This is Real Life Sale
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Visit our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    Original Essays | February 26, 2015

    Megan Kruse: IMG Being John: On Sorrow, Writing, and Transmigration



    November was cold that year. I dreamed of a blue snow closing around me like a fist. I was 12 and had few friends; I wore tragically misguided... Continue »

    spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$8.00
List price: $13.99
Used Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
available for shipping or prepaid pickup only
Available for In-store Pickup
in 7 to 12 days
Qty Store Section
4 Partner Warehouse General- General

Erewhon (98 Edition)

by

Erewhon (98 Edition) Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Please note that used books may not include additional media (study guides, CDs, DVDs, solutions manuals, etc.) as described in the publisher comments.

Publisher Comments:

Written in the tradition of Jonathan Swift's Gulliver's Travels, English novelist, essayist, and iconoclast Samuel Butler (1835-1902) describes an imaginary visit to a topsy-turvy country called Erewhon (an anagram of "nowhere"), where it is a punishable offense to be physically ill, but where criminality and immorality are looked kindly upon as treatable diseases. The English church is pilloried in the system of "Musical Banks," whose currency nobody believes in but everyone pretends to value. Universities teach courses on how to say nothing at great length, and all machines have been banned for fear that they will develop through evolution and enslave the citizens.

Product Details

ISBN:
9781573922043
Author:
Butler, Samuel
Publisher:
Prometheus Books
Location:
Amherst, N.Y. :
Subject:
Fiction
Subject:
Classics
Subject:
Humorous
Subject:
British and irish fiction (fictional works by
Subject:
Utopias
Subject:
Utopias -- Fiction.
Subject:
Satire
Subject:
Utopian fiction
Subject:
Literature-A to Z
Edition Description:
Trade paper
Series:
Literary Classics
Publication Date:
19980431
Binding:
TRADE PAPER
Language:
English
Illustrations:
Yes
Pages:
320
Dimensions:
8.52x5.53x.92 in. .90 lbs.

Other books you might like

  1. Cranford and Cousin Phillis (Penguin... Used Mass Market $5.50
  2. The Haunting of Hill House Used Mass Market $4.95
  3. Brave New World
    Used Mass Market $4.95
  4. Scarlet Letter Norton Critical 3RD... Used Trade Paper $5.95
  5. Lady Audley's secret Used Trade Paper $3.50
  6. 1984 (Signet Classics)
    Used Mass Market $4.95

Related Subjects

Fiction and Poetry » Literature » A to Z
Health and Self-Help » Health and Medicine » Medical Specialties
Religion » Comparative Religion » General
Science and Mathematics » Physics » General

Erewhon (98 Edition) Used Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$8.00 In Stock
Product details 320 pages Prometheus Books - English 9781573922043 Reviews:
spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.