
128
Dimensions:
8.10x5.24x.35 in. .30 lbs.

Other books you might like

  1. Nowhere Man Used Trade Paper $4.50
  2. Platform Used Trade Paper $9.95
  3. Cruisers Used Hardcover $9.50
  4. Created in Darkness by Troubled... Used Hardcover $7.95

Related Subjects


Fiction and Poetry » Literature » A to Z

A Movie...and a Book New Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$11.75 Backorder
Product details 128 pages Vintage Contemporaries - English 9781400076178 Reviews:
"Publishers Weekly Review" by , "Story one in this convoluted, philosophically dense novella concerns a hen-pecked struggling writer who wishes he could dispense with commercially necessary plot contrivances and just write about the mundane epiphanies of everyday existence. Seemingly unrelated story two is just such a romantic plot contrivance about a man and a woman shipwrecked on a desert island who do little but mull over the mundane epiphanies of everyday existence. We gradually realize that story two is, somewhat magically, both real and the fictional contrivance of the writer in story one and his brother, who themselves may be real or just fictional characters in a screenplay being uncomprehendingly read aloud by an old man. Weaving narrative artifice with skeptical meta-commentary on narrative artifice, the intertwining stories ask whether humans possess free will or are mere plot contrivances in a tale told by an idiot. The book is explicitly recommended for fans of Memento and Adaptation, to which one could add The Truman Show and many another movie or book that considers the processes of narrative artifice to be as interesting as the narrative itself. Snowboarder and first-time novelist Wagner is a good observer of domestic and emotional detail, which will serve him well when he gets past tail-chasing why-we-write conceits and decides to tell a story straight." Publishers Weekly
"Review" by , "A sly novel....Figuring out what is fiction and what is reality is half the fun of this book." ?Milwaukee Journal Sentinel
"Review" by , "...I was absolutely mesmerized by it from the start to finish."
"Review" by , "A must-read for fans of Memento and Adaptation."
spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.