Master your Minecraft
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Tour our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    What I'm Giving | December 3, 2014

    Mary Oliver: IMG Mary Oliver: What I'm Giving



    At Powell's, we feel the holidays are the perfect time to share our love of books with those close to us. For this special blog series, we reached... Continue »

    spacer

Bad Kitty

by

Bad Kitty Cover

ISBN13: 9781596430693
ISBN10: 1596430699
Condition: Standard
Dustjacket: Standard
All Product Details

Only 2 left in stock at $13.50!

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

STEWIE GRIFFIN MEETS GRUMPY CAT IN A BOOK FOR CAT LOVERS OF ANY AGE!

He's free! The Amazing Hamweenie, legend in his own mind, hero to millions of adoring fans who have yet to meet him, has finally escaped the evil clutches of the little girl who showers him with love and stuffs him full of delectable treats. Where will our tortured star go? To the circus, of course! The spotlight of center ring beckons him — the elephants, monkeys, and tigers in desperate need of a leader. Hamweenie will gift them with his presence!

So why is it that his greatness goes unappreciated? Does no one recognize a true star when they see one?

In this companion to The Amazing Hamweenie, Patty Bowman brings a touch of Edward Gorey,  a dash of Stewie Griffin, a pinch of Grumpy Cat, and even a shake of Maru to the secret mind of one adorable pet cat.

Praise for The Amazing Hamweenie

"Hamweenie (you just can't write that name too much) dreams of being loved the world over and imagines an intricate Macy's Hamweenie balloon flying over the real version of himself, as he sits atop a float while crowds cheer. Readers will too." —Booklist

 

Review:

"With the alphabet as his jumping off point, Bruel (Boing!) recounts just how far things can go awry when cats go bad. After Kitty discovers that the only food in the house consists of 26 kinds of vegetables (asparagus, beets, cauliflower and on through zucchini), her mood turns blacker than her scraggly fur coat. She unleashes her own alphabet of woe that will have youngsters howling with laughter (and cat owners young and old will understand that many of these scenarios do not require a total suspension of disbelief). Bruel chronicles the misbehavior by dividing the spreads into eight strips, each containing a kind of visual one-liner devoted to a single letter. 'She... Quarreled with our neighbors,' the author writes, as Kitty watches through the mail slot while a human holds a note that reads, 'Meow Hiss Hiss...!' The furry protagonist even 'Sold my toys' (Kitty seems to have appropriated her unseen owner's lemonade stand for this purpose). But when the humans restock the larder with cat-friendly food (rhino ravioli, shark sushi, etc.), the feline turns over a new leaf — in alphabetical fashion, of course. Even readers who've mastered their ABCs will laugh at Bruel's gleefully composed litanies and the can-you-top-this spirit that animates every page. Ages 4-8." Publishers Weekly (Starred Review) (Copyright Reed Business Information, Inc.)

Synopsis:

Mr. Pants is a hilarious comic book style chapter book series, perfect for fans of Bad Kitty and Fly Guy!

Mr. Pants only has a few hours to make a movie with his sisters if theyre going to win the filmmaking contest and get a trip to Hawaii. Why do dumb things like chores and tea parties always get in the way? With a little creative thinking, and a big dose of goofball personality, the cats get their debut film done just in the nick of time.

 

And don't forget about Mr. Pants: It's Go Time!

 

Synopsis:

In this riotous picture book about a cat gone berserk, Kitty is not happy when she's told her favorite foods are gone, and all that's left are unappealing vegetables. She stops misbehaving when tastier things arrive.

About the Author

Nick Bruel is the author and illustrator of the bestselling Boing! He was a children's bookseller in New York City and currently resides in Tarrytown, New York, with his wife, Carina.

What Our Readers Are Saying

Add a comment for a chance to win!
Average customer rating based on 4 comments:

respiratory_therapist5, September 22, 2009 (view all comments by respiratory_therapist5)
All I can say is : "I'm In Love"!!!
This book simply is outrageously adorable!!!
I have much more fun than my 7 year old daughter whenever we read it!!!
It tickles me to the core and I can't think of any other book I've ever read/listened to/heard of, that is anywhere near as obnoxiously funny and fun as this one for it's age group!!!
I just love it!!!
:-)
Smile/grin/cheese etc!!
tyvm,
Crystal
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(2 of 3 readers found this comment helpful)
shadevil75, November 25, 2008 (view all comments by shadevil75)
This book is entertaining to adults and children alike. I enjoyed reading this book to my sons and they loved the book, too. I have actually recommended this book to adults with no children just because I know people that love cats.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(1 of 3 readers found this comment helpful)
facebook, April 6, 2008 (view all comments by facebook)
thiis is an amazing book, i read it in my school library it is soo amazing i love the part about the kitty loitering! this is a greate book ffoor kids of all ages my 14 yer old loved it! thanks NIck Bruel!! PS every one should own this book it hey have kids!! <3
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(3 of 6 readers found this comment helpful)
View all 4 comments

Product Details

ISBN:
9781596430693
Author:
Bruel, Nick
Publisher:
Dial
Author:
Bowman, Patty
Author:
Williams, Vanessa
Author:
McCormick, Scott
Author:
Lazzell, R. H.
Subject:
Cats
Subject:
Food
Subject:
Animals - Cats
Subject:
Concepts - Alphabet
Subject:
Humorous Stories
Subject:
Conduct of life
Subject:
Children s-General
Subject:
Readers - Chapter Books
Copyright:
Edition Description:
Hardback
Series:
Mr. Pants
Series Volume:
2
Publication Date:
20150303
Binding:
Hardback
Grade Level:
from P up to 3
Language:
English
Illustrations:
Full-color illustrations throughout
Pages:
128
Dimensions:
11 x 8.5 in
Children's Book Type:
Picture / Wordless
Age Level:
04-08

Other books you might like

  1. Tanglewreck
    Used Trade Paper $4.95
  2. Q Is for Duck: An Alphabet Guessing Game New Trade Paper $6.95
  3. Stars Beneath Your Bed: The... New Hardcover $17.99
  4. Underwear! New Trade Paper $6.99
  5. Animal Alphabed Used Hardcover $1.98
  6. Once Upon a Time, the End: Asleep in... Used Hardcover $5.95

Related Subjects

Children's » Alphabet
Children's » Animals » Cats
Children's » General
Children's » Humor
Children's » Picture Books » Alphabet Books

Bad Kitty Used Hardcover
0 stars - 0 reviews
$13.50 In Stock
Product details 128 pages Roaring Brook Press - English 9781596430693 Reviews:
"Publishers Weekly Review" by , "With the alphabet as his jumping off point, Bruel (Boing!) recounts just how far things can go awry when cats go bad. After Kitty discovers that the only food in the house consists of 26 kinds of vegetables (asparagus, beets, cauliflower and on through zucchini), her mood turns blacker than her scraggly fur coat. She unleashes her own alphabet of woe that will have youngsters howling with laughter (and cat owners young and old will understand that many of these scenarios do not require a total suspension of disbelief). Bruel chronicles the misbehavior by dividing the spreads into eight strips, each containing a kind of visual one-liner devoted to a single letter. 'She... Quarreled with our neighbors,' the author writes, as Kitty watches through the mail slot while a human holds a note that reads, 'Meow Hiss Hiss...!' The furry protagonist even 'Sold my toys' (Kitty seems to have appropriated her unseen owner's lemonade stand for this purpose). But when the humans restock the larder with cat-friendly food (rhino ravioli, shark sushi, etc.), the feline turns over a new leaf — in alphabetical fashion, of course. Even readers who've mastered their ABCs will laugh at Bruel's gleefully composed litanies and the can-you-top-this spirit that animates every page. Ages 4-8." Publishers Weekly (Starred Review) (Copyright Reed Business Information, Inc.)
"Synopsis" by ,
Mr. Pants is a hilarious comic book style chapter book series, perfect for fans of Bad Kitty and Fly Guy!

Mr. Pants only has a few hours to make a movie with his sisters if theyre going to win the filmmaking contest and get a trip to Hawaii. Why do dumb things like chores and tea parties always get in the way? With a little creative thinking, and a big dose of goofball personality, the cats get their debut film done just in the nick of time.

 

And don't forget about Mr. Pants: It's Go Time!

 

"Synopsis" by , In this riotous picture book about a cat gone berserk, Kitty is not happy when she's told her favorite foods are gone, and all that's left are unappealing vegetables. She stops misbehaving when tastier things arrive.
spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.