Murakami Sale
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


The Powell's Playlist | August 8, 2014

Peter Mendelsund: IMG The Powell's Playlist: Water Music by Peter Mendelsund



We "see" when we read, and we "see" when we listen. There are many ways in which music can create the cross-sensory experience of this seeing...... Continue »
  1. $11.87 Sale Trade Paper add to wish list

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$6.99
New Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
2 Beaverton Children's- Science Fiction and Fantasy
2 Burnside Children's Young Adult- General
1 Hawthorne Children's Middle Readers- General
25 Local Warehouse General- General
19 Remote Warehouse Children's Middle Readers- A to Z

Tripods #02: The City of Gold and Lead

by

Tripods #02: The City of Gold and Lead Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

Will and his friends return to the City of the Tripodsand#8212;and risk their livesand#8212;in this second book of a classic alien trilogy ideal for fans of Rick Yanceyand#8217;s andlt;I andgt;The 5th Waveandlt;/Iandgt; and Margaret Peterson Haddixand#8217;s Shadow Children series.andlt;BRandgt;andlt;BRandgt;When Will and his friends arrived at the White Mountains, they thought everything would be okay. Theyand#8217;d found a safe haven where the mechanical monsters called Tripods could not find them. But once there, they wonder about the world around them and how they are faring against the machines.andlt;BRandgt; andlt;BRandgt;In order to save everyone else, Will and his friends want to take down the Tripods once and for all. That means journeying to the Tripod capital: the City of Gold and Lead.andlt;BRandgt; andlt;BRandgt;Although the journey will be difficult, the real danger comes once Will is inside the city, where Tripods roam freely and humans are even more enslaved than they are on the outside. Without anyone to help him, Will must learn the secrets of the Tripodsand#8212;and how to take them downand#8212;before they figure out that heand#8217;s a spyand#8230;and he can only pretend to be brainwashed for so long.

About the Author

John Christopherandnbsp;was theandnbsp;pseudonym of Samuel Youd, who was born in Lancashire, England, in 1922. He was the author of more than fifty novels and novellas, as well as numerous short stories. His most famous books include andlt;iandgt;The Death of Grassandlt;/iandgt;, the Tripods trilogy, andlt;iandgt;The Lotus Cavesandlt;/iandgt;, and andlt;iandgt;The Guardiansandlt;/iandgt;.

Product Details

ISBN:
9781481414753
Author:
Christopher, John
Publisher:
Aladdin Paperbacks
Subject:
Tripods; science fiction; post-apocalyptic; apocalypse; end of the world; adventure; aliens; alien invasion; robots; extraterrestrial; John Christopher; Sam Youd; Christopher Samuel Youd; England; France; Europe
Edition Description:
Reissue
Series:
The Tripods
Series Volume:
2
Publication Date:
20140531
Binding:
TRADE PAPER
Grade Level:
from 4 up to 8
Language:
English
Illustrations:
f-c gloss UV cvr on metallic stock w- em
Pages:
304
Dimensions:
193.675 x 130.175 mm
Age Level:
from 9 up to 13

Related Subjects

Children's » Middle Readers » General
Children's » Science Fiction and Fantasy » General
Young Adult » General

Tripods #02: The City of Gold and Lead New Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$6.99 In Stock
Product details 304 pages Aladdin Paperbacks - English 9781481414753 Reviews:
spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.