Warriors B2G1 Free
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Visit our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    The Powell's Playlist | April 27, 2015

    Austin Bunn: IMG I Am Listening: Austin Bunn's Playlist for The Brink



    When I first started writing, I'd give stories to friends and press a mix tape into their hand: when you read this, listen to this. Let me take this... Continue »
    1. $10.49 Sale Trade Paper add to wish list

      The Brink: Stories

      Austin Bunn 9780062362612

    spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$6.99
New Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
2 Beaverton Children's- Science Fiction and Fantasy
11 Burnside Children's Young Adult- General
25 Local Warehouse General- General
25 Remote Warehouse Children's Middle Readers- A to Z

This title in other editions

Tripods #1: The White Mountains

by

Tripods #1: The White Mountains Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

Monstrous machines rule the Earth, but a few humans are fighting for freedom in this repackaged start to a classic alien trilogy ideal for fans of Rick Yanceyand#8217;s andlt;I andgt;The 5th Waveandlt;/Iandgt;.andlt;BRandgt;andlt;BRandgt;Will Parker never dreamed he would be the one to rebel against the Tripods. With the approach of his thirteenth birthday, he expected to attend his Capping ceremony as planned and to become connected to the Tripodsand#8212;huge three-legged machinesand#8212;that now control all of Earth. But after an encounter with a strange homeless man called Beanpole, Will sets out for the White Mountains, where people are said to be free from the control of the Tripods.andlt;BRandgt; andlt;BRandgt;But even with the help of Beanpole and his friends, the journey is long and hard. And with the Tripods hunting for anyone who tries to break free, Will must reach the White Mountains fast. But the longer heand#8217;s away from his home, the more the Tripods look for himand#8230;and no one can hide from the monstrous machines forever.

About the Author

John Christopher was the pseudonym of Samuel Youd, who was born in Lancashire, England, in 1922. He was the author of more than fifty novels and novellas, as well as numerous short stories. His most famous books include andlt;iandgt;The Death of Grassandlt;/iandgt;, the Tripods trilogy, andlt;iandgt;The Lotus Cavesandlt;/iandgt;, and andlt;iandgt;The Guardiansandlt;/iandgt;.

Product Details

ISBN:
9781481414777
Author:
Christopher, John
Publisher:
Aladdin Paperbacks
Subject:
Tripods; science fiction; post-apocalyptic; apocalypse; end of the world; adventure; aliens; alien invasion; robots; extraterrestrial; John Christopher; Sam Youd; Christopher Samuel Youd; England; France; Europe
Edition Description:
Reissue
Series:
The Tripods
Series Volume:
1
Publication Date:
20140531
Binding:
TRADE PAPER
Grade Level:
from 4 up to 8
Language:
English
Illustrations:
f-c gloss UV cvr on metallic stock w- em
Pages:
272
Dimensions:
193.675 x 130.175 mm
Age Level:
from 9 up to 13

Other books you might like

  1. Scared Stiff
    New Trade Paper $6.99
  2. Escape from Mr. Lemoncello's Library
    Used Trade Paper $4.95
  3. Love Ruby Lavender Used Trade Paper $1.50
  4. Point Blank (Alex Rider Adventures) Used Trade Paper $1.50
  5. Kindred: 25th Anniversary Edition
    Sale Trade Paper $8.98
  6. Redwall #01: Redwall
    Used Mass Market $3.95

Related Subjects

Children's » Featured Titles
Children's » Middle Readers » General
Children's » Science Fiction and Fantasy » General
Featured Titles » Genre
Young Adult » General

Tripods #1: The White Mountains New Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$6.99 In Stock
Product details 272 pages Aladdin Paperbacks - English 9781481414777 Reviews:
spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.