Master your Minecraft
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Tour our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    Best Books of the Year | December 8, 2014

    Tracey T.: IMG Best Cookbooks of 2014



    As the cookbook buyer for Powell's Books, I am the lucky one who gets to choose every new cookbook that comes into our stores. This means I have a... Continue »

    spacer

This item may be
out of stock.

Click on the button below to search for this title in other formats.


Check for Availability
Add to Wishlist

Haunting Bombay

by

Haunting Bombay Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

An] intriguing debut novel...Agarwal seeks to give voice to the dispossessed through the supernatural.--USA Today

Shilpa] Agarwal's work willdefinitely appeal to fans of Monica Ali and Jhumpa Lahiri by virtue of its characters and setting, but it retains a fresh, original feel that will draw in new readers with its own literary merit. Recommended for all butthe smallest fiction collections.--Library Journal

In her stunning debut novel Shilpa Agarwal takes on the ghosts that bedevil young PinkyMittal's extended family and dispatches them with rambunctious wit and affection. The result is like finely wrought mirror work, a glittering tapestry of vibrant contradictions, characters, and mysteries. HauntingBombay flirts deliciously with the true spirit of India.--Aimee Liu, author of Flash House

After her mother's death crossing the border fromPakistan to India during Partition, baby Pinky was taken in by her grandmother, Maji, the matriarch of the powerful Mittal family. Now thirteen years old, Pinky lives with her grandmother and her uncle's familyin a bungalow on the Malabar Heights in Bombay. While she has never really been accepted by her uncle's family, she has always had Maji's love.

One day, as monsoons engulf the city, Pinky opens a mysteriously bolted door, unleashing the ghosts of an infant who drowned shortly before Pinky's arrival and of the nursemaid who cared for the child. Three generations of the Mittal family muststruggle to come to terms with their secrets amidst hidden shame, forbidden love, and a call for absolute sacrifice.

Shilpa Agarwal was born in Bombay and currently lives in LosAngeles. She is a graduate of Duke University and UCLA and has taught at both UCLA and UC Santa Barbara. As an unpublished novel, Haunting Bombay won a 2003 First Words Literary Prize for South AsianWriters. It is her first novel.

From the Hardcover edition.

Synopsis:

In a novel set in Bombay in the 1960s, teenager Pinky Mittal, who is being raised by her grandmother, opens a door that has been bolted all her life and frees the ghost of a stillborn infant that totally disrupts the household.

About the Author

\Shilpa Agarwal was born in Bombay (now Mumbai) and currently lives in Los Angeles. She is a graduate of Duke University and the University of California, Los Angeles and has taught at both UCLA and UC Santa Barbara. She is a founder and board member of the South Asian Artists' Collective. HAUNTING BOMBAY is her first novel.

Product Details

ISBN:
9781569477083
Publisher:
Soho Press
Subject:
Fiction : Literary
Author:
Agarwal, Shilpa
Subject:
Fiction : Ghost
Subject:
main_subject
Subject:
all_subjects
Publication Date:
April 2009
Binding:
eBooks
Language:
English
Pages:
368

Related Subjects

Fiction and Poetry » Horror » General
Fiction and Poetry » Literature » A to Z
Fiction and Poetry » Literature » Family Life
Fiction and Poetry » Mystery » A to Z
Fiction and Poetry » Science Fiction and Fantasy » Fantasy » General

Haunting Bombay
0 stars - 0 reviews
$ In Stock
Product details 368 pages Soho Press - English 9781569477083 Reviews:
"Synopsis" by , In a novel set in Bombay in the 1960s, teenager Pinky Mittal, who is being raised by her grandmother, opens a door that has been bolted all her life and frees the ghost of a stillborn infant that totally disrupts the household.
spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.